Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 36 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Achievement First Bushwick Charter School 5

Posted November 13, 2015
- a community member
I have read some pretty ignorant comments on here. If you are going to write a review and have an opinion about AFBES, then at least learn to spell properly to substantiate your claim. I have 2 kids in this school and I have nothing but good things to say. Yes there are some annoyances but every school does. Not anything that would make me view AFBES in a negative light. Someone on here was complaining about Saturday Academy. Big deal!!! At least AFBES provides the resource to improve your child's educational needs. Maybe you should focus more on doing home work and reading with your child so they wouldn't have to go to Saturday Academy. Take some responsibility! All in all, I highly recommend this school. It is probably one of the best, if not the best charter schools in the area.

Achievement First Bushwick Charter School 1

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
Stacey Park is an incompentant and unprofessional individual. She is running this school into the ground and clearly doesn't care about children. Her huge attitude problem displays this. 30% proficient in reading in 2012-2013... Wow! How does she still have a job?! Stay away from this jail that calls itself a "school."


Achievement First Bushwick Charter School 4

Posted January 08, 2013
- a parent
I have my own issues with AFBES, but I will definitely say that when it comes to education and trying to get the students ontrack...they take great pride in it. I do not agree with all their policies and or procedures however my daughter has definitely received an excellent education here and I can not imagine removing her from under the Achievement First umbrella.

Achievement First Bushwick Charter School 1

Posted June 30, 2012
- a parent
2011/2012 academic year has been the worst experience . This school force children to attend Saturday academy after school hours and extra tutoring to take the state exam and at the end of the school year they left back many third grader because they did not reach the academic level and told parents that the state test was not taking into consideration then if they still were failing children why push them to do all this work . They pressure these poor children just because teachers wanted to keep their jobs not because they really care for the children's education . My doughter cry when she found out she felt I told her it was not her fault because I saw how hard she work all these months.

Achievement First Bushwick Charter School 5

Posted April 28, 2011
- a parent
I have a child in third grade. Her academic performance is on par with my great expectations. All or most of the children at AFBES fare well in all areas. The true concern is moving forward to Middle School, any of them. We can not ignore the countless number of families fleeing this charter because of the new, erroneously pervasive insistence of character and moral education emphasis mandated once in Middle school - acting as if they are entering a reform school. I believe the teachers to be stellar in elementary school level. I have few if any complaints that weren't addressed or corrected. The staff from the office are pleasant, the principal greets every child by name and the school culture is "family". The PLC could be a powerhouse if they organized their efforts like getting employee matched donations, ice cream socials and dual language insistence to meet the needs of the community and future based earnings criteria. My biggest issue would be the unpreparedness or unwillingness of the two schools to meet and connect to make for a smooth transition. Its as if they - the corporation) want our children to support their product (charter school) so it can be sold to NYC


Achievement First Bushwick Charter School 4

Posted March 16, 2011
- a parent
I'm so happy on my choice to move my daughter from catholic school ! she has always been a good student, but AFBC is just putting the "icing on the cake". In a matter of months her math skills have grown so much. There are some areas they can improve but overall my daughter and I are very happy . Thank You AFBC keep up the good job

Achievement First Bushwick Charter School
no rating

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
Achievent First, is an excellent school and proud to have chosen this school for my child. My child comes home every day so happy about what he learned. Is an excellent choice of school.

Achievement First Bushwick Charter School
no rating

Posted April 25, 2010
- a parent
This school is always putting kids first - no matter what, the goal is for students to be successful academically and socially. I'm proud to work with the amazing teachers and families of this school.


Achievement First Bushwick Charter School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
AF is making amazing changes in Education! Well Done!

Achievement First Bushwick Charter School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Teachers affirm excellence, commitment, self-esteem, patriotism and respect for others.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Achievement First Bushwick Charter School
1300 Greene Avenue, Brooklyn, NY  11237
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. (347) 471-2550
Last modified Achievement First Bushwick Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top