Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Private
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 297
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


37 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brooklyn Amity School 5

Posted September 21, 2014
- a parent
My daughters have been attending Amity School for 3 years now. Small classroom size, caring environment, staff and admin's helpfulness make it feel more like a family. When my girls are back home, they begin planning for the next day immediately. When I go there myself, they make me feel like a part of a large family. I know that my kids are in a safe and welcoming environment and that I do not have to worry about them which was always the case when they were in public school. At first, it may feel like, why pay for school while you could get it for free, but Amity School is very much worth it.

Brooklyn Amity School 1

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
it fills teacher positions with often unqualified people brought in from Turkey. They cannot speak English, and they are not enthusiastic. They are hired, because they are Gulen's followers.


Brooklyn Amity School 5

Posted July 02, 2014
- a teacher
This school offers a great education and teaches great student character. As a teacher born in Turkey, raised in the United States, English as my native language, I got to see how much teachers care about student education and teaching good morals and character. The college advisor team consists of 3 hard-working teachers whose goals are to provide the students with the best college choices for their career. The teachers are hard working to have the students exceed the standards and prepare them to the best colleges. In addition, teachers are doing voluntary courteous home visits to students home to build a strong parent-teacher-student triangle. Students coming internationally are well equipped into NY's diverse population and build onto their limited English with fluency communication skills within a year. The students in this school are taught and raised with great moral and personal character traits that very few schools provide nowadays.

Brooklyn Amity School 5

Posted July 01, 2014
- a parent
My children has been attending this school for the past 3 years. This is one of the best school that I have seen in this area. The kids are well trained by the teachers. The music in this school is great. THANK YOU teachers and staff members at Liberty for giving our children the best education.

Brooklyn Amity School 5

Posted June 20, 2014
- a parent
My child has been attending Brooklyn Amity since her freshman year of high school. The school offers a safe and positive learning environment, which is evident from their enthusiastic team of administrators and teachers. I am happy to have found a school that offers a plethora of rigorous courses and a wide range of clubs. My child has had the opportunity to volunteer for various community events, which has inspired her to help those around her. In addition to two AP courses, she was able to compete in an international model united nations conference in Manhattan, NY. I highly recommend this school!


Brooklyn Amity School 1

Posted April 27, 2014
- a teacher
This school is HORRIBLE. They don't care about your education, they care about the money. Dorm students pay 30,000 a year for horrid education(80% of the teachers cant speak English properly). Enough with the negative talk i just want to say that you shouldnt send your child to this school because it's not worth it. Its not diverse and its worse the public school

Brooklyn Amity School 3

Posted February 27, 2014
- a parent
My child has been in this school recently and i am unsatisfied with the administration and the teachers. First of all half the teachers dont speak proper english themselves and dont even have teachers degree. This money eyeing school only cares about its own reputation then actually care about students education. They are just trying to promote there turkish community to the outside people. They treat students based on their gpa instead of trying to help them out. Oh yeah and if you do send your child to this school make sure you pay on time or else they will take your child out of class and make them sit in the lobby the whole day, they treat students like residents,not students. This school teaches unfairness.

Brooklyn Amity School 5

Posted July 12, 2013
- a community member
This is a great school for every student. Teachers and staffs are excellent and complaisant. However, it has an opportunity to stay dorm for high school students and dorm director, who is a woman, is friendly and considerate.


Brooklyn Amity School 5

Posted April 03, 2013
- a parent
It is absolutely a fantastic school. Unlike public schools and many private schools, Amity provides good academic education. Moreover, it also provides excellent moral and personal education for my child. I truly can say that Amity is not best private school in Brooklyn but it is a very good one.

Brooklyn Amity School 1

Posted February 27, 2013
- a parent
Very displeased with this school. My child's character education class is just worksheets printed off the internet. The match teacher instructs my child's class to use the multiplication table to do division without actually teaching the kids HOW to divide! Many of the teachers barely speak English!!! My child constantly complains about not being able to understand the teacher in class. The administration seems to change often for reasons unknown. After the many school shootings that occurred recently, I asked the Vice Principal how they keep the students safe, and the reply was that all the emergency exits have an "Exit" sign marking. Very very dissatisfied!!!!!!!!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brooklyn Amity School
3867 Shore Parkway, Brooklyn, NY  11235
(718) 891-6100
Last modified Brooklyn Amity School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Brooklyn Amity School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 37 reviews. Top