Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 409

3 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Bernadette School 5

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
St. Bernadette is a wonderful and loving environment for my children to learn in. The teachers always make time for children, either before or after school for help. St. Bernadette has many activities & clubs that my children enjoy, including band, confectionery and sports clubs. They have Gym, Technology, Italian, Art & Music classes. The sisters and faculty help to instill faith discipline & morals in my children. I would highly recommend St. Bernadette School

St Bernadette School 1

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
I chose St. Bernadette school for my children because of its academics. Which once, was a challenging, "blue ribbon" school has now turned into a sad display of nepotism. Sr. Joan has hired family members of school secretaries, parents of students and friends of parents. Some of these teachers are so bad and there is nothing Sr Joan does about it because they are all friends and family memebers of workers and students. It has become an unethical instituition and children are suffering for it, unless of course you are a donator to the school, then you get special treatment. Scores on standardized testing have dropped. On top of the declined academics, there is a lot of bullying in the school, which is handled poorly. Socially, the clickiness, is over the top here. I agree with all of the previous negative posts. On top of all this, for the money you pay in tuition, your voice is never heard. Sr. Joan will always take the side of her sub par staff, right or wrong.


St Bernadette School 1

Posted May 16, 2014
- a parent
I had four children in St. Bernadette's. Since my children have left the school they have never been happier. It is as if they have been released from prison. Sr. Joan is a terrible principal. She and here cohorts are a miserable bunch. They seem to feel that the more fear they instill the better the education. Creating an environment of tension and rigidity stifles a child's ability to think creatively. The only time you will ever see a child smile at St. Bernadette's is at dismissal. The secretary and many of the teachers wear constant scowl's upon their faces. Sr. Joan lacks compassion and is extremely cold to students and families. It seems to be painful for her to smile. There is no room in society for such a hypocritical institution as the Catholic School. St Bernadette's epitomizes this failure. The principal and facility utilize a stressful learning environment to create a culture of neurotic students and parents. I say to parents who are thinking about sending their children here -don't and to those who have children attending the school- leave. Your children will thank you every day, mine do.

St Bernadette School 3

Posted April 11, 2014
- a community member
I've been going to this school for a long time, and most of the people seem nice and normal. MOST OF THE PEOPLE. The class I'm in has a big drama problem, and I won't be surprised if other classes do. Some people in my class that you think are nice, are actually back-stabbing, tattle-tale jerks.The moms at this school are HUGE stage moms, and a lot of them live through their child. Their kids are usually in a dance competition team, the best player on a sports team or good at a after-school activity. Otherwise, the academics are great and have helped me a lot, and I got first honors for the full year last year because of the teachers at this school, even though some are very mean or strict. If you want your kid to get a good education and you are catholic, send your child here, but complaints about drama, teachers, and nuns.

St Bernadette School 1

Posted November 03, 2013
- a parent
it is a good school if you want to keep your children with "their own kind" no diversity and the learning is subpar. It is good if you like to isolate your kids from the "real world"


St Bernadette School 1

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
STUCK-UP MOB WIVES WITH SPOILED KIDS!! IF YOU DONATE EXTRA $$$ THE SCHOOL WILL TREAT YOU BETTER.

St Bernadette School 4

Posted May 15, 2013
- a community member
My parents decided to enroll me in St. Bernadette for Grades 6-8 and was one of the best decisions they have ever made. This school provided me with the fundamentals needed to excel in High School, College and the workforce.

St Bernadette School 1

Posted January 14, 2013
- a parent
Best move we ever made was to pull our child out of this school. Too many children go in the school each morning crying, all grade levels. Too many parents standing on the corners with nothing better to do then talk about the scool. Labeled Saint Harvard by the Principal, who loves to manlipulate statistics and bad moth other schools. The Home School Associatiion, is an in your face snoot squad for the most part, hand picked by the Principal.


St Bernadette School 5

Posted October 26, 2012
- a parent
My wife and pulled our sons out of public school and could not be happier with St. Bernadette. Discipline, rigor and responsibility are not just words here, as they often are in the public schools. The teachers and the administration teach these values every day. My kids are much happier and much better off here. Now, a word about some of the reviews below. It's unfair and silly to claim that parents send their children to St. Bernadette to "hide" them from the diversity of the local schools, whatever that means. There is no way the reviewer could possibly know that. If your son or daughter is properly and broadly educated, they will be able to interact with and respect all people, and respect is something St. Bernadette teaches every day. The complaints about cliques (yes, that's how it's spelled) and rude parents are anecdotal and are no basis to condemn an entire school. Besides, the most important thing is that children are in a safe and tolerant environment and receiving a great foundation for a lifetime of learning, and that s precisely what St. Bernadette provides.

St Bernadette School 5

Posted April 15, 2012
- a community member
This school prepares kids for a competitive world, while opening them to a deep appreciation and knowledge of their faith. The teachers and principal are continually updating themselves. There is ALWAYS something for the kids to be a part of. Whatever your child enjoys, chances are you will be able to find it here. The academics are top notch and teachers are available before and after school to offer help. They will even arrange for older students to serve as peer tutors. Wonderful school

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Bernadette School
1313 83rd Street, Brooklyn, NY  11228
(718) 236-1560
Last modified St Bernadette School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Bernadette School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top