Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Buffalo, NY
Students enrolled: 597

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lorraine Elementary School 3

Posted December 08, 2013
- a parent
I think that the principal (which is named by the website) Mr. Miklas is doing a very good job of trying to create a Great school. Kudos go out to him. I just don't feel he has as much support as he needs to fully accomplish that goal right away. One day my son may return, but at this time I am probably switching him for next year. This is due to various things: From the busses (which is a separate issue), to the lunches never being what is on the menu; to no one walking the little kids to their busses; to his class being so large; to his Gen Ed teacher not really seeming to care about her students; to his Spec. Ed teacher seeming to go back & forth between caring and professional to not so much; to not getting a call at work (only a vm on cell) about my son throwing up at school (when they have 3 numbers available to contact); to the nurse/nurse's secretary not being very nice nor accommodating to my son when he broke out in hives; to the main office staff not being friendly or personable; to Art on a Cart & Music on a Cart (this is so upsetting to me because children are not getting anything close to the full effect of these classes); etc.

Lorraine Elementary School 4

Posted July 12, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Lorraine Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted May 02, 2009
- a parent
I am not only a proud parent of a Lorraine Elementary student, but I am also a teacher that knows what to look for in a good school. I wouldn't send my kids anywhere else. The staff is dedicated to children, accessible to parents, and professional. This school is great!

Lorraine Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2009
- a community member
One of the best kept secrets in buffalo. Scores are misleading because of large number of special classes. Dynamic principal and staff.

Lorraine Elementary School 3

Posted September 21, 2008
- a parent
Good school, but it needs academically advanced classes for students that 'get it' and have to wait for the others to catch up. We have a lot a bright students that would benefit tremendously with advanced classes


Lorraine Elementary School 1

Posted May 07, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Lorraine Elementary School 4

Posted January 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Lorraine Elementary School 5

Posted August 12, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Lorraine Elementary School 4

Posted September 25, 2005
- a parent
I think lorraine is a great school the teacher and princapal is great I wouldn't send my kid any where else my husband and I discussed moving so are children could go to a better school until we found lorraine now I wouldn't take my daughter outif you paid me I only wish they would have some after school study programs

Lorraine Elementary School 2

Posted March 21, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lorraine Elementary School
71 Lorraine Avenue, Buffalo, NY  14220
(716) 816-4809
Last modified Lorraine Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lorraine Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top