Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted July 31, 2013
- a parent
When deciding where to buy our home, I told my husband it had to be in the Hoover district. The principle is fantastic, and very caring. The staff is also very caring and takes the time to help children with disabilities and they do not push them aside. My 20 yr old went to Hoover and my 8 yr old who has ADHD also goes there. My son has never been been labeled and the teachers will help when issues arise. Kudos to the Hoover elem. teachers. They are the best!

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 1

Posted December 14, 2012
- a community member
The principal is the weak link at this school. She likes administrative chores but she's not really into children. Why are we taxpayers paying her more than $140,000 (according to See Through NY) + benefits when Hoover ranks just 93rd in WNY, according to "Business First's" annual rankings?


Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted February 24, 2012
- a community member
I went this school in the late 1950's and remember it as a wonderful experience. After leaving the area to move to California, I missed my classmates, teachers, and the excellent education I received. It appears the school is still an excellent place for parent's to send their children. Thanks for all the great memories.

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2011
- a parent
My child really enjoyed the pre school program! we will be sending our child here for elementary!

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted May 13, 2011
- a parent
Herbert Hoover Elementary is an excellent school. My daughter has been attending this school for three years now and I am very impressed with the level of Excellence that is continually maintained at this school. The Principal is an extremely caring individual who is very approachable and always available to assist the parents and children in any way she can. The teachers are of the highest quality and really invest their time and energy to providing a wonderful learning environment for the students. My daughter loves attending Hoover Elementary and has benefited from all the great programs (i.e. Gifted and Talented), as well as all the activities/events that the school offers (author visits, family reading night, math night, parent/child art night, concerts, art shows, etc.). It is with my highest recommendation that I recommend Herbert Hoover Elementary School.


Herbert Hoover Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Great teachers, great programs. My boys loved it!

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2010
- a community member
As Principal of this excellent school, I am saddened by the first review shown..as it is a personal attack.. and, if you read all the other reviews, it is obviously not true. I understand that anyone can write what they feel, and they should.. and I will try to be more cognizant of why a parent feels I am in my office all the time..even thought I feel I am not, unless I am meeting with people , talking with children, on the phone ,or doing reports..My main concern is that those fine parents reading this info please read past the first review, and read all the GREAT reviews of our school..

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 1

Posted April 11, 2010
- a parent
The principal sits in her office all the time, when she is there, and doesn't like to be bothered with parents or kids.


Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted February 20, 2009
- a parent
We moved to this area in December08, so my son had to make that hard transition in the middle of the school year..which worried me. I just want to say, the staff at this school made my son feel more then welcome right from the start, as well as his classmates. The principal is also just wonderful. I feel most confident now that my son's educational needs will be met to the fullest degree. He is very happy & has adjusted well, so thank you Hoover staff! You guys are great.

Herbert Hoover Elementary School 5

Posted December 29, 2008
- a parent
My family had recently moved this summer and were told Hoover would be the school my kids would be attending. My daughter is in 5th and my son is in 1st. We didn't know how it would compare to Roosevelt Elementary where they had gone before. We were pleasantly surprised for sure. My kids are doing fantastic at this school and their grades couldn't be better. Not to mention the pride these teachers have. All of the staff including the principal really take pride in their work and make it fun for the kids. The kids are also very secure in this school and the activities are beyond my belief. What a difference between their previous school and Hoover. I am glad we made the move as well as my kids! I would recommend this school to anyone!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Herbert Hoover Elementary School
199 Thorncliff Road, Buffalo, NY  14223
(716) 874-8414
Last modified Herbert Hoover Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Herbert Hoover Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top