Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 477
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hellenic Classical Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted July 22, 2015
- a community member
My child spent elementary and middle school at HCCS. My child developed a condition from young which required an IEP, which went undetected till HS. These teachers are not equipped to spot test anxiety or any learning disability. If the child doesn't perform academically, these frustrated children are usually labeled as a troubled or worse ACS is wrongfully called.

Hellenic Classical Charter School 5

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
Our child's academics have went up dramatically from a public school. The staff is amazing you can speak to all teachers without a hassle. They address any concern you may have. It's a great feeling knowing your child is taken care of in a safe and healthy environment.


Hellenic Classical Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
Every homework assigned is from the work they have addressed in class that day. I could look at my child's notes for that day and understand how to help my child with his homework.

Hellenic Classical Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
Every teacher takes the time out to help students in all areas of need. If I feel like my child needs help, I reach out and the help is administered.

Hellenic Classical Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
students have great respect for their school and it shows. The students art work, school work and picture decorate all the walls and windows of the school.


Hellenic Classical Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
I transferred my son from a public school to Hellenic. Hellenic took the time to learn my son and help bring him to the level of greatness that he can achieve. My son loves going to school everyday and brags to his friends about the level of learning he is receiving for his grade level. You see and feel the compassion everyone has foe each other and it makes you want to pinch yourself to see if it is real.

Hellenic Classical Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
100% hands down Hellenic classical promotes honesty, integrity ans fairness. Each and every staff and student is held accountable for their actions. This is why they have succeeded for so many years and have had the ability to expand their build. Helping students reach their full potential is what they strive for and I see it in my own child.

Hellenic Classical Charter School 5

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
It is always welcoming when you are greeted by your name from staff member and administration. When you walk into the school you feel the love everyone has for each other. They welcome you with open arms and make you feel at ease when dropping off your children.


Hellenic Classical Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 12, 2015
- a parent
All the teacher set high expectations for all students to achieve greatness. They all push the students to their maximum ability and they never give up on the student.

Hellenic Classical Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 10, 2015
- a parent
Its acceptable. I like the reading and the research. They do not give too much HW.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hellenic Classical Charter School
646 5th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11215
(718) 499-0957
Last modified Hellenic Classical Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hellenic Classical Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. Top