Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bennett Park Montessori School

Public | PK-8 | 726 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 15, 2014

My daughter is in her third year at Bennett Park Montessori School. Despite having shorter days it has been a great place for my daughter. I really like the peer learning/teaching environment, I believe one can learn a lot from teaching. She's now in the 5-7 age group; having just turned five I believe she will get a greater challenge being exposed to older kids in her class rather than a traditional Kindergarden. I've been active parent and have met many of the staff and other parents, as with anything in life there are good and bad, but I believe the good outweighs e bad and the non-traditional learning environment helps kids in the long run. You can definitely get back what you put I to it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

I love this school because it teaches kids independence on so many levels. It is student lead, but the room is set up to be explored by the students according to ability. Their standards are set high and always encouraging the students to choose challenging work. The teachers are caring and fair, and most have to have extensive training in the Montessori way on top of their teachers degree. The education my children are receiving will be a great stepping stone into a great future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2013

I have two children here, one in a K-2nd grade class and the other in a 3 years old - K class (all the classes are blended grades). There is a lot to love about this school! It is a welcoming, peaceful environment where kids are trusted and respected. The classrooms are inviting spaces with lots of light and those fabulous, hands on materials. My children have thrived here. Some teachers are not impressive, but some are truly excellent and incredibly talented at integrating the Montessori materials. I wish there was more communication - between the school administration and parents, among parents. One art teacher is quite awful at teaching kids to be creative. The school is racially and economically mixed at the younger years, then white/middle class flight happens. There are many low- income children and kids with learning disabilities, and I am grateful that my own kids (from privileged background) get to learn in a positive, integrated environment. But these factors help to explain the low test scores, which are troubling. I will most likely keep my children here through 4th grade, but not after that. b/c the academic quality really declines at the upper grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

I am really impressed by this school (I only know about the young classes). The doors are wide open for the parents which is a real comfort (especially when your child is little). It is really big but I was impressed with how the students are walking quietly and how respectful they seem within the premises. The school is working with a population that is not easy, but still a good mix. The teacher are really working with each kid individually at the student own paste which makes it a great alternative for student that do not fit in the "traditional" learning. The teaching goes far beyond what is expected from the state, teaching kids "life skills" and how to live in community. My daughter used to be bored at school, not anymore. The only bad thing I have to say is that they do not allow my daughter to take a nap (which she still needs even thought most kids her age don't) and I wish they were stricter with "good manners". I was very worried at first but now I see her come everyday with something new, she is happy so I am happy. They have a lot of initiative in the school like the mole program (outdoors), or the "one word a week", fall festival. It is a very dynamic place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

We have a wonderful school! The staff is caring and puts their whole hearts into teaching. We teach the whole child, not just the standards. We integrate the arts into our teaching. The children play outside every day, even in the winter. This helps them refocus and learn more in the classroom. We are also a healthy school, which means we only serve healthy foods to our students. The Montessori materials allow students to learn at their own rate and to be successful. We really have a wonderful school and can't wait for my own daughter to come here.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 2, 2013

We are a caring community that takes the time to nurture our families and our children. It is the type of place that I want for my children. The principal is an inspiration to children, faculty and parents.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 12, 2012

I think this school is a really good place to send your child. Not only do they begin instruction at the early age of 3 years old but they involve themselves greatly in making sure of any assitance and extra help your child may need. My son has been attending this school for 5 1/2 years and I have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2012

This school has the potential to be excellent. A public Montessori school - what a unique opportunity! This school has a lot of things picky parents want at the early childhood level - nice facilities, tools and technology in the classroom, a unique Montessori curriculum, many good teachers, pets in classrooms, etc. It suffers at the middle school level. It also suffers from poor culture, morale, and leadership. Upon a recent visit to the school, I entered the main office to find administrators yelling loudly at each other. They were speaking badly of specific students by name. A senior administrator openly criticized individual teachers and policies - she was clearly negative and not in touch with her teachers. Also, it is a large school - 16 classrooms for the 3-5 year old age group. In the hallways, students seemed disorganized, lost, led military-style in lines, and spoke to poorly by teacher aides. The teacher aides I witnesses appeared unkept, did not speak with proper grammar, and handled the children too roughly. I would send my child to this school, but with caution and vigilance. There is a disconnect between school culture and their peace-based ideals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

My two children attend Bennett PArk Montessori Center. I think in terms of the overall condition of the Buffalo Public Schools, that the teachers and principal are doing their best under the circumstances. This school though, is in high demand in the district. I really like that they teach peace in the school. There is quite an active group of parents ensuring that the district deals with any problems the school faces. I also like that there are many diverse views and beliefs among teachers and students and that you can share them without fear. The worsening conditions of the schools does show in tension of the teachers sometimes. Every thing that is wrong with it doesn't have to do with the school itself, it has to do with the wrecking of public education by the government which is happening everywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 32% in 2014.

118 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
17%

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
26%
Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2014.

122 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
11%

2013

 
 
13%

2012

 
 
16%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 33% in 2014.

110 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
25%

2013

 
 
11%

2012

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
14%

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 30% in 2014.

109 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 40% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
9%

2012

 
 
30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 38% in 2014.

80 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
10%

2013

 
 
5%

2012

 
 
36%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 29% in 2014.

121 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
3%

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
12%
Math

The state average for Math was 33% in 2014.

116 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
2%

2013

 
 
4%

2012

 
 
20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 36% in 2014.

92 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
8%

2013

 
 
6%

2012

 
 
23%
Math

The state average for Math was 22% in 2014.

88 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
6%

2013

 
 
1%

2012

 
 
14%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

72 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the New York State Department of Instruction implemented new assessments designed to be aligned with the Common Core State Standards. The new standards for proficiency in these subjects are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change. See this letter from New York's Commissioner of Education for more information on these changes.

In 2013-2014 New York used the New York State Assessments to test students in grades 3 through 8 in English language arts and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in Science. At present 2013-14 results are available only for English language arts and math. The tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New York. The goal is for 90% of students to meet or exceed grade-level standards on the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 69% 19%
White 2 23% 48%
Hispanic 1 4% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 2% 1%
Two or more races 1 2% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2 1% 9%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 20%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 171%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 33%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Italian
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. PAULETTA STINES

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori
Foreign languages taught
  • Italian

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

342 Clinton Ave
Buffalo, NY 14214
Phone: (716) 816-3410

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT