Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

International Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 165 students

ICS is best know for strong Bible-based academics and an orderly atmosphere.
 
 

 
 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $416,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,370.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2014

I don't know how many times I have recommended International Christian School to friends and acquaintances. My son just graduated from that school and it has imparted to him the required education, but most of all it taught him how to fear and love the LORD more and more. I distinctly remember during his initial interview with the Vice Principal, he was told "you are not here to make friends, but to learn". He did gain friends through the years but putting his studies first was instilled in his mind early on, something I appreciate. I am most thankful and grateful to the Principal, the faculty, and staff of ICS. For any parent who has qualms about where to send their kids to, ICS is for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2014

I graduated from ICS many years ago; I worked extremely hard for the grades I got, and was very well prepared to face the real world. I highly recommend this school for kindergarten through high school.


Posted February 15, 2014

Where are the teachers experienced? IN ICS. The school does not teach regent courses, so don't expect any sort of diploma. The teachers are very talented at reading textbooks. The school also places "security" cameras in very interesting places.


Posted January 28, 2014

ICS has a very strong curriculum that promotes traditional values and is taught by experienced teachers with a heart for their students and a heart for God. As I suspect is true with any small school, some teachers teach multiple subjects; but I have never seen one of my children's teachers display a lack of knowledge in their subject area. Rather, they seem well-prepared for their classes. Frankly, ICS has some real jewels for teachers. The school focuses on character along with academics, so my children have been well-prepared not only to succeed in college but also in life. I have had my children in ICS since they were very young, and I am confident in recommending ICS to other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

This school is horrible. The teachers are unqualified. They are employed simply because they want to teach and attend the affiliate church. If you are looking for a quality education, PLEASE look elsewhere. The teachers are far from helpful. A typical teacher at ICS will spend the class period reading directly from the textbook, and is unable to answer the simplest of questions. The average class size(The entire grade) is about 10 students. International Christian School will leave your student ill-prepared for REGENT tests. ICS also does not administer these tests.DO NOT compare this school's grades with that of another. The grades of tests are based solely on memorization and does not focus in the slightest on true understanding of material. The science program is extremely bias in relaying information to students. Please take a tour of the facility and observe the teachers. Teachers are assigned to teach multiple subjects and do not show a level of understanding for any of them. An ICS teacher may teach English, Science, History, and Music in the same day, leaving me to believe they are not experts in each subject and are not a reliable source of information.


Posted October 17, 2013

ICS is an awesome academically school. My daughter transfered from public school to ICS after she was falling behind under the dept of education curriculum. After transfering, with the help of her teachers we were able to identify where she was falling behind and help her come up to speed. ICs has an online program where everything is documented, her grades on every test, her behavior, homework, and everything else i need to stay informed about her education. This is her second year there and she a total different student. Her attitude is different, she's more focused, and more intrested in learning. Transfering was the best thing I could have done for her education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

I think this school is good for kids who have a strong academic background, however when it comes to help for kids who needs that extra push it is not available, then when summer comes around if your child fail any class it is 375 for one class and 250 for every other class what that child had fail, however they don't try to help that child during the school yet, it is more about their church image than academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

I have 2 children enrolled one started in kindergarten the other in PK. My children were reading and writing in cursive by age 5. The children are taught by highly skilled, caring christian educators who puts your childs well being as a priority and privelege to have a part in your childs academic& social development. My kids are now in 7th & 11th grade, the school currently does not have a gym but does maintain PE, for the children some sports programs. We are satisfied with the school and highly recommend it for those parents who are interested in a christian education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

I think it is a great school. The academic progam is strong. The school is kept very clean and neat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2004

This is a wonderful school; they are very strong on discipline. My daughter spent 2 years at that school and she has a strong academic base. She knows all the continents and she could name a country from each one of them and I can say her script handwriting is better than me already, thanks to International Christian School. She is only in pre-K. Great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 43% 21%
Hispanic 24% 21%
Two or more races 13% N/A
Asian 9% N/A
White 7% 52%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 78% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 22% (2013)
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff American sign language
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Ronald Longhofer
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • http://bit.ly/1sA6dB5
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • American sign language
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Parent carpools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
Girls sports
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • International Christian School is dedicated to assisting parents in their God-given responsibility of educating their children by providing a high-quality spiritual and academic program while encouraging children to live Christ-centered lives. It is the mission of International Christian School to help each child reach his full potential before God and to become a contributing citizen of the society in which he is to dwell.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 78%
Workforce - 22%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

312 Coney Island Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11218
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 436-8924

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 130 The Parkside
Brooklyn, NY


Ps 249 The Caton
Brooklyn, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT