Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ps 66

Public | PK-8 & ungraded | 771 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 11, 2012

I am the individual that wrote the review on April 10, 2009. At that time i was not pleased with the academic strength of the school because the previous principal was focusing too much on the arts, but since he has left ,the new principal Ms. Jackson and assistant principal Mr. Kahn, have raised the academic standard so that our children are better equipped to compete when they leave PS 66. At this point and time i can feel comfortable to endorse this school because the current leaders realize although dance classes are good, although Art classes are good, it is the academics that will almost guarantee our children a chance of success in this life. When can i say about Mr. Baker the school parent coordinator, he is the best PC that i have come across. Most importantly , although Ms Jackson may not agree with some points that the parent make, she always makes her self available to listen to what parents have to say. I think that both and Mr. Kahn and Ms. Jackson are honestly trying their best. The 7 out of 10 is an equitable assessment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2012

My child attends PS 66 and I am extremely satisfied with the school community and curriculum in the lower grades. The school is clean, safe, and has a family feel. The staff is present and available to parents. The parent coordinator is active and encourages participation in school activities and positive events in and around the community. I receive at least one email from him daily about upcoming events, scholarships, and an array of other happenings that can benefit students and families. They have recently proposed a scholars program, which is great being that this school was initially intended to be a gifted and talented school. I have yet to witness or hear of a school fight or any adverse events at PS 66. My child has excelled in piano, and this is the only exposure she's had. Parent teacher night is always filled with parents which shows interest from the community about the children's progress. I would recommend this school to any parent, and I am very particular about where my child attends. The transition coming private school to public school has been easy when dealing with such a great staff. Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

The school is a safe haven for the kids. I like the uniform, its .great! My son discovered music and caught on real fast. Thank goodness Ms. Walker the piano teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2010

My son is about to enter the 1st grade and I honestly think that his kindergarten year was phenonomal. He learned so much and the teacher really meet him where he was at. His reading is at least 1.5 grade level above and his math skills are at a 2 grade level. The school is very clean and everyone knows the children by name so it feels even safer. I look foward to 1st grade!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My grandson is in kindergarten and I am so pleased with his academic and social development, the environment is clean, warm and nuturing. I have no regrets choosing PS 66 over a private school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2009

School seems well funded. I believe they have two computer rooms, dance room and is located away from housing complexs. Seems like a great atmosphere for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2009

P.S. 66 creates a safe and welcoming environment for children to learn. The administration works hard to help each child set goals and provide means of achievement. The school is well rounded and supported by a diverse curriculum in the arts. The teachers at P.S. 66 are well educated and trained the latest programs. Professionalism is the standard at this school. The faculty goes above and beyond to involve parents in education as it is the key to the success of each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2009

Very perceptive. I also was fooled initially because the school is very clean. My major complaint with the school is academically it is sub standard. I initially thought because of the principal's experience with the gifted programs that the school would be academically challenging - wrong! I removed my daughter because of the poor academic environment. It seems strange but I got the feeling that the schools has a dummy down curricula on purpose. This school has the potential to be much better. Discipline here is better than most. Finding a school in the area that is disciplined, respects parents as well as children and is academically challenging does not exist. Lack of parent involvement is the root cause of bad schools. I am now at my final alternative - private school. Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2009

At first I was impressed with principal rebenfelds credentials and his affiliation with the gifted school program. I thought that he would have applied the same gifted program principles at P.S. 66. I was totally misled. At first glance the school building is well kept, it is a clean school. That s what fooled me. After having my children there for a while I realized that he focused more on the arts than academics. Academically the school does not measure up to what the 21st century demands. Disciple wise the school needs help. There are fights in classrooms, and the lunchroom is totally out of control. Looking back at what I wanted for my children at ps. 66 I am totally disappointed, and have started my research on charter schools
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

Hello, I am the proud parent of two children and the both attend P.S/I.S 66. My experience with 66 is that it is a school with discipline roles and regulation, you can go to the school at any time and find that the school is clean, the staffs are polite, the children are respectful to all, there is only one guard (no medal detectors)and she knows all the children by first name and last name. The office staff are mostly helpful and pleasant to talk to. The principal, Mr Rubenfield run a tight ship there but will listen to the concerns that affect children and parents. My children suffered only one setback from being in that school in that the class workload prepared them to barely pass the state math and ELA instead of preparing them to excel/exceed in areas of math and reading. Parents/guardians need to assist their children in that area.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

77 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
29%

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

105 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

101 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
23%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
32%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "A" for the elementary and middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 91% 19%
Hispanic 1 7% 23%
White 2 2% 48%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 0% 9%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 267%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 2%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 58%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 2%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 583 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.6
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.6
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
7.8
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.4
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
6.3
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
7.9
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents27044%
Students26896%
Teachers4594%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. LUCILLE JACKSON

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

845 E 96th St
Brooklyn, NY 11236
Phone: (718) 922-3505

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT