Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bay Ridge Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 19 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $600,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,310.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 3, 2014

Two of my boy were to this school, one already out Hamilton College, the other almost finish high school, my daughter still there in 6a grade, nothing to regreat, safe and clean. Maybe no the perfect building yet, but I see in the temple the new project. Good Job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

Don't listen to any of the negative comments Bay Ridge Christian Academy is an amazing school! The teacher's are very considerate and understanding and will help with anything that is bugging you. The learning curriculum is very good and up-to-date. The children there are not bad at all, and staff children are treated the same as the rest of the kids. I've gone to Bay Ridge Christian Academy since the 2nd grade and I will stay till 8th.


Posted February 23, 2013

I'am well pleased with this Academy. My "only" child have been in this school, since Pre-K . This school is doing an outstanding job, with the "spiritual" & "academic" growth. This is my 1st rating for this Academy ,because I'am so downcast about "some" of the negative and untruthful comments. Do you actually believed I would put my beloved in a school that will endanger my " only '' child , out of the question!!! . What I have notice, as a parent through out the years is , "some" parents because they pay a tuition , they feel as if they don't have to respect and follow the school policy's . My child is soon to be a senior & I 'am still elated :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2013

This school is doing an incredibly good job with both the teaching and spiritual growth of the children. There are separate teachers for each subject in the middle school. This is a great advantage because the students and parents are working with teachers in their content speciality. The best part is that the school is the students, they were all accommodating to the new child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2013

I am so very pleased wtih this school. I especially like that there are several teachers in the middle school for each grade, teaching in their content area. The science and math teachers are excellent and testing for all subjects is rigorous. In addition the teachers provide extra assistance for weaker students. After school is available for special kids. The students and teachers were wonderful and helped my child to adjust as the new girl in the middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2012

My children have been in this school for 4 years, going on 5 with the new year coming up. This past year was very challenging. The math curriculum is not up to par. I would have to reteach my children the lesson when they got home. In regards to other concerns, if you bring it up, they get very defensive. Nothing you say or do will work. They will refuse to discuss the matter with you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

This is a wonderful school, but more Extracurricular activities should be implemented, also they need to challenge the children a little more Academically. Other than that the staff is warm and very attentive. The princible is great and really cares. Facilities are clean, I am pleased with the overall experience, and the christian education my child is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2012

I have been extremely please with both the academic learning and spiritual growth both of my children have had the benefit to attain from Bay Ridge Christian Academy. The principals of the school are very "hands-on" with the development of their staff. I have found that my concerns have always been responded to in a professional manner. I find my child feels so comfortable with her teachers and friends that it feels like a small family. The class size ratio is perfectly conducive to effective teaching and learning. We are looking forward to the new building for the high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2012

The staff children get away with everything at Bayridge. The staff shows no consideration towards the parents. The school wants you to drop of your child at the door and run away as fast as you can. Parents are not allowed in the school. Out of fear of what you may see taking place with your child. Children are unattended often. Making accidents common yet there is no nurse on site. Every staff member has deaf ears to the parents concerns. I wish I knew then what I know because I would have NEVER put my child in this horrible school. I am looking forward to June.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2011

Everyday you see & hear parents complaining about BRCA, kids acting out of control, staff with long faces and sometimes upset. Each year the classes become smaller & smaller. Good families walk away from BRCA because staff members' children run the school. Plus, long time staff members are parting ways also. I do not understand how this could not alarm the administration. Teachers are no longer passionate about teaching the children, as they seem overwhelmed with worries. Children are overwhelmed with negativity and fear. BRCA has become a disgraceful place for children to learn while in a basement. BRCA short changes children and parents. Children are not being offered a third of what is being offered in other private schools. Parents are simply not getting their moneys worth. Staff member s children intimidate and bully the non-staff member children which shows a lack of respect for the safety and well being of other people s children. Some teachers fail to communicate effectively with the parents and are not careful about venting their frustrations around the kids. Children are young but are able to hear and pickup negative energy. Lastly, the administration is simply inept!


Posted September 30, 2010

The teachers and the administration want the best for each individual child. They have treated my children as if they are their very own. These teachers and administration serve with a heart of humility, compassion and love -- always pushing their students to the best of their potential. My oldest child graduated with a strong academic foundation; as a result, is performing well in high school. I continue to thank B.R.C.A. for their top notch education and outstanding dedication to excellence in the spiritual, emotional and academic well-being of all their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2010

i love this school and it has great teachers i go there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 3, 2010

I went to this school 6-8 grade it was awsome
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 21, 2009

I also have my two children at brca I can not think of my children in any other school . The education, the love and care they receive there is great I thank God for this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

BRCA is a wonderful school with a strong academic and spiritual platform. The administration and teachers care and nurture my son. He enjoys going to school and is an A+ performer. Many thanks to the BRCA team that truly care about each and every student. I pray that the Lord will enlarge the BRCA territory in the near future so that my son could attend their high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2008

BRCA is a good School i graduated from there! Class of '08! it was a great experience for me! i only attend there 7th grade though 8th.But your kids will love it! its a great staff the teachers are great!And if you have any sort of problem they will help out! in conclusion it is a Excellent school! 5 out of 5! but the only thing is there is a little thing i should say the vice-Principal is horrible! so ill lower it to a 4 out of 5! which is still good! the vice- principal's name is Mrs. Cristina Torres!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2008

My two children attend Bay Ridge Christian Academy. I have so many wonderful things to say about this school, I do not know where to begin. My children and my family have been truly blessed. Academically, they have excelled above and beyond my expectations. The caring teachers and staff are unconditional in their love and support towards their students. Spiritually, they have received incredible guidance, love, and prayer. This Academy has enhanced their spirit of worship and prayer. My daughters are worshippers and I know that God has placed them here for that reason. I highly recommend this school for anyone with a heart for God as well as academic excellence. You children will receive all this and so much more. Thank you Bay Ridge Christian Academy for the love, support, and excellence you have poured upon my children and my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

Both my daughter and son attended BRCA. My daughter is now in college and my son is in High School, Thank God and BRCA both are doing well. BRCA is an excellent school, it is God centered, and the teachers really care about the students. I pray that the vision Paster Padilla and administration have for this school may be fulfilled in the near future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

My children attend this school and I have seen first-hand the extraordinary academic development they have acquired. This is all due to the diligent work of the teachers and administration that bring the best education to this school. Above all, the children receive a Christian education. They study the Bible almost everyday. They have great activities for the students. They communicate frequently with the parents. I pray that God would continue to bless this school and that evey vision they have for the future would be fulfilled. As a parent I am very well pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2008

Wonderful school, safe and caring enviornment, excellent academics and leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 53% 21%
Two or more races 21% N/A
Black 13% 21%
Asian 5% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 1%
White 4% 52%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Judith Vega
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Pentecostal
Associations
  • NCSA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6324 7th Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11220
Phone: (718) 238-0953

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Ps 971
Brooklyn, NY


Ps 310
Brooklyn, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT