Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 166
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Leif Ericson Day School 1

Posted July 30, 2015
- a parent
The principle is a big time bully. Just for the record my wife and I do not allow our child to run wild or bully other children. Administration and teachers are way below standards. Facilities are cramped and most things are outdated.

Leif Ericson Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 25, 2015
- a parent
My son is going to the 6th grade and this school is wonderful. The saying, "You can't please everyone" applies here. If parents are saying their child was bullied please believe that these are the parents that let their children bully other's and run wild. It is the principals job to make sure all students are safe and happy not just one child's parent. That's the issue with public schools if a parent complains they must be right. My child has never said anyone has bullied them especially not the principal. He has said that if you are a doing something wrong the principal will redirect you. This school promotes your child to be independent like they should be. Before my son went to this school I would always have to remind him to remember his homework, books,lunch etc. This school has taught him that he should be responsible and I love it! The majority of these positive comments are accurate. Your child will be safe, never bullied no fights, will be happy and learn a lot! Peace and learning is what's going on at this school!


Leif Ericson Day School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 25, 2015
- a parent
My son has homework everyday except Friday which is a healthy balance in my opinion.

Leif Ericson Day School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 25, 2015
- a parent
My son has homework daily, he is encouraged to join clubs and participate in school trips and events.

Leif Ericson Day School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 25, 2015
- a parent
My son respects his classmates in regards to everything even something as simple as a food allergy.


Leif Ericson Day School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 25, 2015
- a parent
My son has been promoting peace since he has been at this school. It embraces differences and diversity, which helps students be more empathetic toward their peers.

Leif Ericson Day School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 25, 2015
- a parent
This school has been honest with me in every aspect of my sons education. If there is an issue it is addressed by all parties.

Leif Ericson Day School 5

Posted July 25, 2015
- a parent
My son is safe and the happiest he has been at this school. He is learning a lot. Common Core testing reflects the school is doing a great job. My son scored above average.My son is going to the 6th grade and this school is wonderful. The saying, "You can't please everyone applies here" If parents are saying their child was bullied please believe that these are the parents that let their children bully other's and run wild. It is the principals job to make sure all students are safe and happy not just one child's parent. That's the issue with public school if a parent complains they must be right. My child has never said anyone has bullied them especially not the principal. He has said that if you are a doing something wrong the principal will redirect you. This school promotes your child to be independent like they will need to be as an adult. Before my son went to this school I would always have to remind to remember his homework, lunch etc. This school has taught him that he is responsible and I love it! The majority of these positive comments are accurate. Your child will be safe, never bullied no fights, will be happy and learn a lot!


Leif Ericson Day School 1

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
The principle at this school bullied one of my children right in front of me and some of her staff members. I couldn't get my children away from her and this school fast enough. Very ironic that there are so many positive reviews here and on other sites on the internet about how there is no bullying at this school when in fact it is the principle who is the bully. I put my children here on the recommendation of a friend and didn't think to read any reviews about it beforehand. Now that I'm reading various reviews on the internet I see that there are several which corroborate the experience that we had with this principle and school. I feel horrible that I left my children in the care of these people, even if it was only for a short period of time. There is no excuse for her behavior and there is no excuse for the other adults who work there and allow this to go on.

Leif Ericson Day School 5

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
This school is safe and wonderful! I also have no idea where the negative reviews came from. My son is happy never bullied and is learning a lot. I would not pay for a school that was not meeting my expectations! This school is the best one my son has attended. Excellent! Keep up the good work!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leif Ericson Day School
1037 72nd Street, Brooklyn, NY  11228
(718) 748-9023
Last modified Leif Ericson Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Leif Ericson Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 59 reviews. Top