Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Secondary School For Law 1

Posted March 14, 2014
- a community member
As a former student, I witnessed the chaotic system of the prinicpal at its finest. She was not motivational at all torwards the entire student body, but only to those who had high grades. The workload was decent depending on your teachers but there was little to no help provided. All of the support that my peers and I got, were from the non-profit organization known as PRY. They were the REAL support system many of the students had. The Guidance counseler was always occupied with things other than her obvious job, many students found no support or guidance which led them down the wrong path. My piece of advice: Don't allow your child to attend this school or else your asking for them to become miserable and lost.

Secondary School For Law 1

Posted March 13, 2014
- a teacher
The Principal is the source of conflict and strife at the school. As a teacher at the school, I have seen how she gets around rules and does not help students to get an education. Her goal is to get students graduated by the fact that they have credits, but whatever those credits mean is not her concern. She spends less time mentoring and nurturing teachers and students than berating them and yelling at them to get what she wants. Needless to say, this isn't effective. Great teachers have left the school already and she is not impressing any of the new ones. She makes good teachers leave, teachers who are trying to improve and help our students learn through the Common Core Standards and teacher evaluation framework. She is a bully and pushes teachers down and away who are trying to help kids learn. It's a shame.


Secondary School For Law 1

Posted February 15, 2014
- a teacher
It can be very miserable teaching in this school. The administration is not very helpful. If you ask for help or raise a disagreement about a policy, you are called into the office and basically told to start being a team player. The principal constantly talks under her breadth to show her disappointment. She rarely has a smile and often takes a harsh tone during meetings. At the beginning of the year, she admitted she made past mistakes - focusing on the negative, basically being mean - and promised things would be different this year. It didn't last long. My only question is, who does she blame for the shift back to the negative? Does she blame the teachers who are so horrible that she has no choice, or has she come to the realization that she is a megalomanic control freak who cannot accept anyone disagreeing with her? Knowing her personality, I am guessing it is the former. What a shame - teachers forgave her for past mistakes and were ready to start new. She squandered an opportunity.

Secondary School For Law 2

Posted June 16, 2013
- a community member
This school has improved a lot. However, it is still not a very good one. Students come in late and the hallways are crazy. Most students even cut classes. Some also talk back to the teachers; having no respect. I hope that students in this school will finally learn how to be respectful, obedient and responsible. They are supposed to be in a disciplined manner. For in, it is for their own benefit.

Secondary School For Law 1

Posted July 05, 2011
- a teacher
the 3 stars on the first posting was an accident. i really meant to do only one.


Secondary School For Law 0
no rating

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
The school is not horrible. My son started 6 grade and now he is 7 grade and i don't have any problem with school or with staff. They are very helpful to the student and to the parent when they call they listen. The safety and the education are great the teacher are very concern about the student education. I would give this school A+.

Secondary School For Law 2

Posted April 27, 2010
- a parent
The school is horrible. I would not recommend it to anyone. There is no consistency. I would give this school a F.

Secondary School For Law 0
no rating

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
I have a 7th grader in this school and as a parent I can't believe how unprofessional and uncaring the staff is. I can't understand why the BOE has not shut them down. There is no type of control over the students and the lesson plan for the 7th grade is that of th third grade. I urge you not to send your child here if you are really concerened about their safety and education.


Secondary School For Law 5

Posted April 01, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Secondary School For Law 4

Posted November 26, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Secondary School For Law
237 7th Ave, Brooklyn, NY  11215
(718) 832-4250
Last modified Secondary School For Law is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Secondary School For Law Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top