Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Lady Of Guadalupe School

Private | PK-8 | 42 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $655,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,390.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 30, 2011

I still remember when I went to that Guadelupe in 2005, I really used to hate it. They tried to take my favorite toy away, and always put me in the naughty corner, probably because I still didn't know English at all back 7 years ago. Now I'm 12 and I passed my New York State Reading test with a 4, and I just decided to share this now that I properly can. So if you have any other options other than this school, I really do suggest you reconsider them, this coming straight from a past student. Maybe they changed some of their ways, but if that same school principal is still roaming there, well just think it over again. It might end up not being worth it after 7 yrs.


Posted February 21, 2010

My son has been in the school 3 years so far. I am enrolling my next child for pre-k 4 program. I love this school. He is so much more advanced than the children in the public schools in my area. I love this school and would recommend it to everyone with a child that is interested in a private catholic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

OLG pre k program is not adequate for any 3 and 4 year old. I removed my child half way through the year. There is severe lack of communication from the school to its parent base. Classrooms are not equipped with educational materials, mostly toys. I
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

OLG is truly a gem of a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

My son is in the Pre K-3 program & he loves it. I love it. It is like another home & family.I know that I made the perfect choice the perfect school for my son. The best in the area!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

I think this school is great. I had attended this school for six years. Great teachers and activites.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2008

I am a student at Our Lady of Guadalupe. I love the school and all my teachers, I have many, many friends, but I feel some of our classes have been cut down a bit because we switch to different classes and teachers. So have our Gym periods! I'm kinda upset about that, but OLG is still a great school. Our new principal is doing a fine job and shes soo funny! She really brings our spirits upwhen we hear her singing 'The Star Spangeled Banner' on the P.A.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2008

OLG is the best school, I'm proud of my daughters achievements and I'm very proud to say my daughter attends OLG. OLG has not only been a school to us it is also our second family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2008

I beleive this is one of the best and safest schools there is in Brooklyn. My daughter has been attending there so far from Pre-K through 7th and when I drop her off in the morning I know she is in great hands. Not only are they fully up to date in curriculum, but they teach manners and discipline. Two minor drawbacks is I wish there was more of a music program and more emphasis on computers. They are limited in those two areas. My daughter belongs to choral group though, but there is not much in instruments for the individual to express themselves. Overall, the new principal is doing a fine job and the teachers as well and of course they all love our children and know them all by their names. My daughter says she can't be any more happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

Wonderful school and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

Our Lady of Guadalupe is a very good school, my kids attend this school, and I am very satisfied about my kids education at OLG. I believe the school curriculum prepares the kids for higher education. I high recommend this school to everyone that is interested in they kids education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

If you have a 3-4 year old child, do not send them to this school. There is no room for creativity, as everything that comes home is perfectly glued or cut. The teachers have no behavior modification techniques other than sending home notes complaining about classroom behavior! Little kids are expected to sit down and wait endlessly!! Every child is expected to be a 'cookie cutter' image with no acceptance of different learning styles, maturity level, or academic readiness. I wish that some one had warned me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

the school is very good and teaches you life lessons. The languae arts is better than the math they are more focused on Reading and speaking than doing math for highschool
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2007

our lady of guadalupe school is by far the best grade school in brooklyn.The teachers and principals know everyone by name. Some parents think it is too strict,but I feel secure sending my child to a school where cliques and violence are not tolerated. The children are well behaved and happy, but most important, safe.Rules are followed and the children are respectful and will know how to act when they go out into the real world.This school teaches them respect,how to work together and kindness to one another.You cant find better principals anywhere else. It is my childs home away from home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2007

Our lady of Guadalupe is an excellent school. I'm very happy my child is enrolled there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2006

This school is in an excellent are and the parish is very big.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2006

The school is tops for discipline and safety. However, parents often kept out of the loop and communication between the school and parents could be better. The kids learn alot, however, if they are falling behind, it will be hard for them to keep up. Teachers do not give any extra help or instruction for the children. They are well behaved and my child has never had a problem with other children as troublemakers are not tolerated. Not many activities offered outside school. But would recommend this school over other area schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

Excellent School Period. The teachers are strict and firm but I would not have it any other way. I have two daughters in OLG and Highly recommend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2006

My daughter is in the 4 year old preschool program and she loves it and so do I. I love the school because they focus on learning for the children as well as focusing on teaching them morals and how to be well mannered. I feel they dont get that in public schools in NY. Some parents tend to think it may be too strict. I disagree. If children are taught at home how to behave and they are good in school they should have no problems with the strictness. In all I am very happy with OLG and I love that my daughter is being taught about being a good person and about how family is so important and to believe in her religion. As an added bonus OLG follows and meets the same circulum as the state of NY. Not all catholic schools do this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2006

I have been a parent in that school for the past 13 years. The level of parent involvement in way above standards. Their academics are well above expectations and their graduating classes are often awarded by numerous scholarships to High School. We love OLG and hope that you will too.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 52%
Asian 6% N/A
Hispanic 4% 21%
Two or more races 2% N/A
Black 1% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Diana C. Meringolo
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1518 73rd Street
Brooklyn, NY 11228
Phone: (718) 331-2070

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Ps 176 Ovington
Brooklyn, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT