Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mark's Day School

Private | PK-8 | 264 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $410,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,180.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2014

Wow, I went to St. Marks in the eighties and the curriculum was stellar. I received an excellent education. Now as a mom looking for a school for my little one, it's sad to hear about the decline in standards.


Posted June 4, 2014

I am so disappointed in how this school is run. The teachers are NOT qualified, and everything is swept under the rug, or there is a secrecy pact! You pay for an all year program which entails HW help, and HW is never done, but everytime you go to pick up your child, they're dumped infront the stupid TELL-LIE-VISION! If parents are paying for after school program , we should expect services to be rendered! This school is all about money, and academically they're not doing well! Very disorganized school/poor leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2014

it is sad that st. marks reputation is declining. the headmaster along with the principal and assistant principal need to come together for the benefit of the students to make positive changes for the school. it is puzzling that the school would hire an individual who was unable to save his own school. since he has been the vice principal I have not seen any improvement. it has been three years of deterioration. again changes need to be made. fresh teachers with new ideas should be explored. I think there is hope for the school but it can only happen if changes are made. teachers need more professional development so they are aware of new techniques and methods of teaching as well as materials that can be used in the classroom. the school should try to raise or obtain funds in order to have smartboards in each classroom. I have seen where the students are academically more advanced than their counterparts in the public and charter schools but more can be done for saint marks students. parents, teachers, principal, assistant principal, headmaster and the community should come together to improve the school for the benefit of our children. let us keep the flame burning for st marks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2014

This school has unqualified teachers. The teachers have no respect for parents nor students. They call the students degrading names such as empty heads. Even the Pre-K class was called empty heads. The teachers chat all day amongst themselves while four year olds are running next to an open staircase. They are unlicensed and uncaring, they are there to chat and laugh amongst each other.and get paid for being there, but not teach these kids or even care about them. Please spend your hard earned money somewhere else, because it will be wasted here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2014

Substandard education, from mostly uncertified teachers. I was appalled at some reports from parents regarding the quality of education and the overall condition of the school. If this school was THE school before, something went drastically wrong!! Because its not the same. DO NOT send your kids to this school. Demand a walk through, educate yourself parents!!! Look out for your children's futures! $6K+ a year for nothing!!!


Posted May 15, 2014

Clearly the "parent" who left the post on May 9, 2014 is not a parent, perhaps a teacher or administrator trying to make the school appear to be better than what it is because there hasnt been an afterschool karate program for months and just this week we received text msgs from the principal inviting the parents to sign the children up for the "new" karate program afterschool. So clearly someone is trying to mislead the public. This school has gone downhill and our child will be removed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2014

St Mark's Day School is an awesome institution that prepares it's children to be competitive into the next phase of their education. Combining small class sizes and a strong Christian education foundation, I love what this school offers. Combined with their new after school karate program, St. Mark's Day School should be everyone's first choice when searching for a school for their children
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2014

My daughter went here from 2010-11. This school was horrible. One of the nursery school teachers barely spoke English, and the other one seemed uncaring. They slam on the tables with a ruler and yell at the kids as if they are animals. My daughter constantly got sick there because they didn't keep toys and play areas sanitary. The graduation ceremony they had for the kids was disorganized. There was even an incident where my daughters hand was caught in the door causing injury and the teachers denied anything happening. I could go on and on about their flaws but I won't. Don't send your kids to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2014

No focus.....wasting money sending my child to this school. The principal assistant Mr. Bishop Joseph is lacking experience in how to handle matters with students. He's unorganized and unprofessional. We will say goodbye to St. Mark's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2013

Mr. smith just fired miss joseph Verbina for abusing people kids after a lot of complain from parents. Please parents don't put your kids and that school my child was in that school for 2 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2013

St Marks no longer represents a top performing private school. The school is lacking effective leadership and teachers. Couple that with rude staff members no wonder why there has been a significant decline in the student body. What I would like to know from the headmaster is what miracle will the current AP perform to save St Marks from closing its doors when he was unable to save his previous school from closing down? The school did not change with the time; teachers and material are old and outdated. I'm not discriminating against seasoned teachers but I strongly believe that some young and compassionate teachers with fresh ideas and approach to teaching are desperately needed at ST Marks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2012

St. Mark's gave me the fantastic foundation on which I have built my life and I am forever grateful! I was a student there in grades K-4 in the late 1980s until my family moved to upstate NY and was devastated when I had to leave this great school. Despite my departure, I took away many cherished memories and close friendships which started at the age of 4 that have remained to this day! The teaching staff provided an encouraging yet firm learning environment, everyone knew one another and I know that the values and behavior which were expected of us in school have had a significant influence on my personal and professional conduct in life. I have been living in Europe for the past 10 years, graduating from university in the UK with an MA (Hons) in Politics and International Relations and I know that it was St Mark's that played in HUGE part in shaping me into the confident, intelligent young woman that I am today. I hope that when I have children, I will be able to find a school as great as St. Mark's to give them the kind of educational head-start that I was given.


Posted August 7, 2012

I have been calling this school for a month trying to get correct information regarding registration processes. I have spoken to 3 different people who have given me 3 different registration procedures. Then when I did speak with Ms. Fleming she was rude and short with me because I guess i had too many questions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2012

This school has done a poor job of preparing our children. No school should cause emotional stress for any child. Shame on you for collecting tuition but no caring enough to offer programs for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

I began my school life with St. Mark's when they first opened their doors in 1977/78 and I felt that it was the perfect place to start my daughter and son. The school provides a great foundation through their early childhood program, with computers and hands on science and foreign language (Spanish). The elementary and middle school components intergrate Spanish AND French.along with the fundamentals of Math, ELA, Computer & Music . . .Oh La la! My son is excited to go back every year!!! They Instruct & They Care! Last year we hired a new principal and the expectation levels have risen and trust me, we can compete with the neighborhood public schools!!! Watch Out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2009

My son attended the preschool and had difficulty adjusting; the teachers gave us no meaningful feedback or suggestions throughout the semester to alleviate the issues. At the end of the semester, they presented us with a poor report card, alleging complaints that were never expressed previously. I have since had my my son evaluated for special needs. The problem with St. Marks is that the teachers never expressed serious concerns over his behavior or learning capacity and never suggested having him evaluated. In fact, they were going to allow him to to enter the kindergarten class knowing issues existed. I do not think this is in the best interest of any child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

My two children graduated from St. Mark's Day School in the '90s and now, my 12 yr old granddaughter attends the school. I enrolled her because I was secure in the knowledge that she would get a superior education as opposed to public school. More importantly is this is a religious school in the Anglican tradition, a tradition that I, and my children were raised up in. Although the school is competitive educationally, the reinforcement of this tradition and the dedication of the faculty and staff makes St. Mark's Day School a unique gem in the NY school system. Many parents feel that since they pay a tuition, they don't have to be as 'involved' as public schools. However, you get back what you put in. If you value your child's education and spiritual enrichment, St. Mark's Day School is an excellent choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

I will have to agree with some of the parents comments listed below. At first, I was a bit concern with the extracurricular activities. Remarkably, the education their was something irresistible, I saw great improvement in my child's behavior and education. With the outstanding efforts from some of the teachers, to name a few, Ms. Humphrey, Ms.Daniels and not forgetting Ms.Forbes, the vice principal, such a wonderful and approachable woman. Unfortunately, we relocated and I'm not quite convinced about the academic approach that I see in the school system out here. So, I'm really contemplating about taking her back. Keep up the good work St.Marks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

I've had 2 children at St. Mark's since 2005. My son has graduated and is will be a senior in high school this September. My daughter still attends St. Mark's and will be in the 5th grade this September. She will continue to attend St. Mark's until she is ready for high school or until I cannot afford it anymore. Both my children have received an excellent education at St. Mark's. My daughter is learning two languages, French and Spanish. Can there be more extra-curricular activities, yes. But I'm not that concerned about that. As her parent I ensure she 's well grounded. I am concerned about her receiving an up-standing education and at St. Mark's she is receiving that. More parents should volunteer their time and resources to aid Dr. Macatee (who's doing an excellent job) and the staff in keeping St. Mark's the excellent school I believe it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

My Son has been a student at St Marks since the 2nd Grade. We had a supper experience both academically and spritualy. He is now moving on to High School and was awarded a few Scholarships to local schools as well as out of State institutions. I tuely believe that sending him to St. Marks was the best decision that I ever made. The staff and teachers are wonderful and careing. Administration works with the parents and students to make sure they succeed. I would have liked more extra-curricular activities but that was limited to schools physical space constraints, however I was happy to scrifice that to have had the quality education that my son received.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 21%
Hispanic 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
White 0% 52%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Derick Smith
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1346 President Street
Brooklyn, NY 11213
Phone: (718) 756-6602

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Arista Prep School
Brooklyn, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT