Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Brooklyn, NY
Students enrolled: 233
 

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Knowledge And Power Prep Academy V 4

Posted October 19, 2014
- a community member
This school is a very successful school in performance and academics. This school term 2014-2015 the school is facing a serious situation. The enrollment has dropped drastically because of the co-location charter school in the building. The Principal has a very good relationship with the PTA and PAC Board Members. They work in collaboration to make things successful for the students in the school. The teachers work very hard with the students and parents. They reach out to the parents and have one on one meetings to discuss students assessments. The classroom size is not overcrowded.

Knowledge And Power Prep Academy V 2

Posted April 24, 2011
- a teacher
Overall I must say that the teachers at this school are amazing and truely care about the success of the students. That being said, I think otherwise about the person who was principal in the spring of 2006. I was hired as a special education teacher right out of college and this school was such a horrible experience that I thought about leaving the teaching profession altogether. The principal never supported my authority in the classroom and would even criticize me in front of the students. He would manhandle the students when they misbehaved. He allowed parents to come in my classroom and slap their kids in front of the class. The kids were completely out of hand and instead of following up with detentions, suspensions, something, he would simply tell me to call their parents over and over which did absolutely nothing. I think the school was great for students in general education classes, but the principal did not have the same expectations of the students in special education. I now teach in PA and LOVE IT! My administrators are amazing and supporttive. I'm glad my experience at this violent, high stress school did not ruin it for me.


Knowledge And Power Prep Academy V
no rating

Posted May 14, 2010
- a parent
I love teaching at my school. We have great teachers willing to listen and help students achieve academic success.

Knowledge And Power Prep Academy V 2

Posted February 08, 2010
- a parent
This school at the beginning of my daughter's middle school experience was great. Then the princpal changed and it has been a struggle to get to that same point again. Now in 8th grade, I wish any parent luck when appling their child in.

Knowledge And Power Prep Academy V
no rating

Posted October 30, 2009
- a student
This school is the best I have ever gone 2. Every1 is nice and the school is also really fun. I never want to leave


Knowledge And Power Prep Academy V
no rating

Posted July 24, 2009
- a student
well i acully love kappa v it is a good schhol that love the kids and good decilpine

Knowledge And Power Prep Academy V 3

Posted March 30, 2009
- a student
this school gave me a good experience and i still miss this school when Mr. Shepard was there because he was the best principle you could have ever asked for but now that hes gone i don't care because they took away the best thing from the school and it was my principal.

Knowledge And Power Prep Academy V 5

Posted March 13, 2009
- a student
I go to this school and thiz is the best school i ever been to and the teachers care about you a lot and will not let anything happen to you


Knowledge And Power Prep Academy V 5

Posted August 28, 2008
- a student
it opens a varity of oppertunities for kids like me.

Knowledge And Power Prep Academy V 5

Posted January 02, 2008
- a student
I just had to right a review for the best middle school out there. Kappa V, has it all. The teacher care so much about you and can talk with you with a level where you and the teacher see eye to eye. The classes are fun, and i have not once fallen asleep in class (unlike now), Principle Shepard is Fun and strict, and keeps all of the students litteraly in line, i have learned to live with uniform for three years. I graduated in '07 with over a 97 average and I had fun doing it. The students there now should appreciate a good thing while they have it because high school is not easy. I loved this school and the staff and students showed me the greatest years of my life so far. Kappa has a very bright future indeed!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Knowledge And Power Prep Academy V
985 Rockaway Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11212
(718) 922-4690
Last modified Knowledge And Power Prep Academy V is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Knowledge And Power Prep Academy V Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top