Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Big Apple Academy

Private | PK-8 | 1016 students

WHERE EXELLENCE BECOMES TRADITION

 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $530,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,260.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

Overrated, overpriced, loosely managed school with the biggest accent on charging clients lots of money while hiring poorly trained, uncertified, inept teachers. This is not a school - this is an overly expensive parking lot of your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

Wish city would take this school as a model for public schools. cost per child is much lower than what city pay. Most parents are happy with education. I am very happy. The only reason i am posting the review is because i was looking for official address and did a quick Google and got to this site. I really do not care what others think I know I am doing the right thing for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2013

Overrated! Parents are the once who make students so successful! All the stuff does - create competitive environment and Overload children with homework. Rest is done by poor parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

After reading the reviews I decided to post one myself. As a parent of a child who attended Bambi for K and also as the husband of someone who taught at the school. Most of the teachers are NOT licensed. Some of the younger teachers have yet to graduate college let alone have a master's. My daughter needed therapy after the negative reinforcement techniques used by the teachers. When we got next to the school each morning, this usually happy child would put her head down and beg not to go. When she couldn't do 2nd grade math problems (in Kindergarten) the teacher actually threatened to write "DUMMY" on her forehead with a permanent marker. When my wife confronted her, she didn't even deny it. The admin staff encourages teachers to give good grades even if the children don't deserve them in order to prevent parents from pulling their kids from the school. My wife who is a licensed NYS teacher with a Masters pulled my daughter out and left the school herself. By far the biggest mistake we ever made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

My kid had been studying in that school starting from pre-school and finishing last year in the 9th grade. Unfortunately there wasn't 10th grade in the school, otherwise my child would have been there for sure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2012

Two of the departments that really stand out in my memory are the Math and English departments. Math teachers in this school are really strong and very serious about their subject. Lessons were very clear and homework assignments were challenging enough for us to absorb the material, but not overwhelming. I recall seeing math topics studied at other schools and they were a joke in comparison to the ones we learnt. English classes... I cannot stress how difficult it is to encounter good English teachers nowadays and I have seen quite a few from different middle schools. They often do not teach grammar or skim through the reading texts and just focus on having their students perform on simple standardized exams, which I hate. In Big Apple Academy this is really not the case. They have strong faculty for both - grammar and literature lessons. This really helps once you get to taking SAT's for colleges. I came to BAMBI knowing no English at all and got perfect on the SAT English and 75% of grammar I needed I learnt at BAMBI. Overall, once I got to high school, I realized just how well prepared I was in all the departments. BAMBI is a great and challenging environment.


Posted May 25, 2012

One thing that is truly unique to this school is the attention provided by faculty. Everyone - from teachers to the principal - is available for parents and students to talk to. The environment is respectful and caring. I do not remember being in a situation when I, as a student, had a problem - personal or academic - and was not offered help from the faculty. I really enjoyed the personal approach to academics. My classmates and I knew the teachers and felt free to speak to them about our progress and the subject material. If we ever had questions, they were always answered. In general, I would say that this school is for those who want to succeed. If a student is serious about academics and wanting to learn, he/she will REALLY benefit from this program. If a student wants to slack off, this school is not right for them. The only negative feedback I ever heard about the school came from students and parents of students who wanted to breeze through school without lifting a finger. In terms of the environment, students become really close friends. Teachers move from class to class - not students, which makes it a lot easier to interact during breaks. I had a great experience.


Posted May 25, 2012

BAMBI was the first school I attended in the United States after I immigrated from Russia. Teachers helped me assimilate, learn the language and get up to speed in all of the subjects. Within two years, the school prepared me for the SHSAT and I got into Staten Island Tech without having to receive outside tutoring or paying ridiculous amounts for the preparatory programs. When I started attending SIT, I felt confident in all of the subject areas and aced my classes, not without BAMBI's influence. I now attend MIT; I got here without participating in any of the SAT prep programs. I feel that math, English, and science base I received in BAMBI helped carry me through high school years and really aided in preparation for most of the standardized tests I took for college admission. I sincerely recommend this school.


Posted May 24, 2012

I've been working in that school over 10 years. I swear I've never thought for the moment to change my job. Thank you Big Apple Institute!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 16, 2012

I was concerned about this school because of some reviews and even more concerned when I went there for tour and was unfortunate enough to be toured by careless secretary who kept texting someone on her phone while talking to us. So we decided to give this school another chance and still went for placement test to Kindergarten at Big Apple Academy. That was a shame of organization. They put about 100 parents with their kids at the SAME time into ONE space - tight hallway. Nobody gave us any direction or tried to organize crowd somehow. Everything was very chaotic. And THAT was my daughter's first schools experience! I looked at this disorganized crowd and thought: will stuff of this school be able to organize students and get them out in case of emergency??? I doubt that. Sorry, but this school is out of our list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

This school is great. The teachers are just professional. This is an environment I like to have transferred from a public school. Thanks to the teachers and administration of big apple academy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

This school is an amazing school. My daughter knows more than me! This school is an oppurtunity for her to learn and socialize. She comes home looking so happy and says, "Mom, I had the best time at school."
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

This is the worst school ever. If you hate your kids then send them here. This school is like a Russian store. The English teacher is 23 and speaks Russian in class. A 23 yr old shouldn't be teaching 12-13 yr old's. She doesn't teach anything only talks about her boyfriend. The math teacher is a rude, disrespectful person. She doesn't care about anything. She is tough screams and hits children for nothing. The Science teacher is a old 72 year old man and by the time he gets to there class he has no time to teach or sits on the phone talking you his friends. The S.S. teacher doesn't teach at all. The only teacher that teaches is the Russian teacher. The sport teacher cares about himself and money. He loves to say " Don't smile I am not your Dentist. " This school doesn't teach anything and is just a Russian name/ Russian Bazaar. If you have no where else to spend $850 for nothing then bring your kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

Worst experience i ever had. Teachers are careless and materialistic, very rude and obnoxious.You have been judged by gifts you make. Lots of teachers have terrible Russian ascent, and kids repeat their mispronunciation. By 2nd grade lots of kids don't read well. Math is very advanced, but why would they need 60-100 multiplication or division examples every day for their HW? HW in school is done by teachers, sometimes even written by them. Food is also bad for this amount of money, children didn't like it. Principle is old and forgets what he does in a couple of minutes. Never gets a solution to any problem. My child lost a copy of his HW in a first grade and principle said that copies are expensive nowadays, so they don't have any extra.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2011

- The staffs are full of themselves and disrespectful - The teachers are unprofessional and cold to children as well as the parents most of the times - Too much time is being spent on gossiping between the staff then on students/kids - Children are given more work to do at home with the parents then they do at school ( this is why children are advanced )
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2011

Here is an example: I just took my daughter out of bambi and put her into a gifted and talented school called nest+m. A great school, rated best in nyc according to newsweek. What a joke. For for the past two weeks she has been cutting out snowflakes. No homework, no textbooks and no journal. All i have to say .........as though as the curriculum is ( i do think the math teacher is insane) they provide a challenging program for those exceptional kids that can handle the challenge. This school is not for everyone. Some kids are not cut out for it. i do agree that most of the kids are materialistic and stuck up and every one likes kids who behave well. But overall the knowledge they provide is by far better then any public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

It is a great school in spite of the fact that the program and the environment are tough. But if you want the best for your child that is the place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

This "school" is nothing more than a place that sucks the life out of its students, and sucks money out of your pocket. I attended the "school" for seven years, and I was so happy to leave. The teachers are unqualified, students are materialistic and insensitive, and the work is uninspiring. What are unqualified teachers? When I attended, one of my teachers was still in the process of getting her teaching license. How was she able to teach at this "fine" establishment without a license? I also noted that most of the teachers where recent immigrants to the country, half of which weren't able to speak English. How can you expect to have "well-rounded kids" with only one language? Also, read the Frequently Asked Questions on their website. See how many of them are dodged, or unanswered completely. Read between the lines PARENTS, and choose not to send your children there.


Posted June 14, 2010

My daughter is finishing up 1st grade and after working really hard with her this whole year I see an enormous progress the kids are making. My kid is not a perfect example as she has a hard time behaving, however, is pretty bright girl and likes to be challenged. The kids are definitely kept busy throughout the year with extensive homework assignments and even though I was initially a big advocate of public education as I was educated in public schools myself I am happy to see a positive outcome of making a decision and putting my child in a private school. I read comments about the kids being materialistic and somewhat negative, I completely disagree as I never had any special requests from my daughter about clothes, shoes, backpacks or anything like that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

Hi, I am Matthew and I have been attending Big Apple Academy for five years. In my opinion, this school is very educational. It is wonderful that most of the subjects in this school are taught at a higher level. Later on in life, it will be easier in high school because we already went over many high school topics. This school taught me to become more social to other kids. I now have friends, best friends, and even get along with teachers. What I definitely love about this school is that it makes me feel at home. From what I saw in public schools, this school brings a home environment. I love that and many other people do to. There are very kind teachers, classroom teachers and kids. I would recommend this school to anyone.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 52%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Black 0% 21%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Russian
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Russian
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Russian
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Russian

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 5:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Vlad Gorny
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Extended/longer school day
  • Year-round
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (718) 333-1311

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Russian
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Russian

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Russian
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Transportation options
  • BUS TRANSPORTATION
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Gymnastics
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Gymnastics
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Dance club
  • Math club
  • Science club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
More from this school
  • Students of our Academy are taught in a variety of learning and communications styles, within a safe and structured environment. They excel at a challenging course of study in writing, math, languages and literature, logic, research and computer skills, history, geography, scientific methods, arts, music, and physical education. Students pass their State tests with flying colors and demonstrate impressive results at National Math, Language Arts and Science Olympics
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
187
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
240

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$0 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
STUYVESANT HIGH SCHOOL
BROOKLYN TECH HIGH SCHOOL
STATEN ISLAND TECH HUGH SCHOOL
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2937 86th Street
Brooklyn, NY 11223
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 333-0300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 95 The Gravesend
Brooklyn, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT