Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Arista Prep Academy & Nursery School

Private | PK-8 | 17 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $410,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,180.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2013

The best choice I have ever made. Kids need structure, discipline in order to have focus in everything in life. Once u have a solid foundation every and anything is possible to achieve. A little beating with love and the right intention pays off at the end. It won't kill the child. I don't like my parents/teachers weeping but today I am thankful for it. I am old school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2012

this school is bad/good the bad parts are that they beat the kids insult the kids parents and the kitchen staff isnt that good and they say they have to pay for extra cups and sporks and the bathrooms


Posted December 5, 2011

Wonderful school for kids! My 2 yr old daughterj goes there and she enjoys school. Ms. Simmonds and ms. Shawnette take care of my little one as if she was there's. Strict hands on teaching at it's best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2011

My daughters who are now 12, and 13 (younger one is in 8th grade this year, and older one is in 1st yr of high school) attended Magic Kingdom nursery school. Ms. Shawnette was wonderful. She was patient, kind, and of course stern. Where else is potty training encouraged and enforeced during the school day- thank you Ms.Shawnette, So, 10 years later, I am still raving, and recommending Magic Kingdom nursery school to parents who are searching for a safe, learning , parent friendly environment for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2011

I thank you for your comment about your toddler being in an environment in which he is allowed to "express" himself and is therefore somewhat "wild". I am a veteran of magic kingdom. my two older children (now 20 and 16) went there. people are always commenting on how well behaved they are. they are not perfect, but they are not the typical young adults or teen you may see acting up on the bus or in public, I credit magic kingdom for they way they are. God has bless me with two younger children now 3 and 7mths. my 3yr old is in a daycare where he is allowed to "express" him self , and is also "wild". i hope to enroll him in magic kingdom this fall, his behavior is becoming a problem and is hampering his learning. I am confident that he will receive the structure in a "somewhat strict" environment that I know and trust
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2011

My daughter attends the nursery section of the school and I can't rave enough about how much she has progressed. Her primary teacher's name is Ms. Shawnette and she's amazing - strict and caring at the same time. My daughter will be 2 next month and she speaks clearly and can identify words, animals, sing along to songs, etc. People are always amazed when they speak to her and I always recommend them to this school. It's almost a year since she started attending and I am grateful everyday of my decision made to send her there. Parents, if you are looking for a school for your children, don't hesitate - send them to Magic Kingdom. The school is small so it doesn't have the space and facilities that a private school would such as a gym, cafateria etc - but if you're looking for a strong foundation - this is the place. I find all the teachers there experience and nurturing and the kids that attend, from what I can see, are heading in the right direction. All the school needs if more funding and assistance to excel into a state of the art school. BUT regardless, it's a great start for your kids - plus they're open until 6:30 and it's no extra charge!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2008

Though the atmosphere was rather strict, I loved it. My toddler gained a strong foundation. The school reinforced the things we taught at home. Both of us are teachers. The daycare he's in now has so much freedom that he's walking around being allowed to 'express' his feelings; most times at the expense of ther students. My toddler is very demanding (wild), so I feel he needs a bit more structure. Magic Kingdom gave us that structure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

my 4 year old attends the school as well as his 3year old sister. i love the space, but im not to sure about my 4year olds teacher right now,she is to aggresive,and i don't like that, but in september he will have someone new.so far the schools ok. the work is reasonable for their age.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2008

I am really disappointed with this school. The work was not age appropriate and the kindergarten teachers were not nurturing or nice. Very militant school, with too much structure for such a young age. No gym, no outdoor play, no basics. Just Wham! The kindergarten class was working from a 1st grade textbook. It is okay if your kid is advanced, but if your child is just entering school at the age of 5 you will have lots of trouble.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2008

Simply excellent. My son attended the school in his early years and now his sister has followed in toe. Not only are the teachers great care givers, they work hard at educating your children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2007

My daughter is three years old, people or amazed by the things she knows. She has been attending this school ever since she was eighteen months. I am extremely impressed with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

I Love the education the teachers provide the young kids. My son started there at the age of two and I will continue to let him go there
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 99% 21%
White 1% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

275 Kingston Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11213
Phone: (718) 493-9290

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Arista Prep School
Brooklyn, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT