Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Is 381

Public | 6-8 & ungraded | 388 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2013

I went here and graduated .. it was an ok school i didnt like it but i cant conplain fully because i liked some of the teachers such as mr.lawler or mr.k they were nice and funny .. mr.tormey sometime could joke to much but was funny to .. ms.lustig is nice as a person but not so much as a teacher espically when shes mad .. ms.furlong is ANNOYING .. ms.harrington is nice but can also be annoying and worries to much .. thepeople that work in the main office are NO HELP AND RUDE ! i could say more but #aintnobodygottimeforthat #classof2013


Posted March 21, 2013

Excelente school good teacher, good area. The neighborhood is quiet administration the staff is very nice. The school is very small with a high education middle school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2012

I.S. 381 is an excellent school. It has been a fixture in the community for over ten years and provided many students with an enjoyable and highly educational middle school experience. Though administration can be lax with their school-wide behavior management policy, students rise to the occasion. Teachers at are mostly passionate and dedicated. Lastly, parents/families have shown their reverence for I.S. 381 by sending multiple students to the school. I.S. 381 embodies the concept of "school as community."


Posted October 21, 2009

Well i graduated from this school and i say its ok. It wasn't challenging enough for me but good thing i had that support system at home. Honestly your child is better off in Cunnigham, Bay Acadamey or Mark Twain. Luckily, i worked hard to get into Goldstein H.S., but other kids who were not encouraged and didn't have that support system were not as lucky. If you're considering for your child to go here, you should visit the school first and the environment in which the students learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2009

The school is not as bad as they say so. My daughter is in the CIG program and preferred this school than cunningham.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2008

this schol may look goood on the outside but certain teachers don't care and i feeel like they want us the kids to get in trouble
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2008

This school i.s 381 is a very good school. i get to learn everything. last year my average was a 93.56 for the whole year. This time i'm expecting to get a better grade. the principal is very nice and so is the parent coordinater Mrs.Turner.So i like this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2008

this school has not lived up to expectation. The school is small but teachers and Ms harrington hardly return phone calls. Ms harrington is always in a meeting. Things happen at the school with my child i didnot recieve a phone call no one keeps me informed. the parent coorindator is powerless she is not informed of what is going on with some children. I am disappointed that I sent my child to this school. Small is not always better
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2006

The overall quality of this school is great. Ms. Harrington knew my name and was able to walk into the classrooom and say hello. The teachers are friendly however certain teachers when I was there were unqualified. They however have left and the school is wonderful. I also love the uniform. It promotes education and students no longer have to worry about what everyopne else is wearing.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 2, 2004

When my children s are at the I.S.381 I know they are in an educational and safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
15%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

134 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
22%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
13%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
31%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 62% 19%
Hispanic 2 20% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 9% 9%
White 1 9% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 24%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 280%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 63%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 529 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.6
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.8
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.4
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.5
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.2
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
6.9
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.0
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
7.4
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents14340%
Students36399%
Teachers2385%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARY HARRINGTON

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1599 E 22nd St
Brooklyn, NY 11210
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 252-0058

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Nefesh Academy
Brooklyn, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT