Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Blessed Sacrament School

Private | PK-8 | 260 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $305,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,330.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 1, 2013

Hay muy mala actitud en especial 4 grado. No es diciplina. Arrebatarle los cuadernos a los ni os. Y prohivirles participar en sus diferentes clases nadie mas que sus padres. Pueden castigar a un nino.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

Having had family members who attend this school years prior and praised this school. I was very excited to have my daughter attend. Unfortunately my experience has been quite different. There is a HUGE lack of communication in this school. My experience with my daughter teacher has been extremely disappointing. How can you pride yourselves on teaching the students respect when you as a teacher lack that. I have had many conversation with this particular teacher and each time barley am I able to express myself because she continued to speak over me. I had then requested to schedule a meeting with the principle but was informed that she was too busy and redirect to speak to the teacher. As a parent I feel that it is my responsibility to be proactive and express any concerns I might have, but it has been very disheartening to know that my concerns have never been addressed. One of the biggest problems are the class size, 30 children in a classroom is far too many. It is no wonder that the teacher is then overwhelmed and frustrated. I would not recommend BSS; and I am currently looking at others schools for the upcoming school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I think is a great school, teachers are very responsible and always help their students. Some teachers get to school one hour earlier every day to help the students with problems like ELA, and math. I know they do this on their own, they don't get paid for this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

I like the teachers at Blessed Sacrament School. It is a very safe school and the teachers are very strict and responsable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2009

I love Blessed Sacrament School and I grew up there. A lot of smart kids consist in every class. I think a lot of kids socialize also. This is a problem since it makes teachers mad. I think a child could learn a lot if they just payed attention to the teachers. The classes are not very intresting though. I think students should be able to move around instead of teachers coming into classrooms. I think this should be acceptable for students of Junior High. I think there should be more curricular activities. I think there should be chemistry and other subjects.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2009

Blessed Sacrement Is Very Poor Environment. Kids Talk Constanlty,Teachers Sometimes Disobey Rules, and Filty Words Are Used.However,This school has kids that are very smart in every class and they socalize which is a problem.Blessed Sacrement Needs More Extra Activities And Extra Classes.Also, Children Of Junior High Should Move From Class To Class Instead Of The Teachers Moving From Class To Class
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 12, 2009

First, let me say that I have to children in the school and they are both well liked and have done very well. I consider the principal and teachers to be dedicated, smart and resourceful. Safety and discipline are part of the environment of the school but only for the benefit of the children, never in the extreme. What may be lacking are two factors that go hand in hand. Parental involvement and extracurricular activities. There is a core group of parents that always volunteer and assist in making more activities a viable option for the school. It's up to the parents to decide and assist on how much their children get from the school. The school is a great value scholastically and economically in the time of overly priced private school. Blessed Sacrament School is a hidden gem in Eastern Brooklyn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2007

Blessed Sacrament is a throwback to another period in time when a Catholic education meant something. Discipline along with a fine education never hurt a child in our world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2006

There is a very rigid disciplinary structure. The child is often not allowed free play and/or self expression. Punishment sometimes consists of no snack, water, recess and/or sit out from gym class. A few teachers are mean and will say harsh things to a child they do not like. Luckily, my child is liked.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 72% 21%
Two or more races 11% N/A
Asian 9% N/A
Black 6% 21%
White 1% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Marylou Celmer
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Brooklyn
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

187 Euclid Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11208
Phone: (718) 235-4863

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


P.S. 65
Brooklyn, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT