Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 281
 

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Yeshiva Toras Emes Kaminetz Elementary School 5

Posted March 13, 2015
- a community member
I am a student in this High School and would like to point out a few things. First, most of the comments which gave this school a one star rating are current students, who obviously don't enjoy the hard pace the school sets for the students. To the one who talks about no respect from students, I only say that everywhere you go there will be a few bad apples. As a whole, most who come in are impressed with the boys manners and respect. The siren is a matter that has absolutely nothing to do with the school. The buildings staff has nothing to do with the school's staff. Aside from that, I don't see how the siren is detrimental to peoples health, but i suppose that it's a matter of debate. I think that this school does a great job in teaching its students how to deal with the real world, and it definitely provides everyone with individual care, and the tools that they will need in later life
1 person found this helpful

Yeshiva Toras Emes Kaminetz Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2013
- a community member
as an alumnus of this prestigious institution, I feel that I know and understand best what goes on there. the staff is extremely involved with the students, and each student feels like an individual, though part of a large group. this school has 7 floors: Basement) dining hall and kitchen, 1) main offices and maintenance workshops, 2)study hall, computer lab, and early intervention(catapult) learning center, 3) pre-school, 4)elementary school, 5) high school 6)(vending machines,) gym, and science lab. I would like to stress that most of a person's character traits are mimicking what they see at home, so don't blame the exemplary staff of this excellent institution for this misbehavior of your child, instead think about the last time YOU zipped in front of someone else to make the green (or yellow)light, etc... Last, about the siren, I think it is wonderful that the school does this, and it shows caring about others. The reason why they sound this siren is to remind everyone that the holy Shabbos is approaching, and to take care of their last minute preparations. This is what I call really caring for others. IN CONCLUSION I most definitely recommend this school!
2 people found this helpful


Yeshiva Toras Emes Kaminetz Elementary School 1

Posted February 09, 2012
- a community member
it is a very very very very very very very very very very very very bad school.im a kid that gos there and they hav a teribel edication.they also hav a bad jim.
1 person found this helpful

Yeshiva Toras Emes Kaminetz Elementary School 1

Posted June 15, 2011
- a community member
On the one hand, this school blasts an air raid siren twice for every Sabbath and twice for every religious event, each time lasting about 30 seconds. The siren is extremely loud and can be heard many blocks in either direction. On the other hand, the neighborhood became cleaner and safer with this school around. It has improved the quality of this neighborhood with its upscale presence. However, the neighborhood can and should be able to do without this health-damaging siren of theirs that their lawyers won the right for them to use. If they change that, then not only will the neighborhood benefit from the above mentioned qualities that the school brings, but it will also be a healthier place to live, which is equally, if not, more important. It is both immoral and unethical to blast this air raid siren. I would not want my children to go to a hypocritical school. But I would want to live in a beautiful and safe neighborhood.
3 people found this helpful

Yeshiva Toras Emes Kaminetz Elementary School 1

Posted December 27, 2010
- a community member
I cannot disreccomend this institution enough. The staff is highly unmotivated and there is little regard for each students wellbeing. The entire high school is located on a single floor and during my stay I felt extremely clostrophobic throughout the day. The religious staff are comprised of fundamentalist zealots in my opinion. Please avoid this Yeshiva at all costs, and save your sons personality as well as his human interpretation of happiness.
3 people found this helpful


Yeshiva Toras Emes Kaminetz Elementary School 5

Posted December 27, 2010
- a parent
the mesivta is the best mesivta in midos,gemara and secular teaching you can find in the state of new york. The staff is unbelievable and care so much about the children.
2 people found this helpful

Yeshiva Toras Emes Kaminetz Elementary School 1

Posted August 09, 2010
- a parent
This school is a public nuisance. It sounds an air raid siren weekly. As another reviewer said, it teaches students to be disrespectful and self-centered. The academics are terrible. The staff is never there. If a child has a problem, there is no one in the office to help. If a parent wants information, or to talk to a member of the faculty, no one answers the phone. They are available only when they want money. This school is terrible.
2 people found this helpful

Yeshiva Toras Emes Kaminetz Elementary School 5

Posted May 11, 2009
- a parent
its a great school with a great core curiculam. my son is getting constant attention and growing into a fine young adult.
3 people found this helpful


Yeshiva Toras Emes Kaminetz Elementary School 1

Posted May 08, 2009
- a parent
They don't teach students to have respect for older people, and mainly focus on Gemara and only Gemara.
2 people found this helpful

Yeshiva Toras Emes Kaminetz Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2008
- a parent
Finally a Yeshiva that teaches the boys Midos
4 people found this helpful

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Yeshiva Toras Emes Kaminetz Elementary School
1904 Avenue N, Brooklyn, NY  11230
(718) 375-0900
Last modified Yeshiva Toras Emes Kaminetz Elementary School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Yeshiva Toras Emes Kaminetz Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top