Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 200

4 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


East Midwood Hebrew Day School 5

Posted December 12, 2013
- a parent
EMHDS is a warm and friendly school that emphasizes largely on its educational program. The principal cares a great deal about the students and they are taught to respect. The school has hired excellent teachers, and offers many programs and activities that foster a rich learning experience.

East Midwood Hebrew Day School 1

Posted December 11, 2013
- a teacher
East Midwood has declined in 3 years. The administration makes excuses for the bad behavior of the students. My son was pushed down a cement staircase by another student. My son lost consciousness. There were witnesses and the recess teacher caught the child dragging my son on the ground by his heels. I was not notified by the school neither did the principal hold a meeting with the parents of the child. Except the child didn't even lose recess. The students are disrespectful, and disruptive. This is aloud to go on because the principal does not back up the teachers when they try to hold students accountable for their actions. There are no real consequences for misbehavior or missing assignments. Students are simply passed along from grade to grade. MOney is the only thing that matters to this school not your children. Moreover there is a high teacher turn over, even in the middle of the school year, so expect your child to lose out and his education to be disrupted.


East Midwood Hebrew Day School 1

Posted July 09, 2013
- a parent
THE SCHOOLS EDJUCATION IS BAD BECAUSE THE TEACHERS DONT CARE WHAT THE KIDS DO AND THE TEACHER JUST TALKS TO THE KIDS ABOUT OTHERWISE THAN LEARNING THE TEACHERS DONT TEACH THE KIDS DONT LEARN ANYTHING. THE PROGRAMS OF THE SCHOOL ARE GREAT AND FUN SO ARE THE KIDS ALTHOUGH IF YOU WANT YOUR KID TO GET GOOD EDJUCATIOPNJ DONT CHOOSE THIS SCHOOL.

East Midwood Hebrew Day School 5

Posted May 08, 2013
- a parent
Great school, my children went to public schools before, and now, since they started EMHDS, the state test grades are improving!!! I highly recommend this school, the enviroment is very safe and the education above average.

East Midwood Hebrew Day School 2

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
Below average education provided, kids do not behave well, teachers fair at best. State test preparation inadequate.


East Midwood Hebrew Day School 4

Posted June 16, 2012
- a parent
Great school! My child has been in this school and is very happy and is an A student. Do not believe the review posted it was posted by a student not a teacher! This student had several issues and did not like it when the school acted them. I recommend the school. The new principal is fantastic! He came from an A rated public middle school in queens his record speaks for itself. If you send your child to this school you will get a good public school education in addition to strong Judiac studies and Hebrew language!

East Midwood Hebrew Day School 1

Posted June 15, 2012
- a teacher
Worst school ever. I absolutely DO NOT recommend it. Teachers & Education is horrible. The teachers are rude, and disrespectful to their students. They also don't care about their students at all. Maybe 1 or 2 are OK But overall, this school is HORRIBLE

East Midwood Hebrew Day School 5

Posted May 01, 2012
- a community member
An excellent education in both Judaic and English studies. There is a warmth about this school that is hard to describe. Classes are small so that kids get a lot of individual attention. Teachers and the administrative staff are A-!... they really care about the kids and their education.


East Midwood Hebrew Day School 0
no rating

Posted September 09, 2009
- a parent
I am very happy with the education in which my daughter is receiving at EMHDS. In addition, my child has made a great group of friends. The kids & teachers in the school are respectful towards each other and are like family. Some people hesitate in sending their children where the classroom settings are smalller, however, it is so much better for the kids. They will get the full attention they deserve. If you want your child to get a great secular education while learning Hebrew & Judaic studies, this is where you should go..

East Midwood Hebrew Day School 5

Posted January 29, 2009
- a parent
I am so happy that we took my son out of one of the larger, well-known yeshivas and put him here at East Midwood. I should also mention that this was by our choice and not by request of the other school. They tried very hard to keep us there. The school has so much to offer. First, the classes are smaller so the attention given to each student is outstanding. Second, the evironment is inviting and non-judgmental. Third, the education is incredible. Students are meeting and surpassing the standards set by state and federal mandates. Unlike many of the other Jewish schools in the area, East Midwood is focused on students learning and recognizes that secular English studies are a priority because not everyone opts to be a talmudic scholar. The Jewish studies are in depth and create a love and appreciation of Jewish culture and religion.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East Midwood Hebrew Day School
1256 East 21st Street, Brooklyn, NY  11210
(718) 253-1555
Last modified East Midwood Hebrew Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
East Midwood Hebrew Day School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top