Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Berkeley Carroll School

Private | 5-12 | 800 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $644,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2014

My daughter attended Kindergarten for one year until I pulled her out. I was astounded by how little was accomplished in the classroom. I was under the impression that this school could individualize the lessons. My daughter, who was already reading, spent most of her time reading in the corner alone while instruction was given to other students. At the year-end, parent teacher conference, I was embarrassed for the teachers when they showed me what little work they had of my daughter's work. Usually, schools put their best foot forward in kindergarten and as you move up, the quality of work starts to get less impressive. Not here. It is pervasive. Look at the work posted by 4th graders! I found them rife with poor grammar and misspellings, not to mention poor writing. Save your money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2014

I worked at BC This is a school that is putting on a serious front just for show. As a teacher there, I assure you your children are not getting the enrichment and/or academic support you THINK they are getting. parents are talked AT during conferences. Benchmark math assessments WERE NEVER performed with any accuracy (these are important data for any teacher to have to know HOW and in what direction to teach lessons as well as make connections/extensions. Instead, I often saw clearly inexperienced LEAD teachers performing the test with not much comprehension on the purpose of the test) most of the K and 1 teachers have no true understanding of the guided reading program: the kids either read a book together without must discussion or just sat and "looked" at books for 45 min.I don't know what has happened to this school since 2008, but the new lower school admin has been transitioned 3 different times in the last 5 years...Save your money, and do more research.I will say, the "work environment" was ok, very laid back. Most people wear jeans to work and have time to travel around the world.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 9, 2014

mediocre school, ridiculous price tag for mediocrity in students, staff and programs. In several years NO students even accepted to any Ivy League universities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2009

Love this school. I've been going for 11 years, and it just keeps getting better!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2009

Our dtr has been @ BCS since preK (class 2011). She has found it to be a well rounded program (offering sports, debate, foreign exchange trips, etc) which one would expect from a much larger school. The teachers are available and supportive albeit they provide a stimulating college prep environment. It's small class size(s) and low key profile keep it one of Brooklyn's hidden jewels-- We are delighted that our dtr is a part of this independent school. It is not free; but it is worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

I attended BCS for nine years (I left in sixth grade) the lower school was outstanding, I had great teachers, great arts classes, etc. By the time I got to the middle school, the teachers disliked me for no reason and started antagonizing me. The commute was tough, and the secretary would get very angry when I was late, but I did love the arts and the spanish teacher, some teachers were great, others were just not that nice and beware of their raising tuition!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2006

My child has been attending the school since pre-k. We have had a good experience. She is now well prepared to enter the middle school. We plan to keep her at Berkeley Carroll. The swim program is fabulous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2005

Provides a balanced approach to education and social skills. The school's focus is on community, it seems to me. My child has dance, music, play acting in library while stories are read and swimming as part of her k-grade schedule. She never come home sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Berkeley Carroll has been a great experience for me for the past 8 years. Since the classes are small, the teachers get to send time with each student. The school has a small close togetherness feeling.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2003

All I can really say is that I have been going to this school since I was in Pre-K and I just wish that is had a college too!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 52%
Black 7% 21%
Hispanic 3% 21%
Asian 2% N/A
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (718) 398-3640

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

181 Lincoln Pl
Brooklyn, NY 11217
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 789-6060

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 282 Park Slope
Brooklyn, NY





Ps 77
Brooklyn, NY


Ps 321 William Penn
Brooklyn, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT