Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Stanislaus Kostka School

Private | PK-8 | 185 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $507,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,440.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

My child has been at St Stan s for Pre k3 and Pre k 4. The school is warm and the staff is very caring. My son asks me every morning what day it is and then tells me what enrichment activity is scheduled; Tuesday is art, Thursday gym, and Friday computer. He loves his teacher, his friends and the children from the other grades. My child has friends of all ages on the playground now because the children truly share a community at St Stanislaus. His social and emotional grow this as important as his academic success. He has been introduced to our faith and is developing his spirituality, which will help him make good choices in the future in the complicated world he is growing up in. My child has food allergies and the school worked with me to make sure he was safe, there is a high level of allergy awareness and because other children have nut allergies, the class room is nut free. I feel I have a voice at this school and my child has been happy and successful there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

St. Stan's is a wonderful school that fosters intellects and instills self confidence in its students. On top of rigorous academics, emphasis is placed on community, compassion, and creativity. The school's small class sizes and experienced teachers assure parents that students are receiving a high level of personal attention. The leadership, particularly the principal, effectively encourages parental involvement and maintains the school's sense of family. Overall, we couldn't be more pleased with the education our daughter is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2014

I have 2 children I'm St. Stan's and I am amazed by how much they have learned academically. The students at St. Stan's are well rounded children. They are educated, respectful, and caring to all. The teachers are great and we are very thankful for St . Stan's .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

I love the small class sizes, the great sense of community and the academics at this school. My daughter loves going to school every day and I'm confident she is safe, happy and getting a great education. The principal is wonderful and really cares about the kids. The school is very academically focused. In addition to the academics, the school provides great computer, art, music and gym classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

St. Stanislaus Kostka Catholic Academy is a great school. The teachers are all well qualified and truly care about their students. In addition to academics the children attend gym, computer, art, music and Spanish. St. Stan's also offers many different afterschool activities/clubs for all age groups.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2013

St. Stanislaus Kostka results in Overall excellence! I have two children in this school and I continue to be impressed by the well rounded solid education they are both receiving. All subjects areas are taught and there are many opportunies for enrichment. The teachers have experience and are passionate about their jobs. They truly care about the children and provide an excellent academic experience. In addition to the strong academics, the school has an amazing gym, art, music and computer program. Both of my children have Smartboards in their classrooms! The school is small, and all of the children know one another. All of the parents look out for one another's children. We have become a tight knit family of friends. Once my children walk through the doors of St. Stan's, I know they will be safe and come home at the end of the day telling me what a great day they had. Bravo to the teachers, administration and school staff for creating and maintaining such a fabulous learning environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2013

St. Stanislaus Kostka Catholic Academy is a hidden gem - the best elementary school in Greenpoint/Williamsburg. Many parents in our growing neighborhood either focus on public schools or new charter schools but St. Stan's as it is affectionately known has been educating well-rounded, civic-minded students for decades. The teachers have years of experience. The curriculum is strong. The community is solid. Overall, the school is very academically focused (as opposed to a Reggio approach), with homework and even spelling tests starting in Kindergarten. This is balanced with a dedication to the arts (a spring show, a school musical, and a music supplement in the curriculum) and to community service. The main classroom teachers as well as the special subject teachers guide the children's learning with dedication and patience. The children are supportive of each other across all grade levels - the best example of the caring and family atmosphere that is fostered at St. Stan's. It is precisely this atmosphere - this community - that I trust to take care of my child. I am confident that my child is safe and getting the best education she can. (and I love the uniforms too!)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2012

I have two kids at this school. This school is a great school,because it does not focus just on math and English language skills but also on science, social studies, art,music, physical development (gym). The child gains wide knowledge about the world they live. There is also place for parental involvement in this school. Parents have their voice heard in making decisions for school. The classes are not so crowded. Teachers are friendly and know how to motivate the children to learn because they incorporate in the process of learning a lot of fun activities. There is opportunity for the children to join the club like cooking club, drama club an others, which are offered after school. There is also,offered free after school program, which takes place in the buildings of new Mc Carren pool. Spring shows and Christmas shows prepared by misic teacher Bozena Konkiel are different each year and the wole schoo is involved in this event. This school year (2012) there was held first meet the parents dance in order to bring together parents specially of new children in our school. It was succesful event.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2011

This school offers a quality education and "stress free" testing grades. Their focus is on the whole child. The school faculty is dedicated, caring teachers who work hard and want the child to learn to the best of their ability. This school is highly recommended by me and my two children who attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

This school is very expensive and doesnt give as much education if you really want your child going to a catholic school then choose another but if you rather save your money and get better education then go to PS 34 its almost the same distance. My child has gone to saint stans and she has gotten bullied !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

Don't send your child to this school. Save your money, they will get the same education or better at a public school. Even with a 'catholic' education some children in this school have no manners and are mean to other children. There are no activities for the children. They organize many events throughout the year to raise money to keep the school open. The facilities are lacking. Please don't bother with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2009

This excellent school offers art, music, computer (starting in Kindergarten!), etc After school activities are also available in a safe environment. Classes are small.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 8, 2008

The best school to send your kids to learn, teachers are very caring and dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

I currently have one child attending the school and another that recently graduated. I find that the Principal, Sr. Dorothea, labors tirelessly for the benefit of the students. She has been the catalyst for the many improvement to the curriculum and learning environment throughout the past 10 years or so. She exhibits the patience of a saint when dealing with the children, parents and their issues. The quality of teachers at the school has been consistently excellent. The teaching staff continuosly displays a high level of patience and understanding in educating our children. They also make themselves readily available to parent to address their concerns. St. Stanislaus offers a number of extra curricular activities for the children: Drama club, Band, Sodality( religious for girls) as well as an Athletic league that offers both intramural and CYO level sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Christina Cieloszczyk
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

12 Newell St
Brooklyn, NY 11222
Phone: (718) 383-1970

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Ps 110 The Monitor
Brooklyn, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT