Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Achievement First Bushwick Charter School

Charter | K-9 | 788 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Brooklyn

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $278,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,240.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 8, 2013

I have my own issues with AFBES, but I will definitely say that when it comes to education and trying to get the students ontrack...they take great pride in it. I do not agree with all their policies and or procedures however my daughter has definitely received an excellent education here and I can not imagine removing her from under the Achievement First umbrella.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2012

2011/2012 academic year has been the worst experience . This school force children to attend Saturday academy after school hours and extra tutoring to take the state exam and at the end of the school year they left back many third grader because they did not reach the academic level and told parents that the state test was not taking into consideration then if they still were failing children why push them to do all this work . They pressure these poor children just because teachers wanted to keep their jobs not because they really care for the children's education . My doughter cry when she found out she felt I told her it was not her fault because I saw how hard she work all these months.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2011

I have a child in third grade. Her academic performance is on par with my great expectations. All or most of the children at AFBES fare well in all areas. The true concern is moving forward to Middle School, any of them. We can not ignore the countless number of families fleeing this charter because of the new, erroneously pervasive insistence of character and moral education emphasis mandated once in Middle school - acting as if they are entering a reform school. I believe the teachers to be stellar in elementary school level. I have few if any complaints that weren't addressed or corrected. The staff from the office are pleasant, the principal greets every child by name and the school culture is "family". The PLC could be a powerhouse if they organized their efforts like getting employee matched donations, ice cream socials and dual language insistence to meet the needs of the community and future based earnings criteria. My biggest issue would be the unpreparedness or unwillingness of the two schools to meet and connect to make for a smooth transition. Its as if they - the corporation) want our children to support their product (charter school) so it can be sold to NYC
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

I'm so happy on my choice to move my daughter from catholic school ! she has always been a good student, but AFBC is just putting the "icing on the cake". In a matter of months her math skills have grown so much. There are some areas they can improve but overall my daughter and I are very happy . Thank You AFBC keep up the good job
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

Achievent First, is an excellent school and proud to have chosen this school for my child. My child comes home every day so happy about what he learned. Is an excellent choice of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

This school is always putting kids first - no matter what, the goal is for students to be successful academically and socially. I'm proud to work with the amazing teachers and families of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

AF is making amazing changes in Education! Well Done!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Teachers affirm excellence, commitment, self-esteem, patriotism and respect for others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2010

the teachers are committed to excellence and strive for achievement!


Posted April 20, 2010

Excellent Teachers, curriculum and organization. Looking forward to sending my grand children to AFBCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

The dedication by all team members is shown in every positive phone call, every 6:30am arrival, every parent meeting, every smile, and every handshake.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2010

Beacuase it is filled withmotivated teachers, paretns, and students...all working towards the same goal...getting the students to college.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2010

Our school is unlike most others. With a committment to excellence, joy, and hard work, our scholars, teachers, and staff cannot wait to come to school. We constantly work towards the ambitious goal to send our scholars to college and subsequently be leaders in their communities.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2010

Everyone- the teachers, the parents, the students, the staff- works together to make sure our school is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Is a wonderful school. My daughter loves go to school now since is in AFBMS. the teachers communication with the parents is great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

The dedication I see on a daily basis to our collective mission and shared values has not only inspired me to be a better instructor of math, but a better father to my sons and a better husband to my wife.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2010

AF Bushwick has a strong core of teachers that care about making a change in the community. Vote to keep this group of caring individuals together. 'Many Minds- One Mission
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

The teachers are so dedicated. They work long hours and yet have high energy everyday. The school is clean and bright. I love the focus on college. Every classroom is named after the school from which one of its teachers graduated. The students appear to be joyful while also very dedicated to their work. I think it would be a great place to work or go to school.


Posted April 16, 2010

Bushwick has committed bilingual teachers who make a difference each day in the lives of their students. I know that many of the Bushwick teachers often dedicate their free time to working with their students, even taking them to movies on the weekend to reward them for hard work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

The studenst are challenging and the teachers are great, up to the challenge of meeting the students' needs


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
47%

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
35%

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

83 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

95 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
24%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

89 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
100%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

87 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
42%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
46%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 54% 19%
Hispanic 2 45% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 0% 9%
Two or more races 2 0% 1%
White 1 0% 48%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Limited English proficient 27%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 180%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 22%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 9%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
The NYC Department of Education asked parents, teachers and students about their school's learning environment. Results provide insight into school climate, such as whether the school is academically rigorous, safe, communicative and collaborative. Learn more

The information captured by the survey is designed to support a dialogue among all members of the school community about how to make the school a better place to learn. An overall category score is calculated for each respondent group (parents, teachers, or students) by averaging the scores of the questions within that survey category.

Category scores for each of the respondent groups are then combined to form overall category scores. Alongside the results for each school are the aggregated results across all NYC public schools, which are provided as a basis for comparisons.

Learn more about the NYC DOE survey »Close
Based on 624 responses

This school provides ... 1

A safe and respectful environmentWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school creates a physically and emotionally secure environment in which everyone can focus on student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.5
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.9
 

Students

This school

 
8.0
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.7
 
Clear, useful communication about educational goalsWhat's this?

This score measures whether parents, students and teachers feel that the school provides information about the school's educational goals and offers appropriate feedback on each student's learning outcome.

Close
 
This school
8.3
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

Students

This school

 
7.5
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.4
 
Strong parent, teacher and student engagementWhat's this?

This score measures how engaged parents, students and teachers feel they are in an active and vibrant partnership to promote student learning.

Close
 
This school
8.0
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
8.7
 

Students

This school

 
7.4
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.0
 
High academic expectations for all studentsWhat's this?

This score measures how well parents, students and teachers feel that the school develops rigorous and meaningful academic goals that encourage students to do their best.

Close
 
This school
8.6
out of 10
 

Parents

This school

 
9.0
 

Students

This school

 
8.2
 

Teachers

This school

 
8.6
 

Based on surveys from:

 RespondentsResponse rate
Parents36957%
Students21986%
Teachers3653%

12012-2013 New York City Department of Education School Survey

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. STACEY PARK
Fax number
  • (718) 453-0428

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1300 Greene Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11207
Website: Click here
Phone: (718) 443-1213

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ps 376
Brooklyn, NY



Ps 86 The Irvington
Brooklyn, NY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT