Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Knowledge And Power Prep Academy V

Public | 6-8 | 246 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2011

Overall I must say that the teachers at this school are amazing and truely care about the success of the students. That being said, I think otherwise about the person who was principal in the spring of 2006. I was hired as a special education teacher right out of college and this school was such a horrible experience that I thought about leaving the teaching profession altogether. The principal never supported my authority in the classroom and would even criticize me in front of the students. He would manhandle the students when they misbehaved. He allowed parents to come in my classroom and slap their kids in front of the class. The kids were completely out of hand and instead of following up with detentions, suspensions, something, he would simply tell me to call their parents over and over which did absolutely nothing. I think the school was great for students in general education classes, but the principal did not have the same expectations of the students in special education. I now teach in PA and LOVE IT! My administrators are amazing and supporttive. I'm glad my experience at this violent, high stress school did not ruin it for me.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 14, 2010

I love teaching at my school. We have great teachers willing to listen and help students achieve academic success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

This school at the beginning of my daughter's middle school experience was great. Then the princpal changed and it has been a struggle to get to that same point again. Now in 8th grade, I wish any parent luck when appling their child in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2009

This school is the best I have ever gone 2. Every1 is nice and the school is also really fun. I never want to leave
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 24, 2009

well i acully love kappa v it is a good schhol that love the kids and good decilpine
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2009

this school gave me a good experience and i still miss this school when Mr. Shepard was there because he was the best principle you could have ever asked for but now that hes gone i don't care because they took away the best thing from the school and it was my principal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2009

I go to this school and thiz is the best school i ever been to and the teachers care about you a lot and will not let anything happen to you
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2008

it opens a varity of oppertunities for kids like me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2008

I just had to right a review for the best middle school out there. Kappa V, has it all. The teacher care so much about you and can talk with you with a level where you and the teacher see eye to eye. The classes are fun, and i have not once fallen asleep in class (unlike now), Principle Shepard is Fun and strict, and keeps all of the students litteraly in line, i have learned to live with uniform for three years. I graduated in '07 with over a 97 average and I had fun doing it. The students there now should appreciate a good thing while they have it because high school is not easy. I loved this school and the staff and students showed me the greatest years of my life so far. Kappa has a very bright future indeed!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2007

The school has great potential. Mr. Shepherd is a great person but spends entirely too much time talking and not enough doing. The academics are the tops. The teachers are awesome. Parent participation is required but that could use a shot in the arm. There's a great pc and it looks as if the new pta president is in it to win it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2007

Im a student at Kappa and i just entered. these people are completely honest and they don't lie when they say that Kappa is a dicsipline school. Everything is taken seriously and I am definetly safer in this school that I ever was in any other school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2007

KAPPA V is a medeorcare school. Inside the school is a safe in enviorment but outside its not. The students are okay most of the time. The teachers really care about there students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2007

My name is Rachel, I am a proud graduate from Class '07 of kappa V. My experience in Kappa V was different than any other experience that I had in my previous school. This school has great teachers. Trust me they may be tough but they're doing it for a purpose, you know for us to excel, and Im proud to say that I have passed my tests with flying colors. Thanks to my teachers. I want to thank Commandant Shepherd and A.P Simpson for helping us make it through the school year and making us feel responsible for our actions.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2007

Kappa V is a good school i am a student at kappa sometimes it is hard to be ther but most time it is fun to be the party's are fun ,we have peprally when it is time for big test so that be can do good mrs.shepard is nice but sometime mean but i kknow that he just wont the best for us so that we can do good he always say that he wont us to go to collage and be the best that we can be we have a memo'Lead or get out of the way there is not excuse for your success you can do it' that is a good memo and i believe in it and hope that mare school's can do wat we do and even more better
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 18, 2006

This school is mas strict.Kappa has a safe environment,the teachers are nice(sometimes),the uniform is okay and the fundraises are fun! Kappa V is what's poppin'
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2006

My son have just started this school. So far the school have a wide range of after school activities provided by different groups/programs. The school also offers some great programs and classes like foreign language, music and great science classes. The school have a uniform policy which is ok. I see great things for this school if it doesn't fall behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
28%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students19%
Female15%
Male24%
African American19%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged15%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population20%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant19%

Math

All Students22%
Female15%
Male29%
African American23%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population24%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant22%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students17%
Female10%
Male24%
African American19%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population18%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English17%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant17%

Math

All Students10%
Female15%
Male5%
African American9%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged12%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population11%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English10%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant10%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

All Students19%
Female29%
Male12%
African American20%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged19%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population24%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant19%

Math

All Students4%
Female4%
Male3%
African American2%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged4%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities0%
General population4%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant4%

Science

All Students29%
Female36%
Male24%
African American29%
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities8%
General population35%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

In 2009-2010, this school was given a grade of "C" for the middle school level.

About the tests


Progress Report Grades measure the school's contribution to student learning in three areas: School Environment, Student Performance and Student Progress. Schools can receive additional credit for achieving exemplary performance progress among high-needs students. Progress Report Grades range from A to F.

Source: New York City Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 88% 19%
Hispanic 1 11% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
White 1 0% 48%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 22%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 287%N/A43%
Source: 1 NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 0%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 50%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 463 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.5
out of 10
 
City average
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.4
 

Students

This school

 
6.8
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
8.0
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.2
out of 10
 
City average
8.1
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.4
 

City average

 
8.5
 

Students

This school

 
7.9
 

City average

 
7.8
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
7.8
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
7.7
out of 10
 
City average
7.8
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Students

This school

 
7.2
 

City average

 
7.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
7.6
 

City average

 
7.8
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.1
out of 10
 
City average
8.2
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.1
 

City average

 
8.3
 

Students

This school

 
8.3
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 

City average

 
8.1
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents222100%
Students225100%
Teachers1684%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MR. THOMAS MULLINS

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

985 Rockaway Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11212
Phone: (718) 922-4690

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 140
Brooklyn, NY


Ps 165 Ida Posner
Brooklyn, NY


Ps 41 Francis White
Brooklyn, NY


Ps 184 Newport
Brooklyn, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT