Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 210

3 stars
Based on 25 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


27 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ebenezer Preparatory School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Great school; kids are well rounded & not bullied! God is the forfront of learning & my children know who comes first in our lives not only taught at home but at school too!

Ebenezer Preparatory School 5

Posted November 16, 2013
- a community member
Ebenezer Prep is an amazing school that pushes students to become great things in life. I have attended the school since Kindergarten through the 8th grade. Throughout those nine years, Ebenezer has surely impacted positive things in me. I especially enjoy chapel services in the morning. Those services allowed me to start my day off right with the Lord. I highly recommend parents to send their children to Ebenezer because I know that their children would leave as intelligent young men and women.


Ebenezer Preparatory School 4

Posted November 16, 2013
- a parent
I am absolutely satisfied with Ebenezer! As I am reading some of these posts I am actually feeling confused and a bit sad. Sad because this is a Christian based private school keywords Christian and Private; Christians should be praying for the progression and prosperity of the school, staff, and most importantly their children instead of trying to deter people from sending their children to a school that will introduce your children to the knowledge of Christ along with an EXCELLENT education. I'm reading comments regarding Sports and gym... this isn't a city funded school, therefore sports and any other EXTRA CURRICULUM ACTIVITY would have to be funded(fundraisers) by the parents and staff. I never had a problem with paying to see my child in any show that she was involved in because if she was in a dance studio, (that you pay for weekly for 1 session) you still must pay for the show along with their costume. Lets not lose focus, this is a school where children go to learn and I get my money's worth with EDUCATION. And lets not forget the bonus CHRIST! Ebenezer is great and I do not benefit from this post only you and your child. Pray about it! May God Bless and good luck.

Ebenezer Preparatory School 4

Posted November 16, 2013
- a parent
Garbage in Garbage out...Ebenezer is both a shell shock for students and parents. Ebenezer Faculty help Parents to continue childs spiritual and educational growth after the schools doors are closed. Most don't like this idea, because they don't understand what they're paying for. Which is impossible to pay for because it priceless. I recommend Ebenezer to anyone really wants to build a solid foundation for their children and children's children.

Ebenezer Preparatory School 1

Posted September 13, 2013
- a parent
Ebenezer Preparatory School is not a sound school.. I disagree with the way they measure students' progress. There is no solid curriculum that prepares students to move on to a good high school. Administrators at ebenezer are not looking out for the best interest of their students when they leave. Students in the eighth grade are not exposed or do not get an opportunity to take any high school regents in the eighth grade. Nevertheless, even administrators do not enlighten parents of various incentives students may have prior to high school because it does not benefit them, no money in their pockets. Parents do your research and think about the development of your child in the long run. Is all the money invested in their education paid out to ebenezer really worth it. Are administrators really concerned with the academic development of your child??? Do your research!!!!


Ebenezer Preparatory School 1

Posted March 04, 2013
- a community member
I was a student at Ebenezer Preparatory School, and have since then graduated. Ebenezer is an unsatisfactory school. The teachers have no type of formal teaching and quite frankly I think the school is being brought down by SOME of these teachers. They have Gospel Fests, Gospel Dances, Christmas Pageants and other various occasions. If you want to see your child perform you have to PAY an amount of money. It's your child you shouldn't have to pay to see your child perform. Some of the classrooms are small and rundown. There are no pictures, or ANY type of imagery to brighten up the atmosphere. No recess, or any type of sport activity is used. If you want your child to do some type of sports activity you have to pay almost $100 for them to take part. When I began to come to this school in 2004 in Kindergarten and I honestly loved the school but as I grew older I HATED the school. THANK GOD I HAVE FINALLY LEFT AND FOCUS BETTER ON MY EDUCATION!!!!!

Ebenezer Preparatory School 1

Posted January 17, 2013
- a parent
Ebenezer prep school is not what i thought it was. the school is not very warm and fuzzy. the classrooms are bare and not very welcoming, especially for the nursery students. these kids are 3 years old, they're babies. their classrooms are simply made of 4 walls. really, there's no carpet, no mat, no blocks, no table toys, no pictures on the walls to attract the kids. they go in and simply sits at a table. some aspects of the school is great, like going to chapel, and learning verses of the Bible and singing. but i think school should be a misture of academics, arts, music and FUN. i feel that the kids are not having fun. i was hoping i can leave my daughter there for another year, but i'm rethinking the idea.

Ebenezer Preparatory School 1

Posted August 17, 2012
- a parent
WARNING!!! Parents do not waste time or money with this school. Ebenezer is a SCAM they are always begging for money and administration or the PTA never reports how much money was raised or what the money was used for. There is no real evidence that the monies from the fundraisers are going to a good cause. Beware of the summer school scam-if a child fails two or more classes in the 1st and 2nd term he will receive a letter stating he may to attend summer school but in the last term the policy mysteriously changes, and if the child fails one class he is automatically slated for summer school. Parents are informed about summer school at the last minute and are expected to pay $600 for the program. If your child must attend Ebenezer beware of the things mentioned in this post and if something doesn't seem right it probably isn't so SPEAK UP and don't allow them to avoid you.


Ebenezer Preparatory School 1

Posted July 07, 2012
- a parent
If you are considering Ebenezer Prep School I suggest you keep searching. This school is LOW-GRADE, in comparison to other private schools and defiantly in comparison to the public school. Ebenezer is below average because they cannot afford to maintain provide the basics. The books are outdated, assignments are given on Xerox paper which often dark and difficult to read, the lunch menu is limited and only consists of high fat foods which are overpriced (e.g., $3 french fries), classrooms have poor lighting, the children are kept inside all day (no recess), gym is only offered for a few months out of the year, and the teachers are not friendly. I know many parents at this school are there because of convenience but it's more important to give your child the best experience possible especially if you are paying for a private school education.

Ebenezer Preparatory School 1

Posted July 02, 2012
- a parent
The teachers at Ebenezer are underdeveloped -the teaching and classroom management methods are outdated. This school is not focused on developing the teachers or providing them with modern teaching material. The teachers and administration are narrow-minded and this makes communicating with them frustrating. The teachers tend to be evasive and rude to the parents. Ebenezer Prep is a family operated business whose focus is on making money and not developing the minds of their staff and students. Parents beware; this is a test based school- specifically for the elementary grades. Students in the lower grades are not taught analytical or problem solving skills and projects are rear. Grades are only based on test scores, homework and class work are not graded. Unfortunately Ebenezer's system does not support kids that are struggling or are poor test takers. There nothing in place that will help parents track their child's progress, and often times parents are not made aware about poor performance until it's too late. Before enrolling your child in this school please take these matters into consideration.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ebenezer Preparatory School
5464 Kings Highway, Brooklyn, NY  11203
(718) 629-4231
Last modified Ebenezer Preparatory School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Ebenezer Preparatory School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. Top