Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Visitation Academy

Private | PK-8 | 159 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $369,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2014

Ask a Visitation graduate and listen to the intelligent articulate description of how her Visitation education was a great foundation. Visitation alumnae are not only successful in life, but generous and kind, they are standouts in the most positive way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2014

Teachers are lazy and barely try to support the kids education. The lower school is exceptional while the middle school is lacking in teacher quality and enthusiasm. The middle school teachers seem to read off of a page then try to engage and teach the students. The school is in a financial crisis and asks for more money every week, without improving or bettering the school. I am very disappointed in the principal who makes the school seem like it is the only good school in the area. I could find a much better education somewhere else. I will be taking my child out next year for sure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2013

Great school! Girls are happy, bright and articulate. Great vibe throughout the halls of the school. Teachers are first rate. Not sure what some other parents are talking about.. My girls started at pre-school and are almost graduated. Visitation 8th graders get into some of the best high schools throoghout New York City, and with many scholorships to boot. School grounds are acres upon acres and comparable to any Westchester campus. Visitation is the the best kept secrect in Brooklyn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2013

Stay away ! The staff is unprofessional including the principal and they get mad when parents ask questions.The school is in a financial crisis and every week ask for money.It is not worthy. The school does not belong to the Diocese.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2012

As a mother of 2 Visitation girls I highly recommend the school. It provides an academically challenging atmosphere and empowers girls to succeed. Classrooms are equipped with Smartboards and laptops.Students are provided with every opportunity to succeed. Teachers are wonderful, oftentimes helping students on their lunch hour. The principal is an intelligent and nurturing woman, she is always available for the girls. The Sisters are a loving presence around the magnificent grounds. Well worth the tuition!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

The staff is not professional and is not up to date with current teaching methods. The school is overpriced for what it offers. I would not recommend this school. The positive reviews seem to be provided by school insiders who are looking to provided and inaccurate description of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

teachers need to do a little better. i pay too much for to have to deal with nonsense.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2008

Visitation has a loving environment. I attended VA from kindergarten- 8th grade. The graduation expirience is another great thing. Few after-school activities are provided, though...
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2008

Visitation is a great school. My daughter attended a challenging high school and college and was very prepared. She enjoys school and always has a great relationship with her teacher and professors because of the foundation that Visitation has provided. The homework was alot, however, this prepared her for high school and college. The teachers were always supportive. The school provides a safe, family environment. I feel young girls are very fortunate to attend this unique school and would give her a great opportunity for a successful academic future. In addition, an all girl school keeps them focused on their academics!!! I could not imagine my daughter attending any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

My daughter attends the 7th grade. I have no complaints what so ever. The teachers are so polite and well educated. The only thing you must worry about is ps 104 up the block.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2007

i 100% recomend this school for your daughter. visitation has been such a wonderful experience for me. the language arts department is esspecially great. Mrs. Occhiogrosso taught me how to read and write because when i came to this school in the 5th grade i knew nothing. there is now a decent music and improved french programs. the grounds are amazing. not many girls can say that they have a lake on their grounds. also mrs. figaro, out principal, has become one of my best friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2007

Visitation Academy is the 'BEST KEPT SECRET IN BROOKLYN'.I am glad that my daughter attended this school. The grounds are beautiful and the teachers are kind. They have a wonderful Principal. Girls feel safe, and I was a working Mom, so I knew my daughter was in good hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2006

I think that visitation acdemy is a magnificent school. There is a wonderful education program, and there are great, no fantasitc teachers. The students are especially marvelous. (Really only the 7th grade)
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2006

Pros: Beautiful campus; very safe w/ excellent security, 30 ft high walls, and a very safe and quiet neighborhood; principal is engaged and is interested in the students' (all girls) well-being; most teachers are nice; small classes; nice kids Cons: no indoor gym facilities; minimal library; foreign language instruction is extremely lacking; no provision for teaching how to use musical instruments; though homework can be very time-consuming, intellectual challenge is often lacking, esp w/ regard to English instruction (reading lists need to be updated, classics should be read, and essay writing should be taught more in-depth); school does not engage in class trips to cultural opportunities in NYC
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

This is a lovely school on a beautiful campus in the middle of a wonderful residential neighborhood. It's small, family oriented, and the girls are cherished and respected. The teachers are dedicated and the principal seems to love her job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

great school great principal
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2006

Our daughter is very happy here. The other girls and families are all very nice. It's a warm school, but we are still waiting to see how academically enriching the school is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

The environment is very cozy and safe for young girls.There is very limited resources of music,sport and arts but I still enjoyed my 10 years that my daughter had there. It challenges you enough but may not overexceed too high of an expectation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2005

excellent academic programs tailored to meet students' needs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2004

From the moment my daughter was born iknew she would be going to V.A. Over 100 hundred years of excellence comes from this top of the line school. My daughter is an amazing child to begin with, but V.A. has only enhanced and nurtured my child into a wonderful young woman. No peer pressure, all the girls get along, the teachers even have their own daughters in the school! I will miss this school as my daughter moves on to high school, but what a future it has provided for her. a very proud and satisfied parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 52%
Black 7% 21%
Two or more races 6% N/A
Hispanic 4% 21%
Asian 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Arlene Figaro
Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8902 Ridge Boulevard
Brooklyn, NY 11209
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 680-9452

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Adelphi Academy
Brooklyn, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT