Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-12|Private
67 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 23 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Nefesh Academy 5

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
Nefesh Academy is a great school for girls who cant make it in mainstream schools. I have seen this school be life changing for many girls, and they should keep up their great work!

Nefesh Academy
Grateful to: School leader

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
I have been satisfied with everyone one of their staff members ( i don't think i can say that for any other school, unfortunately)


Nefesh Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 26, 2016
- a community member
the teachers are always there for the students, and students know that, and use the teachers for their important decisions.

Nefesh Academy 5

Posted March 07, 2013
- a parent
The staff really cares about the students. Limudei Kodesh is taught in small groups geared to each student's level. General studies features a regular Regents curriculum. My daughter is taking a college-level photography course in 11th grade. The hashkafa is outstanding.

Nefesh Academy 5

Posted May 24, 2011
- a community member
I have many friends who who are successful in their careers and their lives, who attribute their success to Nefesh Academy. The school has good teachers who care that the students should succeed. There is a dual curriculum where students learn about their Jewish identity while getting an enriched general education. Almost all their graduates attend college and the many friends that I have from Nefesh Academy are professionals who are wholesome, successful people.


Nefesh Academy 3

Posted May 17, 2008
- a community member
Nefesh Academy provides an adequate education, and the teachers/administration are highly dedicated to the students' success. However, the school is small and its resources are limited, so the curriculum is not nearly as extensive as it needs to be. While the school is dedicated to sending all its students to college, someone who really wants to challenge herself academically should look into different schools.

Nefesh Academy 5

Posted July 10, 2007
- a student
As a student in Nefesh Academy, I would like to say that my experience there has been amazing. Both the administration and teachers work hard to give the students a brighter and better future. The unique thing about this school is that provides outreach to all of the families that send their children there. If you want to send your children to a school were they would grow in intelligence and spirituality then this is definitely a school to which you should send them. Nefesh recently sent us on a trip to Israel. I have to say that it was one of the best experiences of my life.The academic programs are great and really prepare you for college work. The art and music programs are fun and give the students a chance to express themselves in a unique form. Thank you Nefesh!

Nefesh Academy 1

Posted June 11, 2006
- a student
Hi, my name is Sharona. I went to Nefesh academy for a year. The education wasn't all that bad, however not all that challenging. The few good teachers there are pretty involved in their students and are amazing.


Nefesh Academy 5

Posted July 31, 2005
- a student
Hi, I am an immigrant from Russia and have been a student of Nefesh Academy for six years. It s a wonderful school which gives best of two worlds (I have been taught about my jewish heritage and secular subject as well.) From my experience it s a great school which promotes higher education (college). We have a slogan Once in Nefesh always in Nefesh because even after we graduate Nefesh Academy teachers keep in touch with us.

Nefesh Academy 5

Posted April 07, 2005
- a parent
My daughter was a student at nefesh academy girl graduated valer victorian year 2000 then went to brooklyn tech just received letter of acceptance for Cooper union. I think this speaks for itself on the kind of education provided at nefesh academy.T hank you again to the principal Mrs Newhouse and all her team. Mrs Hess

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nefesh Academy
2005 E 17th St, Brooklyn, NY  11229
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. (718) 627-4463
Last modified Nefesh Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Top