Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

East Midwood Hebrew Day School

Private | PK-8 | 31 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $499,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,220.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2013

EMHDS is a warm and friendly school that emphasizes largely on its educational program. The principal cares a great deal about the students and they are taught to respect. The school has hired excellent teachers, and offers many programs and activities that foster a rich learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2013

East Midwood has declined in 3 years. The administration makes excuses for the bad behavior of the students. My son was pushed down a cement staircase by another student. My son lost consciousness. There were witnesses and the recess teacher caught the child dragging my son on the ground by his heels. I was not notified by the school neither did the principal hold a meeting with the parents of the child. Except the child didn't even lose recess. The students are disrespectful, and disruptive. This is aloud to go on because the principal does not back up the teachers when they try to hold students accountable for their actions. There are no real consequences for misbehavior or missing assignments. Students are simply passed along from grade to grade. MOney is the only thing that matters to this school not your children. Moreover there is a high teacher turn over, even in the middle of the school year, so expect your child to lose out and his education to be disrupted.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 9, 2013

THE SCHOOLS EDJUCATION IS BAD BECAUSE THE TEACHERS DONT CARE WHAT THE KIDS DO AND THE TEACHER JUST TALKS TO THE KIDS ABOUT OTHERWISE THAN LEARNING THE TEACHERS DONT TEACH THE KIDS DONT LEARN ANYTHING. THE PROGRAMS OF THE SCHOOL ARE GREAT AND FUN SO ARE THE KIDS ALTHOUGH IF YOU WANT YOUR KID TO GET GOOD EDJUCATIOPNJ DONT CHOOSE THIS SCHOOL.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2013

Great school, my children went to public schools before, and now, since they started EMHDS, the state test grades are improving!!! I highly recommend this school, the enviroment is very safe and the education above average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

Below average education provided, kids do not behave well, teachers fair at best. State test preparation inadequate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2012

Great school! My child has been in this school and is very happy and is an A student. Do not believe the review posted it was posted by a student not a teacher! This student had several issues and did not like it when the school acted them. I recommend the school. The new principal is fantastic! He came from an A rated public middle school in queens his record speaks for itself. If you send your child to this school you will get a good public school education in addition to strong Judiac studies and Hebrew language!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2012

Worst school ever. I absolutely DO NOT recommend it. Teachers & Education is horrible. The teachers are rude, and disrespectful to their students. They also don't care about their students at all. Maybe 1 or 2 are OK But overall, this school is HORRIBLE
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 1, 2012

An excellent education in both Judaic and English studies. There is a warmth about this school that is hard to describe. Classes are small so that kids get a lot of individual attention. Teachers and the administrative staff are A-!... they really care about the kids and their education.


Posted September 9, 2009

I am very happy with the education in which my daughter is receiving at EMHDS. In addition, my child has made a great group of friends. The kids & teachers in the school are respectful towards each other and are like family. Some people hesitate in sending their children where the classroom settings are smalller, however, it is so much better for the kids. They will get the full attention they deserve. If you want your child to get a great secular education while learning Hebrew & Judaic studies, this is where you should go..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2009

I am so happy that we took my son out of one of the larger, well-known yeshivas and put him here at East Midwood. I should also mention that this was by our choice and not by request of the other school. They tried very hard to keep us there. The school has so much to offer. First, the classes are smaller so the attention given to each student is outstanding. Second, the evironment is inviting and non-judgmental. Third, the education is incredible. Students are meeting and surpassing the standards set by state and federal mandates. Unlike many of the other Jewish schools in the area, East Midwood is focused on students learning and recognizes that secular English studies are a priority because not everyone opts to be a talmudic scholar. The Jewish studies are in depth and create a love and appreciation of Jewish culture and religion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2008

Have a child entering third grade and another entering kindergarten. We have been at the school for two years and it has been a wonderful, nurturing environement where the classes are small and each child receives a great deal of attention. There is a lot of homework given the dual curriculum and the teachers are demanding of the children. Atmosphere is terrific, principal and teachers are great, would recommend the school to all parents seeking a dual curriculum with strong academics in both hebrew and secular studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

RHHDS is a small, caring community. I am so glad my son is a student here! I don't know of any child in the building who is working below his or her grade level. Your smart child will thrive in this atmosphere! My son is also receiving a top-notch religious education as well. They are mindful of the fact that not eveyone can help his or her child with Hebrew, and they are willing to go the extra distance to make sure your child does not fall behind. The only negative? I wish more parents would make an effort to attend PTA meetings, and become involved in the school. Even working parents can have something to contribute. Also, there really aren't extra-curricular activities, since the school is so small. Fine with me - more time to spend on academics! We love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

I had 3 children attend this school (the third is still here) and both went on to top schools and top programs as did ALL of their classmates after graduation. Educationaly progressive principal and great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 52%
Asian 1% N/A
Hispanic 1% 21%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Henry Somers
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Jewish
Associations
  • SSDSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1256 East 21st Street
Brooklyn, NY 11210
Phone: (718) 253-1555

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 193 Gil Hodges
Brooklyn, NY



Lev Bais Yaakov
Brooklyn, NY



Masores Bais Yaakov
New York, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT