Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Park Slope Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 37 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $644,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2014

Do not send your child to this school. The principal is never around and does not care about the school. They do not have much resources.


Posted January 7, 2014

This school has been a blessing to all of us that have come in these doors. This year we have a PTA board that has been helping in many ways. They are starting a new arts program next week during the after school hours. What's great is that it's open to our community. This gives the children and staff a chance to meet other students and bring what they learn to practice. As a parent and as part of the school I know that next year is going to be better. For those interested in enrolling your child or want information please call the school at 718-636-9363. If we all work together for the same goal it is reachable. Thank Gob for PSCA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

This school was truly a blessing .My daughter loves it the teachers and staff are very pleasant .with their small classes make it so much easier for her to learn .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2013

I was really blessed to find this school. I know my child is safe and is really learning.He is very happy and that makes me happy. The staff is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2009

New parents beware-this is not the same school it was last year. Most of the administration has changed and the leadership quality is extremely lacking. This school has gone down the drain in a single year. And it is losing its enrollment rapidly by the day. While speaking to some of the other parents in the school, I have decided to take my two children out of the school this year. My kids have been in this school for 6 years and I have not had a problem until this year. Half of the teachers are caring Christians that want the best for your children. Personal experience with some teaching staff was extremely unprofessional as well. I was looking at the school's website and it does not offer intramural sports or some other programs that it listed. I will still have fond memories of the school it used to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

This school is a blessing. Great class size and great caring teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2008

I have 2 boys at this School, for years they had struggle at other schools, Park Slope Christian Academy has given them the confident and stability to succeed, teachers are amazing, loving, caring and competent, my boys love being there as much as home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

This school is a blessing. A small nook, truly sent by God. The teachers are great, all of them. The really care about their students. Its a tiny place, but trust me, your child will grow, both academically and spiritually. My son was in Mr. Ponce's class last year, and I dont remember ever seeing him so excited about going to school. Thank you PSCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

This is a beautiful school where your child will be given alot of encouragement. The enrollment is very low so fundraising is necessary. It is a wonderful thing to know your child is in a safe and academically sound environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2004

If your looking for a school for your child, think twice about this one. This school wants parent involvement for fundraising and praising only. They don't encourage the teachers to go the extra mile for the students. They get out super early and you cannot count on them to answer the phones.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 62% 21%
White 38% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Hispanic 0% 21%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Daniel Sanabria
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

98 5th Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11217
Phone: (718) 636-9363

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 77
Brooklyn, NY



Ps 282 Park Slope
Brooklyn, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT