Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
372 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Saint Saviour Catholic Academy 5

Posted November 13, 2014
- a parent
St. Saviour is an outstanding institution. My son has been attending for three years, and has found there a wonderful ambiance, full of learning opportunities and attention. The teachers are great, dedicated professionals who take the time to know every student and to address their needs. Everyone, from the Principal, Ms. Lorenzen, to the administrative staff, cares. I do not know what problem the person writing a review on June 2014 has, but the picture that she paints of Saint Saviour does not correspond to reality. No one is "thrown" before 8:15am. The students, from the youngest to the oldest, as well as the parents, are always treated with respect. My family is thankful to have the opportunity to be a part of Saint Saviour. We look forward to my daughter to start attending.

Saint Saviour Catholic Academy 5

Posted August 09, 2014
- a parent
Hard to believe the feedback provided by a parent on June 4, 2014. Children are allowed in the school at 8. Early bird programs are available in other schools for a fee. It's not free!! You have the option to pay each quarter for a year or pay a one time drop-off fee. This school is wonderful. Our son has been attending the early bird program and the after school program since he was in Nursery. The teachers are very attentive, small children learn to play and study together as a group. Our son's social skills, communication skills, vocabulary, cognitive and motor skills have developed drastically during his school year in Nursery. Parents are very involved and so is the principal, who I have seen few times in the classroom. Our son is looking forward to going back to school in September!


Saint Saviour Catholic Academy 1

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
This school is horrible. Staff trhows kids out in frigid temperature if they enter the building before 8:15 am. They charge an extra $ 1000 more just to drop my daughter 30 minutes before school starts. I took my daughter out of this school at the end of the school year because I could not stand the teachers incompetencies. The students are very weak becaus emany teacher are collecting just a pay check and they do not care about my daughter's grade. FOR every homewok, the teacher just gave my daughter a check and I asked the teacher for her comments she was very upset and stating my daughter copied her HW somewhere. The students have poor social cognition skills. They are not able to work cooperatively in group. they are also very weak academically. I will never recommend this school to any one and I will not hire these teachers to teach not even my dog. Parent who fail to notice what I see are not really involved in their kids' education. The principle had to reimburse me my money and I AM grateful that she did that for me.

Saint Saviour Catholic Academy 5

Posted May 12, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter is in nursery school at St. Saviour and we really love it. It is a wonderful, small community and the teachers and staff all know and care about our child. Very friendly and welcoming, with small class sizes (9 children in her nursery class with two teachers). The principal is excellent and the parents are involved. The open house tours give a real sense of the school - interested parents should check it out!

Saint Saviour Catholic Academy 5

Posted December 26, 2013
- a parent
Amazing on all levels! Small class size (less than 20 students per class, even smaller for Nursery classes) Excellent and caring teachers who provide great and constructive feedback on your child progress, strengths and weaknesses, and what they are going to do to help your child succeed. They also have a great early bird program, which allows parents to drop off their child(ren) at 7:30AM and an after school program with extracurricular activities until 6PM.


Saint Saviour Catholic Academy 5

Posted October 20, 2013
- a parent
This is an Mazing school. Our son is in the Nursery program. The children learn a lot in the class and outside as well. For example, the teachers take them for a walk and go over numbers by reading the house number. Our son can now read some letters as well.

Saint Saviour Catholic Academy 5

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
Saint Saviour has been nothing short of a godsend for us. We transferred our older child in mid year due to a bullying issue in another previous school. We feared for our child's safety after being met by a non-responsive administrator. The principal is responsive and sensitive. The staff is extremely knowledgeable and courteous with a compassionate delivery. The small class sizes ensure children will get what they need in the classroom experience and the principal strives for continued improvement. Along with good academics and humanistic approach, this school continues to exceed every expectation I have had or hoped for in a school.

Saint Saviour Catholic Academy 5

Posted May 12, 2013
- a community member
I really enjoy going to St. Saviour. The students and teachers are very encouraging. I am proud to say that I will graduate in 2 to 3 years. The leadership in this school, including electives meets beyond standard. Thank you for making my childhood a thrill.


Saint Saviour Catholic Academy 3

Posted April 27, 2013
- a community member
if you want a school with alot of clubs then this isnt the school for you if you would want to come to this school you would need to bring your own lunch becuase theres no cafeteria for then you eat at your desk although that the staff and teachers are helpful

Saint Saviour Catholic Academy 5

Posted March 19, 2013
- a parent
I love this school!!! Looking for PreK for my son in was not an easy process. I visited and toured several schools. In the end, I choose to send my son to St. Savior because I was inspired by all the artwork when I toured, I liked the schools values and because I felt that the value for the money was unparalleled. I have to say it has been an amazing experience so far. The parents are really involved, the afterschool staff is very sweet and he has a great teacher - Ms. Loux-Paul! He comes home with wonderful arts and crafts and with stories about what they learned or explored. In just six months, I feel that he has progressed significantly in all areas and subjects. I truly feel delighted to have found this school and I look forward to enrolling him again next year.

Nearby schools

Saint Saviour Catholic Academy
701 8th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11215
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (718) 768-8000
Last modified Saint Saviour Catholic Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top