Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
1,054 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Poly Prep Country Day School 5

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
My child had an amazing all around experience at Poly Prep and I highly recommend this school.

Poly Prep Country Day School 5

Posted March 15, 2014
- a parent
Our son is in sixth grade and Poly has exceeded our expectations on every level. The faculty is outstanding and the kids are nurtured and cared for. We love it.


Poly Prep Country Day School 5

Posted September 02, 2013
- a parent
The physical campus is amazing and so many of the faculty really care consistently about the students. The arts, sports as well as academics are all there to be taken advantage of by each and every student.

Poly Prep Country Day School 4

Posted May 31, 2013
- a parent
This school is really an amazing system. It is a beautiful environment, the schedule allows kids to thrive and grow independently, and majority (but not all) of the students are very nice and very intelligent. The downsides are the immense work load, the cold/strict teachers and the high demands/expectations are virtually collage level. I don't know how some kids can maintain a B/A average, do 3 sports and be involved with clubs and participate in extra community service AND have a social life. But overall, if you feel your kid is smart enough, mature enough, independent and stable enough, and you can afford it, I highly recommend this school. Many students get into well acclaimed collages by their senior year as well.

Poly Prep Country Day School 1

Posted October 27, 2011
- a parent
The quality of the teachers in the middle school is poor. It is not worse your money. The middle school principle keeps the grade principals and teachers in fear. Our child completed 3 years at Poly that we totally regret now. Safe your money for college tuition instead.


Poly Prep Country Day School 5

Posted June 20, 2011
- a parent
My son recently completed 6th grade at Poly Prep. This was his second year at Poly. I have found most of the teachers to be of extremely high quality, with a number of them having taught at Poly for many years. Their dedication to Poly comes through during parent / teacher conferences and school events. There is also a healthy batch of teachers newer to the school, providing a nice balance. Whenever my spouse or I had a question, the teachers were quick to respond to our emails. In general, the communication from the school is excellent, with the head of the middle school sending frequent, useful updates to parents and the head of school sending important school-wide updates. I feel connected to the school. There are numerous opportunities for parents to get involved (parent grade reps, admissions office, open house, auction, etc.) so all can be as active in the school as they want. Poly offers an appealing blend of academics, arts and sports. Kids are encouraged to challenge themselves in all three areas. Poly runs an extensive bus service, enabling kids to attend from all 5 boroughs. This results in strong diversity among the student (and parent) body.

Poly Prep Country Day School 2

Posted June 11, 2011
- a parent
The school has many nice things but too much trash is going there. A lot of the 8th grade boys are bullies. There is nothing nice about them. The administration seems to put them on display. But the nice young men get no credit. What message is Poly sending?

Poly Prep Country Day School 2

Posted September 21, 2007
- a parent
Good intentions from the administration, but uneven execution. The classroom experience can be unengaging. Homework was piled on for 2 of the trimesters only to have the third trimester be a complete waste of time. I was disappointed to learn that my child did not have finals and the last report card contained no individualized comment from the teachers. My child has found cheating to be all too common. The attention to sports dominates and if your child is not an athlete (or a superfan) they'll be a 2nd class citizen. The students tend to be overly concerned with status and possessions. A very competitive social scene as well.


Poly Prep Country Day School 5

Posted February 09, 2007
- a parent
My daughter found herself at Poly, in academics, in athletics and on the stage. She learned to write and carry out research, to interact with diverse classmates and to be confident. Poly prepared her to thrive in the world. She is now working in a humanitarian field, has significant ability using computers and in mathematics, but also a drive to be successful. She also has a conscience and wants to do something that will help the world. She also made friends that I think will be with her all her life.

Poly Prep Country Day School 5

Posted August 26, 2006
- a parent
This school is amazing.They provide many different academic programs and activities.My daughter is now attending Harvard on a full scholarship and it is all because of poly.

Nearby schools

Poly Prep Country Day School
9216 7th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11228
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (718) 836-9800
Last modified Poly Prep Country Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top