Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Buffalo Academy for the Visual & Performing Arts

Public | 5-12 | 830 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 27, 2013

iI love this school ever since i got there I've felt so good about myself i am so much more confident and i feel so much more dedicated to my instrument and my art then i would have ever been at any other school.


Posted November 11, 2009

The best local theatre in the area. When you're leaving a production, you have a 'those just COULDN'T have been high schoolers' feeling. Simply amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2009

This school has taught me so much. It has such a friendly atmosphere. I love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2009

I feel like it's a good community for my child to grow up in. Lots of the info on this site is wrong. I don't understand why t only has a 4 out of 10. It's got incredible reviews in the newspaper, and everyone I know that went to the school is smart and kind. An amazing school. Don't pay attention to the greatschools rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2009

i go to BAVPA and am in 8th grade this year. i wouldn't ever change schools. the people there are so understanding, and accepting of everybody. the teachers are really nice to me and pay attention to my individual needs. and of course, the theatre is amazing to perform in, i feel like i'm in Broadway. its an amazing school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2009

My child is a 8th grade student at BAVPA. She's been to seven different schools over the past two years, and bavpa is by far the best school. Everyone is accepting and kind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

Yes, you may not have as good academics as city honors at bavpa, but the people at arts are so much friendlier, and the arts program is so fantastic, that it makes up for the lack of IB classes. I honestly think that we made the right choice between city honors and performing arts for my son. He got accepted to both. His brother currently attends city honors, and he should be getting a letter in the mail soon from bavpa, letting him know if he got accepted. The school is incredible. Everyone there is like a part of a big huge family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

Best school in buffalo. The whole place is like a big family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2005

My child is in 7th grade at BAVPA and has always been on the honor roll. This year, however, a great many of the 7th graders, my child included, are struggling desperately with math, and the teacher seems unable to do anything about it. In addition, the principal stresses the children be given more homework to bring up school test scores, but if they don't understand what's going on, how does he think that will improve test scores. My impression is that some of the teachers either don't have the time or just don't care about our children. Phone calls are not returned, and neither is email.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2004

I go to BAVPA, and I think this is a very good school. I think the decipline is excellent, and the academics are outstanding. The staff is very nice, and understanding. You couldn't ask for a better school. You would think because its grades 5 through 12 there would be problems, involving the students. There are very few if any at all. I wouldn't change school's for the world.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 30% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 31% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 31% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 28% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
10%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 34% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 27% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
8%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2011.

99 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 64% in 2012.

157 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
5%

2011

 
 
9%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 78% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
28%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 73% in 2012.

141 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%
English

The state average for English was 82% in 2012.

122 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
79%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 75% in 2012.

211 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
19%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2012.

164 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
68%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 72% in 2012.

198 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
57%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 78% in 2012.

180 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
78%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 79% in 2012.

32 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
n/a
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

30 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 79% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students5%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Chemistry

All Students17%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a

Earth Science

All Students59%
Students with disabilities25%
General population65%

English

All Students86%
Students with disabilities50%
General population95%

Geometry

All Students25%
Students with disabilities4%
General population27%

Global History and Geography

All Students80%
Students with disabilities44%
General population86%

Integrated Algebra

All Students43%
Students with disabilities10%
General population53%

Living Environment

All Students64%
Students with disabilities26%
General population73%

Physics

All Students37%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population37%

U.S. History and Government

All Students66%
Students with disabilities11%
General population75%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 65% 19%
White 19% 48%
Hispanic 13% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian 1% 9%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 1%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A43%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 29%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 1%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. JODY COVINGTON

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

450 Masten Ave
Buffalo, NY 14209
Phone: (716) 816-4220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

P.S. 81
Buffalo, NY


P.S. 17
Buffalo, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT