Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public district
Buffalo, NY
Students enrolled: 796
 

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ps 81 1

Posted March 13, 2012
- a parent
This is a horrible school! The teachers are very unfriendly as well as inconsiderate. The way they speak to the students is terrible, constantly yelling and putting the children down. I have recently pulled my child from this school and it was the best decision ever. My child is at a much better school and is thriving as well as going beyond his potential! I am disgusted by this school and would never recommend it to any parent!

Ps 81 2

Posted March 10, 2012
- a parent
As a parent of a former student, I rate this school below average compared to all schools in WNY. If you want to compare it to just buffalo schools, it's probably a little better than average. Pros: good teachers, strong principal, disciplined classrooms. The kids don't run the show in this building. Cons: too much focus on test prep, few extras (field trips, programs, etc), and a really rough group of students especially in the junior high. Seems like the crowd got tougher and tougher every year.


Ps 81 0
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
Mrs cornfield is the main reason. She took great strength in helping to connect to the right services for my special needs child and now he has been a total changed person. For her caring and devotion i owe her so much.

Ps 81 5

Posted March 29, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Ps 81 4

Posted May 01, 2008
- a parent
This school is the best thing that ever happened to my children. the Teachers,Principals and staff are all the #1. They are more than teachers,they are friends,and people my kids can turn to if they have a problem and not be yelled at or rejected. I wouldn't have them go anywhere else. My son graduates from 8th grade this June and is VERY sad about leaving here. I have nothing BUT good things to say about this wonderful school and the people in it. D.M.M.


Ps 81 4

Posted May 26, 2007
- a parent
would be a great school if there were a parent teacher group to join

Ps 81 2

Posted September 07, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ps 81 5

Posted February 11, 2005
- a parent
this is an amazing school with wonderful teachers and high academic standards. there is music art, and many sports and after school activities.


Ps 81 5

Posted August 02, 2004
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Ps 81 0
no rating

Posted October 01, 2003
- a community member
P.S. 81 is a small community school. I am satisfied with the elementary school. My granddaughter has attended since kindergarten and I was quite satisfied until last year, when her teacher was replaced in the middle part of the year. We will more than likely move her to a private school by grade 6 if the school grade average for 8th grade testing doesn't improve.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
Please note: questions asked via Facebook are public, and not anonymous. Want to leave a review, instead of ask a question? Click here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ps 81
140 Tacoma Avenue, Buffalo, NY  14216
(716) 816-4060
Last modified Ps 81 is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ps 81 Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top