Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Truman Elementary School 2

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
Children are naturally more creative as they explore the world them. However I feel like they're creativity is butchered until they're teen years where they start to explore who they are which is bad for they're development. For a school who's motto is "Future's begin here" I think thy could do a much better job at preparing these young children for the big world.

Truman Elementary School
Grateful to: Student

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
Rifeq Omar for being a good sport. He was also so understand, so kind so warm and treated me like a real brother


Truman Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
You don't feel like they're to actually teach. People are not to think only of themselves and then we find later in life these students think of these students different or even exclude them because they think everyone is like them

Truman Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
It's not so much the homework it's what they're learning in class. These children are not skilled enough that when a person comes from another school and they know more and they're piers find that they're not as brilliant as them could cause all sorts of dilemma for these children

Truman Elementary School
Develops grit: Neutral

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
I feel like these children need to be taught to work together not just everyone of on his own


Truman Elementary School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
Not really. If a certain student doesn't fit in with the other students you'll find all others picking on him and teacher's don't do anything about it and sometimes it will feel as if the teacher's are trying to make the students more upset to the student and I don't know why they don't have anyone they could talk to but I think teachers should put their students before them

Truman Elementary School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
I feel the good thing about this school is that it let's students think for themselves however that could be enveloped as selfishness, ignorance and irresponsibility in he future. Where one student will get picked on and other students will find because they're not as brilliant as the other student try to bog him down as well which is unfair to both the teachers and the students. Shouldn't everyone receive the same level of education and shouldn't the teacher's know how to handle "people who only think for themselves" which is most of what these students grow up to be and most of them grow up to be. Either that or they'll try to tell everyone how you're different in order to take better control of you which is disgusting, sad and repulsive in a public school system. While I understand these teacher's may have busy lives it doesn't give them the right to punish those children because they don't know what they're going through. It should be more fair not let's just shape these students to whatever we want them to be.

Truman Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 16, 2015
- a community member
If you are different as in more creative then most students you will find that you are always by yourself. My experience here was a nightmare....you don't feel like most people care about you. Let them use their imagination and when I say imagination don't mean as in "color inside" the lines but as in let them be free what they're hearts want to design. Some of these children come from households we're they're parents are not really aware of what's going on in their world especially if you're foreign, your parents are from another country or you are coming from a different school.


Truman Elementary School 1

Posted September 09, 2014
- a parent
Truman elementary is by far the worst else marry school I have ever encountered in my life there is a woman who works in the office who is very nasty and rude we just moved here and they refused to let me walk my 5 year old daughter into school and the first day every though she had no idea where she was going or who anyone was they had a big police officer at the door not allowing any parent past the door like it was a correctional facility so basically I had to let my 5 year old figure it out I was absolutely furious the principal has yet to return a call after weeks of messages I've left her regarding our situation and yesterday was the topping on the cake when my 4 year old who's in pre-k didn't get home until 5:30pm her drop off time was 3:40 so I'm so lost as to why it would ever take so long it could circle Lackawanna 10 times in that time and so when I called the rude woman in the office told me to contact the bus company as if my 4 year old was absolutely no concern I was seconds from calling the police I am furious absolutely disgusted I highly advise anybody to second think this school it is no place for small children they aren't friendly or caring!!!

Truman Elementary School 3

Posted June 04, 2014
- a parent
Most teachers are excellent but there are a few who should no longer be teaching. Positive experiences with the principal as well as other staff members. Security is a bit lacking overall.

Nearby schools

Truman Elementary School
15 Inner Drive, Buffalo, NY  14218
(716) 827-6741
Last modified Truman Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-1
Top