Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
264 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
42 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Mark's Day School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted November 17, 2015
- a community member
There should be no need for after-school tutoring if the students are effectively taught during school hours.

St Mark's Day School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a community member
The students are not treated with honesty, integrity nor fairness so cannot develop what is not taught to them.


St Mark's Day School 4

Posted September 01, 2014
- a community member
Wow, I went to St. Marks in the eighties and the curriculum was stellar. I received an excellent education. Now as a mom looking for a school for my little one, it's sad to hear about the decline in standards.

St Mark's Day School 1

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
I am so disappointed in how this school is run. The teachers are NOT qualified, and everything is swept under the rug, or there is a secrecy pact! You pay for an all year program which entails HW help, and HW is never done, but everytime you go to pick up your child, they're dumped infront the stupid TELL-LIE-VISION! If parents are paying for after school program , we should expect services to be rendered! This school is all about money, and academically they're not doing well! Very disorganized school/poor leadership.

St Mark's Day School 3

Posted June 02, 2014
- a parent
it is sad that st. marks reputation is declining. the headmaster along with the principal and assistant principal need to come together for the benefit of the students to make positive changes for the school. it is puzzling that the school would hire an individual who was unable to save his own school. since he has been the vice principal I have not seen any improvement. it has been three years of deterioration. again changes need to be made. fresh teachers with new ideas should be explored. I think there is hope for the school but it can only happen if changes are made. teachers need more professional development so they are aware of new techniques and methods of teaching as well as materials that can be used in the classroom. the school should try to raise or obtain funds in order to have smartboards in each classroom. I have seen where the students are academically more advanced than their counterparts in the public and charter schools but more can be done for saint marks students. parents, teachers, principal, assistant principal, headmaster and the community should come together to improve the school for the benefit of our children. let us keep the flame burning for st marks


St Mark's Day School 1

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
This school has unqualified teachers. The teachers have no respect for parents nor students. They call the students degrading names such as empty heads. Even the Pre-K class was called empty heads. The teachers chat all day amongst themselves while four year olds are running next to an open staircase. They are unlicensed and uncaring, they are there to chat and laugh amongst each other.and get paid for being there, but not teach these kids or even care about them. Please spend your hard earned money somewhere else, because it will be wasted here.

St Mark's Day School 1

Posted May 24, 2014
- a community member
Substandard education, from mostly uncertified teachers. I was appalled at some reports from parents regarding the quality of education and the overall condition of the school. If this school was THE school before, something went drastically wrong!! Because its not the same. DO NOT send your kids to this school. Demand a walk through, educate yourself parents!!! Look out for your children's futures! $6K+ a year for nothing!!!

St Mark's Day School 1

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
Clearly the "parent" who left the post on May 9, 2014 is not a parent, perhaps a teacher or administrator trying to make the school appear to be better than what it is because there hasnt been an afterschool karate program for months and just this week we received text msgs from the principal inviting the parents to sign the children up for the "new" karate program afterschool. So clearly someone is trying to mislead the public. This school has gone downhill and our child will be removed.


St Mark's Day School 5

Posted May 09, 2014
- a parent
St Mark's Day School is an awesome institution that prepares it's children to be competitive into the next phase of their education. Combining small class sizes and a strong Christian education foundation, I love what this school offers. Combined with their new after school karate program, St. Mark's Day School should be everyone's first choice when searching for a school for their children

St Mark's Day School 1

Posted January 23, 2014
- a parent
My daughter went here from 2010-11. This school was horrible. One of the nursery school teachers barely spoke English, and the other one seemed uncaring. They slam on the tables with a ruler and yell at the kids as if they are animals. My daughter constantly got sick there because they didn't keep toys and play areas sanitary. The graduation ceremony they had for the kids was disorganized. There was even an incident where my daughters hand was caught in the door causing injury and the teachers denied anything happening. I could go on and on about their flaws but I won't. Don't send your kids to this school!

Nearby schools

St Mark's Day School
1346 President Street, Brooklyn, NY  11213
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (718) 756-6602
Last modified St Mark's Day School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top