Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Adelphi Academy

Private | PK-12 | 175 students

Our school is best known for our college preparatory program.
 
 

 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $369,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,400.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

45 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2014

What a great year! If you are looking for a private school - you must check out Adelphi Academy. This year has been amazing! My daughter is in High School and she loves going to school. The school has always been great but this year - the new Head of School really worked hard and outdid herself! There's just enough of a balance among discipline, academics, high standards and fun. The Gala was beautifully planned and I can't wait for the upcoming events!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2014

Adelphi Academy is a wonderful school. My friends children go there and they rave about the teachers and the other students being so nice. I've noticed an improvement in my friends children's behavior and mannerisms since starting at Adelphi. There's a reason why they've been around for so long. A+


Posted April 30, 2014

Adelphi Academy of Brooklyn is a wonderful school with a great environment for students, parents, and faculty as well. Adelphi Academy not only distinguishes itself with the personalized attention to its students and the goal of making them well-rounded individuals, but Adelphi also sets itself apart placing great importance on teaching respect and improving morals in order to contribute productive members to society. I Iris currently have a son in the 7th grade and another child who graduated from Adelphi and is currently attending college. I am very thankful that my children were and still are part of Adelphi Academy they have been given foundations to succeed that will go beyond their time in school. They were nurtured and provided the attention that is very difficult to find these days in most institutions of education. Adelphi Academy is truly dedicated to continuing their tradition of excellence in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Adelphi Academy of Brooklyn is a great school, very friendly environment, very clean, very safe, and the way the kids learn is very good, my daughter is attending there and she is very happy, the way I see her doing her homework and the way she explain to me the strategy the teacher show in the class room I like it very much, she is vey excited about her school, she have improve so much and her test score excellent. This school have a very good, one of my nephew graduated from here and he was the valedictorian and he's now in a great college, we are very proud of him and this is what I want for my daughter and I know it will happen because she is learning so much and the most important thing is that in this school she will accomplish that. The teachers are very good, they help with any thing regarding the students any question we the parents have their e-mail that way we can always be in contact, the school staff is very friendly, is a place that you can come and always feel welcome and they help so much. hope and wish that this school win, the kids will be very happy. Come and visit and you will love this family, because this is what is here FAMILY . A.B.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

My child started at Adelphi in Kindergarten and is now in the second grade. Overall, Adelphi has been a great experience for her and for us as a family. The most positive aspects include the small class sizes, the open communication between us and the teachers and administration and the excellent level of education to date. Every now and then I take our child's education for granted, but then I notice the level of discipline and the excitement for learning and I think much of this can be attributed to the school and its mission to education the "whole" child. I highly recommend this school and feel that it is a hidden gem within the community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

One of the best private schools around today -- wonderful school, wonderful people! The school really takes the time to work with the students and keeps them on track. I have 2 children in the school and have been there for years. My kids love the school and have come such a long way. I recommend the school very highly!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2013

I transferred my son to the school this year for the 9th grade and I absolutely love the school. My good friend recommended the school and her 2 children attend there. I receive weekly phone calls, my son is a part of so many clubs, and the level of care and instruction is incredible! I love the Head of School - she is so warm and caring and really is on top of everything. I would recommend this school to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2013

I just recently took a tour of the school and I was so impressed. The building was beautiful and the Admissions Director spent so much time with me. All of my questions were answered and I felt comfortable, welcomed and well informed. I will be enrolling my child for September.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2013

Not enough people know about the school and it is a shame. The school is a great school. My son has been attending for the last 4 years and I couldn't ask for more communication, support and concern. The school truly cares about its students and its families. I came across this site and am heartbroken to see any negative comments. I have had nothing but positive experiences.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2013

I agree that most of the positive comments must have been written by the school administration which is notorious for its deceiving practices. It is not surprising that the school has such a tremendous turnover of both the stuff and the students. For us it was the worst life experience ever and resulted in my first negative review -- I always try to look at the brighter side of things; however, with Adelphi, the only bright side was when my child left the school... He has attended three other schools since then, including one public, and has been a happy and confident 95% grade student in all of them, winning all the math and spelling bee competitions, while at Adelphi their "genius" teachers tried to tell me he had "learning disabilities" (apparently the school gets funding from the city for each student they label so). I thank God that experience is over!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2012

The scholastic excellence, superior educators, and lifetime friends are what we will remember most about our Adelphi days. We are so grateful to have had this experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

Really? New teachers and new students this late in the year? The worst school year of my Childs life!! My child started the school year academically ahead, happy and social. I now have an anxious, unhappy child well behind in academics as compared to other middle school students. The damage done has been a million times worse than the small fortune we invested. No wonder students and teachers disappear overnight with no explanation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

this is an ideal school for those seeking a well rounded education. it has a caring faculty and administration. It caters to the individual needs of students.. it has a very safe environment.. Most of all it has a spirit which motivates students to learn..My children look forward to going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

Positive reviews on this school is by far is administrations clean up job! The school can not compete with surrounding schools or any Great school. How can they if they are not well funded! They will take who evvvvver they can at this point to stay afloat. So do not get fooled and groomed by their sales/advertisement!!! My tuition did not benefit my kids. They did not do anything out of the ordinary for my kids. The school is very closed door policy/non parent involvement. If this school is your last or only option, consider your tuition a big donation for this school to make it by again. "Administration clean up reviews" are shameless!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

Adelphi Academy is a excellent school. My daughter has attended the school since the 4 th grade , she is happy and doing well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

Adelphi is a wonderful school. The class size is small, the teachers work very hard, and my child is happy and learning!!! What a great place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2009

Fabulous school and wonderful events! I just attended the Annual Holiday Brunch and I could not believe how well put together the event was. The room was beautiful and the students in the play were amazing! Great job! I was so impressed with how well my 6 year old performed!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

My son was struggling in public school. The teachers didn't care and they wouldn't help him. They said he was below grade level and was not meeting standards. Since enrolling at Adelphi in September, my son has jumped up 2 reading levels and is now on grade level. Public schools are a disgrace and I am so grateful that I found Adelphi. Everything they told me in my admissions interview was true. There is not one promise that they didn't keep. I love Adelphi and it is a great place for a child to grow up in. I can't say enough enough positive things!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2009

My children's Catholic school closed in June and I enrolled my children at Adephi in September. I ams so pleased with the school, the teachers, the level of education, and the weekly communication. Adelphi is a wonderful place and I would recommend it to anyone! I look forward to my children continuing at Adelphi for many years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2009

Fantastic school and worth every penny! A wonderful and caring place for parents and kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Adelphi University
New York University
Bucknell University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Italian
Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Cooking club
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College Fairs
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ms. Iphigenia Romanos
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (718) 238-2894

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Fine Arts
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Italian
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Independent Study
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College Fairs
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Golf
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cooking club
  • Dance club
  • Debate
  • Drama club
  • Game club
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Literary magazine
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • The cornerstone of the Adelphi philosophy goes beyond academics. We rear young men and women to become productive valuable members of society. We take what is especially unique in each student and nurture their talents with encouragement and devotion. Our curriculum is designed to broaden the scope of each student’s thinking and to instill an appreciation for learning. Not just for the sake of learning.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


2 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
34
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
162

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $35000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Adelphi University
New York University
Bucknell University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
College Fairs
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8515 Ridge Boulevard
Brooklyn, NY 11209
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 238-3308

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Visitation Academy
Brooklyn, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT