Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Explore Charter School

Charter | K-8 | 498 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $341,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,230.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 31, 2014

Also replying to the person who had a recent phone interview... I agree with the previous responder. They will typically offer a salary nearly comparable to the DOE (sometimes a bit less), but you will be required to work much longer hours and more days. Your voice will not matter if you try to point out that something is not right in how children are being served. If you have no other job offers, at least make sure you ask for more than their first salary offer. There is money in the budget for this. (Years ago, there was a teacher rep on the board, and that person learned of those budget funds.) Last school year, four people from the support services team (out of six positions) resigned during the school year. The SS supervisor who was, in large part, responsible for those great teachers choosing to leave was promoted for this school year. While leadership is incompetent, you will adore the students. If you are an experienced, knowledgeable, and compassionate educator, you may feel frustrated with the school's values. They have at times hired first-year Teach for America (no experience or certification) teachers to serve Sp Ed kids, so they would be VERY lucky to have you!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 30, 2014

Replying to the most recent comment. Salaries vary widely. Seems the general pay structure goes something like this: hire loads of Teach for America and 1st year teachers and pay them very little (less than DOE when you account for required hours worked). Teachers with experience sometimes get paid a bit more than DOE but sometimes get paid the same. Leadership favorites get paid quite a bit. Leadership gets paid WAY too much. The money that they save hiring so many 1st year teachers is used to line the pockets of leadership. And kids with behavioral issues ARE academically challenged. They act out because 1) that's their nature and 2) kids aren't respected at that school. Students are expected to respond to robotic commands (Slant, Level 0, etc). Kids who reject that level of control are set off by this school. There are no behavioral expectation modifications for kids w/ ED, for instance. At this point in the year you might not have options and you might just have to take the job if offered, but if you have options, stay away. Far away. And be pleasant to leadership, never question them, and just play the game... then get out next year. Good luck. I too was a support specialist.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2014

I just had a phone interview with this school and was asked to come in to meet with a leadership team and walk them through a lesson. It is for an elementary learning specialist position..which is just another word for special education teacher. I am just curious about their special education program and what the average salary typically is. The comments that I have read for this past school year make me a little apprehensive about accepting a position. I have a lot of special education experience with a concentration in severely disabled. It was expressed to me during the interview that negative behavior occurs because that students are not being challenged enough. I was also curious about starting salary range. Any information would be greatly appreciated


Posted July 29, 2014

I taught at Explore for multiple years. It used to be a community of experienced and quality teachers, strong family involvement, decent to good leadership, with a strong curricular vision (especially in math), and trust. This past year, Explore's community lost all of these things. We had no principal, no PTA, and saw a mass exodus of the teaching staff. Many staff members were fired throughout the year and the large number that are not returning left for various reasons, among them a lack of quality leadership (they were bosses and not leaders), little to no space for teacher independence and creativity, the emergence of co-teaching with a large class size (30 students), and a philosophical misalignment with the recent "no-excuses" approach of the school. I know that families in the community need Explore to be the place that it once was. No, they need it to be better than it was at its best. I encourage Explore families to create a PTA and continue to voice their concerns with leadership.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 3, 2014

I worked at Explore during the 12-13 school year. I was directly out of grad school, fresh and eager to teach and make an impact on my students. The recruiters picked up on my passion for teaching and hired me. In fact, they were great at hiring great faculty who cared and wanted to grow as educators. Too bad they couldn't respect us. The "coaching" they deliver is demeaning and borders on workplace harassment. Any minute, you never know, they'll pop in your room and start typing away at their keyboard, later only to let you know everything you did wrong (according to their cultish rules that you are required to follow) and instruct you of your "next steps". Forget about wanting to develop into the teacher you want to be, full of your own idiosyncrasies, your own ideas, and your unique talents. Nope! Want to treat students as individuals? Nope, not allowed. And if you dare speak up, watch out...! Anyhow, I left the school when I discovered who my bosses would be the next year. They would follow the typically valued Explore person-in-charge prototype: inexperienced in both teaching and leadership and willing to act as a vehicle to deliver the head honcho's egotistical demands.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 8, 2014

I taught at Explore for seven years (left in 2012). It is simply NOT the amazing school it used to be. FIFTEEN teachers left during the most recent school year, many quitting, others fired for myriad reasons. This alone is a major red flag for any prospective teacher thinking about accepting a job here. The leadership is uneven: some wonderful and passionate about empowering teachers to do their best. Many have MINIMAL teaching experience themselves and have forgotten what's important for educators and for students. There is NO principal; they went the entire year without one. Proficient and exemplary people leave Explore in droves because they are forced to comply with unnecessary, time consuming tasks that stem from an administration that, at its core, doesn't trust them. There also is no PTA: very concerning. Explore is an organization that is buckling under the pressure from higher-ups to achieve at all costs, regardless of the developmental appropriateness of the curricula. Gifted educators have passed through its doors and have left disillusioned with the profession, never wanting to step in a classroom again. Think very hard before accepting a position at this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 12, 2013

Principle leadership should not be 5 stars especially there have not been a principle all school year. The school has changed principles 2 time while my child attends this school. This school has no direction, no leadership, not bad but needs improvement on their organization. I think the school could improve with better leadership, better teaching methods, reinforcement to the children having difficulty learning, tutoring programs as oppose to no one having time to provide extra. The children are not challenged much and it shows in each lower grade by the way they write (whether it is a story or just penmanship). This school was once great is slacking and needs improvement. Majority of the faculty cares though especially the ones in the office. I love the parental involvement and the children I have encountered are well mannered and seems eager to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2013

oh no, this place is horrible..the teachers are distant and cold..all they do is rush through lessons and eat pizza all day..there is no real focus or mission from anyone...DO NOTSEND YOUR CHILD HERE OR TO ANY RELATED SCHOOL..
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 6, 2012

Explore is not a good school anymore, since the move to M.S.2. My son is in the second grade and his class is crowded with 33 students and two "teachers." My son's academics have plumeted recently, and he's starting to have attention problems as well as frequent calls home for behavioral issues. I'm very dissapointed with the responses I receive whenever I inquire about my son's academics, as I feel staff are more concerned with negavtives such as talking in class or not paying attention. If his homework is not submitted, I have to bring it to his teachers' attention! I called his teachers as well as e-mailed them, three days before the start of the christmas break to report that he didn't receive a homework package. I didn't receive a call back until 4 days after he went back to school. I ended up buying him some workbooks to keep him busy. Safety is usually a priority, except for the time when my son "couldn't be found for 45 minutes!" He was later found in the bathroom. This incident happened a second time three weeks ago, for 30 minutes this time. I'm in the process of finding another school for him to attend for the 2012 - 2013 school year, because he's going to be left back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2010

should I try this school like seriously i am not sure any ideas at all


Posted February 8, 2010

Explore is an excellent school for students and parents. They do an amazing job at keeping parents well informed about the students' progress or the lack of it. The curriculum is challenging and engaging. On top of the academics, the school is well organized, and the children are learning in a safe and disciplined environment. Thank you Explore Community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2008

This is a really good school for students that love to learn and work at what there doing.It's also good for high school prep.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2007

I must say Explore Charter School is very informative for children and parents. I am very satisfied with the academic program as well as the progress I've seen in my son since he began in 20004. I would highly recommend Explore to anyone in search of a great school. Satisfied Mom :)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
30%

2013

 
 
16%

2012

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
19%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

59 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
63%

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
87%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
18%

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

60 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
66%

2013

 
 
25%

2012

 
 
82%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
12%

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

57 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
37%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

54 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 94% 19%
Hispanic 2 6% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 0% 9%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
White 1 0% 48%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Limited English proficient 2%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 72%N/A43%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 23%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 0%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
Fax number
  • (718) 703-8550

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

655 Parkside Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11226
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 703-4484

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 141
Brooklyn, NY







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT