Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
18 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Urban Assembly Academy Of Arts And Letters 5

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
This is my daughter 3rd year and last in this school. She loves it, the teachers are great. She grew in all aspects academically and personally. She don't want to leave the school but there's new adventure waiting for her in her new High School, Stuyvesant.

Urban Assembly Academy Of Arts And Letters
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 29, 2016
- a parent
I would like to thanks Mr. Fischler for being her advisor and always being there when she needs it.


Urban Assembly Academy Of Arts And Letters
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted July 14, 2015
- a parent
I would like to help develop reading with school giving him homework rather than it be driven by parents

Urban Assembly Academy Of Arts And Letters
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted July 14, 2015
- a parent
Sons learning about wildlife and environment made him very focussed on being compassionate and caring . Also focus on sharing has made him much more sensitive to his sister and brother.

Urban Assembly Academy Of Arts And Letters 5

Posted July 14, 2015
- a parent
Community orientated school with a real focus on learning experience for kids . Son loves it


Urban Assembly Academy Of Arts And Letters 3

Posted April 23, 2015
- a parent
My child has been here for 4 years starting in 1grade. It was great until the new principal and others in charge now took over last year and took hardline stand against common core curriculum along with his asst. The effect has been inadequate learning on the basics. I'm disappointed and will tutor my child to be able to succeed in scoring high enough to get a better middle school.

Urban Assembly Academy Of Arts And Letters 5

Posted October 09, 2014
- a community member
Awesome! We have fun learning and we have lots of resources available. This is my 1st year here & I already know I'm going to love this year. They have bake sales, fundraisers and after school programs. Not a lot of homework because our assignments are long-term.

Urban Assembly Academy Of Arts And Letters 5

Posted February 07, 2014
- a community member
This is the best middle school ever!!!! I am in the 6th grade and I love my school, teachers, friends and I'm happy I was chosen for one of the 55 seats to go here. This was my 2nd choice school but it should have been my 1st. This was my parents 1st choice and I'm glad I'm here. I've learned so much and this is my first year. My favorite subjects are Math, Science and Humanities and I love having regular gym classes, drama and art. I have awesome friends and wouldn't want to attend any other school.


Urban Assembly Academy Of Arts And Letters 5

Posted January 12, 2014
- a parent
This is our daughter's first year attending middle school and we love it!! The teacher's are excellent, the curriculum is appropriately challenging and the teachers avail themselves for extra student assistance. Our daughter FINALLY understands and enjoys math and science thanks to Ms. Steiner and the Humanities teacher Ms. Visich is amazing!! There are more wonderful teachers but I wanted to highlight non arts related teachers. Our daughter has always been excited about learning but now she's sad if she can't go to school due to having a cold. The Principal recognizes children by name and is doing an absolutely wonderful job. Best decision ever!!

Urban Assembly Academy Of Arts And Letters 5

Posted April 15, 2013
- a parent
my daughter has been at Arts and Letters for 2 years now and she is thriving. her teachers are amazing - smart, loving, inspiring - she loves going to school everyday. the administration works closely with the teachers to create a unified cohesive school where children are known and heard.

Nearby schools

Urban Assembly Academy Of Arts And Letters
225 Adelphi Street, Brooklyn, NY  11205
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (718) 222-1605
Last modified Urban Assembly Academy Of Arts And Letters is a Public school that serves grades K-4, 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top