Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 1,054
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Poly Prep Country Day School 5

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
My child had an amazing all around experience at Poly Prep and I highly recommend this school.

Poly Prep Country Day School 5

Posted March 15, 2014
- a parent
Our son is in sixth grade and Poly has exceeded our expectations on every level. The faculty is outstanding and the kids are nurtured and cared for. We love it.


Poly Prep Country Day School 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
The physical campus is amazing and so many of the faculty really care consistently about the students. The arts, sports as well as academics are all there to be taken advantage of by each and every student.

Poly Prep Country Day School 4

Posted May 31, 2013
- a parent
This school is really an amazing system. It is a beautiful environment, the schedule allows kids to thrive and grow independently, and majority (but not all) of the students are very nice and very intelligent. The downsides are the immense work load, the cold/strict teachers and the high demands/expectations are virtually collage level. I don't know how some kids can maintain a B/A average, do 3 sports and be involved with clubs and participate in extra community service AND have a social life. But overall, if you feel your kid is smart enough, mature enough, independent and stable enough, and you can afford it, I highly recommend this school. Many students get into well acclaimed collages by their senior year as well.

Poly Prep Country Day School 1

Posted October 27, 2011
- a parent
The quality of the teachers in the middle school is poor. It is not worse your money. The middle school principle keeps the grade principals and teachers in fear. Our child completed 3 years at Poly that we totally regret now. Safe your money for college tuition instead.
1 person found this helpful


Poly Prep Country Day School 5

Posted June 20, 2011
- a parent
My son recently completed 6th grade at Poly Prep. This was his second year at Poly. I have found most of the teachers to be of extremely high quality, with a number of them having taught at Poly for many years. Their dedication to Poly comes through during parent / teacher conferences and school events. There is also a healthy batch of teachers newer to the school, providing a nice balance. Whenever my spouse or I had a question, the teachers were quick to respond to our emails. In general, the communication from the school is excellent, with the head of the middle school sending frequent, useful updates to parents and the head of school sending important school-wide updates. I feel connected to the school. There are numerous opportunities for parents to get involved (parent grade reps, admissions office, open house, auction, etc.) so all can be as active in the school as they want. Poly offers an appealing blend of academics, arts and sports. Kids are encouraged to challenge themselves in all three areas. Poly runs an extensive bus service, enabling kids to attend from all 5 boroughs. This results in strong diversity among the student (and parent) body.

Poly Prep Country Day School 2

Posted June 11, 2011
- a parent
The school has many nice things but too much trash is going there. A lot of the 8th grade boys are bullies. There is nothing nice about them. The administration seems to put them on display. But the nice young men get no credit. What message is Poly sending?

Poly Prep Country Day School 2

Posted May 03, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Poly Prep Country Day School 5

Posted March 12, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Poly Prep Country Day School 2

Posted September 21, 2007
- a parent
Good intentions from the administration, but uneven execution. The classroom experience can be unengaging. Homework was piled on for 2 of the trimesters only to have the third trimester be a complete waste of time. I was disappointed to learn that my child did not have finals and the last report card contained no individualized comment from the teachers. My child has found cheating to be all too common. The attention to sports dominates and if your child is not an athlete (or a superfan) they'll be a 2nd class citizen. The students tend to be overly concerned with status and possessions. A very competitive social scene as well.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Poly Prep Country Day School
9216 7th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11228
(718) 836-9800
Last modified Poly Prep Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Poly Prep Country Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top