Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Achievement First Endeavor Charter School 4

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
My child attends Acheivement First.. Her enrollment was the best thing that could have happened ... The staff is very involved and concerned and the principal knows every child by first name basis!! When my child entered Acheivement first she was below her grade level the teachers worked with her closely gave her the confidence she lost in public school. It is one of the best Charter schools in the area.

Achievement First Endeavor Charter School 1

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
I would not recommend this Charter School to any parent. My son is very bright. He was on honor roll from the time he went to this school to the time he left this school, but it had nothing to do with this school. He had always loved school and because I am such a disciplinary parent he maintained his grade average at all times, but going to this school he got major headaches. I was told at one point that the school was going to remake my son. I DID NOT GIVE THEM ANYTHING BROKEN. I gave them a well laid foundation that they just had to build upon. But these high school acting teachers keep punishing him, putting him in detention, suspension, and extension and keeping him out of class were he could not learn the instructions of the school day due to these vindictive "teachers." If you or your child are self-thinkers or self-motivators, this school is not for you because knowing right from wrong only gets them punished more especially boys. Have you ever asked yourself why year after year teachers are leaving and being replaced by more incompetent teachers who over plan the curriculum but could never get it finished to the point where 8th grader could not take regents this year?SHAME


Achievement First Endeavor Charter School 5

Posted July 25, 2014
- a parent
It's a great school with dedicated teachers and staff.... Only parents complaining are those who can't discipline their own kids and get upset when teachers have to..
1 person found this helpful

Achievement First Endeavor Charter School 5

Posted June 29, 2014
- a community member
Let me start by saying, "I love this school". The teachers and administration are excellent. They constantly provide feedback and support that makes it easy for us to help improve our children's work. While my 7th grader seems to prefer detention more than coming home after school, educationally he is doing quite well. His understanding of math and science concepts is on a higher level than his actual grade. His reading needs improvement but If I can get him to enjoy reading, I believe his grades in Social Studies will improve. Don't get me wrong, he has an 83 average, but I would like it to be higher. My 1st grader is excelling in all areas and she truly enjoys going to school each and every day. She will dress herself for school even when she is too sick to attend. She is upset that she can't go to school during the summer. Thank goodness they gave her enough work to do over the vacation and she has her classmates address and will write them all summer long. I love this school.

Achievement First Endeavor Charter School 1

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
Take note of this advise this school it is one of the worse charter school all they care about is punishing young black students for the slightest little infringement that is normal for them to make at this age .... The kids spend 8hours in a room they call the ISS room on punishment were they are not thought the lesson of the day ..... and if they do bring them they work said teachers do not collect and mark they work in the grade book so many kids are failing their grades due to so much punishment and all the teacher tells you is that they're not doing their work which is a lie. What they are not telling you is that your child has been single out by these teachers to be punished to be chastised to be Demean to be bullied till your child feel like they are criminals on the street..... And talking about Criminal on the street your child will be put in detention for 4 hours on Friday And Saturday with teachers walking up and down the aisles monitoring them And given out more referrals in detention for more detention ......parents not even you can sit for .....4hours this is mental and physical abuse that theyre doing to our kids


Achievement First Endeavor Charter School 1

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
This school is not an effective place for learning. It refers students for simple little things and keeps them out of class so that students do not get the lesson for the day, leading to failing grades.Also, the children do not have a voice in this school even though this school claims that they do, and when some students try to use this voice, it is then that these students are retaliated against and given consequences.

Achievement First Endeavor Charter School 1

Posted September 10, 2013
- a teacher
This school is a wretched place to teach and to learn. The kids hate it. The new principal only seems to care about test results. Staff turnover is high. Old reviews boost the rating.

Achievement First Endeavor Charter School 1

Posted January 31, 2010
- a parent
It should be noted that reviews listed from 2009 and before were based on a completely different school model than what they are using now. Also, the principal was changed when the system was changed; as was done for each of the AF locations that instituted this new 'behaviour modification model' The woman who spoke of a few strict teachers, well let's just say they decided to go with their theology on classroom mgmt it seems. My student is a highest honor student and has never served they're very easy to earn detention, but he is still affected by the penal environment... walking hunched over in fear of 'messing up' he became a basket case that spent so much emotional energy trying to 'be right' all day at school that when he came home his brain just shut off- he was a basket case.


Achievement First Endeavor Charter School 4

Posted April 01, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Achievement First Endeavor Charter School 0
no rating

Posted February 24, 2009
- a parent
I am so impress and inspired by this school, I went and get my GED.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Achievement First Endeavor Charter School
510 Waverly Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11238
(718) 622-4786
Last modified Achievement First Endeavor Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-3, 5-12
Achievement First Endeavor Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top