Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
265 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
24 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (6 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (4 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (3 responses)
characters left.
There are 74 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Anselm Elementary School 5

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
St. Anselm's middle school is fantastic. I am blown away by the new STEM program where my son is learning robotics. We moved from Park Slope a few years ago and I'm so happy to have joined the St. Anselm family.

St Anselm Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
Everything in school is aligned with our Catholic identity. There are strong ties to the church, while maintaining the highest academic standards.


St Anselm Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
The idea of the monthly values really keeps the children focused on being better people.

St Anselm Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2016
- a parent
I have been a St. Anselm parent since my oldest daughter started Pre-K and she is now in fourth grade. My youngest started in the nursery program and is currently in first grade. My husband and I, along with our children, have had an amazing experience so far and it just keeps getting better. The educations has been wonderful and seems to get better every year, with an ever increasing focus on improvement. The STEM program is great and the inclusion of a STEM coordinator has been a real asset to the school, incorporating more hands on experience to the concepts the students are learning. Classroom instruction is varied and keeps the kids interested, as well as helps them retain what they are learning. In a time when so many schools are cutting out special subjects and recess, St. Anselm's has made both of those a priority, It is also such a supportive environment and the sense of community is amazing. My husband and I have a network of other parents to reach out to if needed to clarify assignments, get copies of class notes, etc. Everyone is so helpful and works together to ensure all the children succeed. Aside from academics, it is also nice to have so many extra curricular activities our children can participate in, such as a Reader's Theater and Chess Clubs - there truly is something for everyone and we are so happy we made the decision to send our children here!

St Anselm Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2016
- a parent
Our three children are students at St. Anselm. We are very satisfied with the quality of education they have received thus far. We as parents feel very confident that this school is giving our children the necessary tools to continue their academic success. The involvement of the parents, in the community, gives a wonderful sense of support not only to my children but to all the kids attending. We couldn't have picked a better school for our children.


St Anselm Elementary School 5

Posted November 25, 2015
- a parent
This is my second year at St Anselm's. As a parent, I wanted to be sure the school had the right amount of the academic rigor, a good community feel for my kids and our family, and placed emphasis on developing a well rounded child. St Anselm's has delivered on all of these important traits. The academics have been age appropriate while still challenging. The STEM program, music program and sports programs are incredible enhancements that contribute to ensuring my kids can learn beyond a textbook. I also cannot say enough about the incredible group of kids and families that have had this experience so enjoyable. The community spirit and support are more than I could have ever expected. I know my kids are developing friendships that will last a lifetime and as a parent I have gained an incredible support and friend base.

St Anselm Elementary School 5

Posted November 04, 2015
- a community member
I am a freshman in high school and I graduated from St. Anselm. I really appreciate the education that I received and the teachers' concern for my well being. I also made good friends and had fun while at St. Anselm. It was a great place to grow up and learn. I am especially grateful because I am well prepared for high school and the transition to a new school was easy. Throughout 7th and 8th grades, our teachers focused on making us independent and responsible for our work. I now see how important that is. I am well prepared academically too - I am in an honors program and feel confident in my background in all the subjects. I really enjoy Math and Science but I am most grateful for my elementary education in grammar and writing. There is so much writing in high school but it is not difficult because of my background at St. Anselm. I hope you will consider our school and find that it is the right place for you or your child. Best of luck!

St Anselm Elementary School 5

Posted August 26, 2015
- a parent
Saint Anselm Catholic Academy www.sacany.org Our child is a current student at St Anselm Catholic Academy and we are very satisfied with our school choice. Our child has always felt welcomed, valued & secure at SACA. School safety is a primary goal. The staff are all trained for emergencies & conduct appropriate safety drills. All doors are locked & the main entrance is monitored by parents & video. Our children participate in the Child Lures Program & all chaperones must be Virtus trained. We also have a full-time Registered Nurse. Our child attended the Early Childhood Program & had a wonderful experience! The program fosters both academic & ethical social development in a warm & fun classroom environment. We had the same experience in First Grade. Our child achieved high grades in all subject areas. Our principal, Mr McKeon, has experience as both a public & private school principle. He has consistently made improvements to the academic program & student enrichment opportunities at SACA, since he took over as principle of our new Academy two years ago. The Faculty & Administration are kind, dedicated & professional. SACA has a strong & well-rounded academic program & incorporates the use of technological devices & computer programs. As a Catholic Family, we value the religious education & freedom to practice our faith with our school community. For working parents, there is an affordable Extended Day Program. It is supervised by the Faculty & focuses on completion of homework/ study time, computer use, art & physical/ play time. Our child has been in the program for 4 years & loves it! The teachers help her when she does not understand her homework. The children have snack time together & have fun playing with each other after homework time. There is a very strict pick up policy & the teachers are very caring towards the children, so it is a safe & warm environment! For our families, we have a strong & very active Home Academy Association at SACA. Our parent volunteers organize numerous social & fund-raising events for our students & the school/ parish community. Our family has made many great friends & memories together at these fun events! SACA has everything that we were looking for as a parent. It is a safe & caring environment where our child can get a great education & our family is part of a vibrant school community!


St Anselm Elementary School 5

Posted August 16, 2015
- a community member
I graduated from St. Anselm two years ago. I loved my time there and I have great memories. I had good relationships with my peers and teachers. It is a safe school. I say that because in high school, I have heard some crazy stories about what went on in some of my friend’s public middle schools. I made a really good transition to high school and many of my classmates received a large amount of scholarships/acceptances into very good high schools across the city. My ELA teacher at Xavier High School told me in Freshman year, that out of her entire class, I was the most prepared. I thought that was very impressive because Xavier has students from all over the tri-state, not just NYC. The education program has improved since the new principal took over in 2014. My siblings are still in the school so I know some of the changes that were made. I am still friends with many of the kids from my class even though we are all attending different high schools. Overall, I had a great experience at St. Anselm.

St Anselm Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 06, 2015
- a community member
I graduated St. Anselm completely not ready for high school. As I grew as a student from grade to grade I began to resent the teachers more and more. They are impatient, uncaring, and rude. They are never available for extra help and most of them just give textbook assignments and never actually teach the material. I never learned how to right a proper essay not received a proper background in a language. Don't even get me started on the language program.... The teacher is completely unequipped to teach language and I didn't learn a thing in all of my years at the school. Although I maintained a high average in got accepted into a great high school, I feel I spent more time getting yelled at for things such as the wrong socks, than actually enjoying myself at school and connecting

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Anselm Elementary School
365 83rd Street, Brooklyn, NY  11209
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 74 reviews. (718) 745-7643
Last modified St Anselm Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top