Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


48 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Mark's Day School 4

Posted September 01, 2014
- a community member
Wow, I went to St. Marks in the eighties and the curriculum was stellar. I received an excellent education. Now as a mom looking for a school for my little one, it's sad to hear about the decline in standards.

St Mark's Day School 1

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
I am so disappointed in how this school is run. The teachers are NOT qualified, and everything is swept under the rug, or there is a secrecy pact! You pay for an all year program which entails HW help, and HW is never done, but everytime you go to pick up your child, they're dumped infront the stupid TELL-LIE-VISION! If parents are paying for after school program , we should expect services to be rendered! This school is all about money, and academically they're not doing well! Very disorganized school/poor leadership.


St Mark's Day School 3

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
it is sad that st. marks reputation is declining. the headmaster along with the principal and assistant principal need to come together for the benefit of the students to make positive changes for the school. it is puzzling that the school would hire an individual who was unable to save his own school. since he has been the vice principal I have not seen any improvement. it has been three years of deterioration. again changes need to be made. fresh teachers with new ideas should be explored. I think there is hope for the school but it can only happen if changes are made. teachers need more professional development so they are aware of new techniques and methods of teaching as well as materials that can be used in the classroom. the school should try to raise or obtain funds in order to have smartboards in each classroom. I have seen where the students are academically more advanced than their counterparts in the public and charter schools but more can be done for saint marks students. parents, teachers, principal, assistant principal, headmaster and the community should come together to improve the school for the benefit of our children. let us keep the flame burning for st marks

St Mark's Day School 1

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
This school has unqualified teachers. The teachers have no respect for parents nor students. They call the students degrading names such as empty heads. Even the Pre-K class was called empty heads. The teachers chat all day amongst themselves while four year olds are running next to an open staircase. They are unlicensed and uncaring, they are there to chat and laugh amongst each other.and get paid for being there, but not teach these kids or even care about them. Please spend your hard earned money somewhere else, because it will be wasted here.

St Mark's Day School 1

Posted May 24, 2014
- a community member
Substandard education, from mostly uncertified teachers. I was appalled at some reports from parents regarding the quality of education and the overall condition of the school. If this school was THE school before, something went drastically wrong!! Because its not the same. DO NOT send your kids to this school. Demand a walk through, educate yourself parents!!! Look out for your children's futures! $6K+ a year for nothing!!!


St Mark's Day School 1

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
Clearly the "parent" who left the post on May 9, 2014 is not a parent, perhaps a teacher or administrator trying to make the school appear to be better than what it is because there hasnt been an afterschool karate program for months and just this week we received text msgs from the principal inviting the parents to sign the children up for the "new" karate program afterschool. So clearly someone is trying to mislead the public. This school has gone downhill and our child will be removed.

St Mark's Day School 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
St Mark's Day School is an awesome institution that prepares it's children to be competitive into the next phase of their education. Combining small class sizes and a strong Christian education foundation, I love what this school offers. Combined with their new after school karate program, St. Mark's Day School should be everyone's first choice when searching for a school for their children

St Mark's Day School 1

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
My daughter went here from 2010-11. This school was horrible. One of the nursery school teachers barely spoke English, and the other one seemed uncaring. They slam on the tables with a ruler and yell at the kids as if they are animals. My daughter constantly got sick there because they didn't keep toys and play areas sanitary. The graduation ceremony they had for the kids was disorganized. There was even an incident where my daughters hand was caught in the door causing injury and the teachers denied anything happening. I could go on and on about their flaws but I won't. Don't send your kids to this school!


St Mark's Day School 1

Posted January 02, 2014
- a parent
No focus.....wasting money sending my child to this school. The principal assistant Mr. Bishop Joseph is lacking experience in how to handle matters with students. He's unorganized and unprofessional. We will say goodbye to St. Mark's.

St Mark's Day School 1

Posted December 28, 2013
- a parent
Mr. smith just fired miss joseph Verbina for abusing people kids after a lot of complain from parents. Please parents don't put your kids and that school my child was in that school for 2 years.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Mark's Day School
1346 President Street, Brooklyn, NY  11213
(718) 756-6602
Last modified St Mark's Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Mark's Day School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 48 reviews. Top