Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Trinity Catholic Academy

Private | PK-8 | 134 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Buffalo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $52,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2013

This school will always be in my hart we are all so sad that its closing I made some true friends here the staff was amazing also
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 23, 2011

How great is it that your children are happy where they are. The kids love this place; the friendships and Trinity community are beyond compare. I'm a bit reserved on the schools Academic accountability. They don't take state tests, when they did, the school ranked 1 out of 4 in Math/ELA. Kids are reading in Pre-K & doing math, but as the kids get older - lack of parent involvement with homework and studies slow the classroom down... making the 1st 2 mths of school "review" to catch up where they need to be. THE TEACHERS ARE NOT HAPPY, and several of them have no problem with letting the parents know their professional & personal problems. If my children were not happy - they would be gone - - ask a recent graduate about the remedial math class they have to take freshman year of highschool (Mercy/Timon) - because the 8th grade class was too busy ordering lunch every Friday, spending 2 hrs daily practicing for the winter & spring play, working - being a "buddy" to the pre-k because there are no teacher aids for 45+ 3-5 yr olds. Also - the kids don't make their sacrements together???
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

Due to recent financial downfalls, we could continue to send our daughter to Trinity. Now that she is in high school, she still comments on what a great school Trinity was. She claims that they were a family. It gave her a great foundation for education and life in general. I only wish we could have kept her there to graduate. We attribute Trinity and our daughters hard work to her success in high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2011

I went to TCA from the time it opened until I graduated from eight grade. Those 4 years we some of the most fun in my life. I met new friends there that will be in my life forever. The teachers are wonderful and make learning worth the students' while. Some people may think the school is a little strict, but I think it's really not that bad (coming from someone who went to Catholic school from kindergarden to eighth grade). This is a wonderful school that definitely deserves more recognition than it gets. I am now a student in Hutch-Tech and I found that the transition from a small school like Trinity to quite a large school like Tech was really easy. This school is an excellent choice to send your children to and I'm sure you won't be disappointed if you do.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2010

i used to go to trinity and i loved it i transferred to another school but i really didnt know how good i had it there nice kids easy to make friends,inspiring teachers i really do miss it .


Posted December 20, 2009

I believe Trinity is a great school. Some times the principal does have to remind us of how to behave, but that happens in every school. I have attended Trinity since it merged and I love every minute of it. I made the best friendships of my life and the teachers are all intelligent, pacient, and understanding. One of my teachers is a little strict but otherwise the teachers are great. We have so much fun and recieve so many privliges. We are spoken to as people not just a number in a class room. The school is a little small in number but you would never tell, because we have so much spirit. Anyone can join sports, activities, even clubs. I am sad that I have to graduate from here soon. So really send your child here you won't regret it. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2009

My children have been going ther since before it merged, and I think that the entire school is wonderful. Contrary to the previous review, the principal nurtures the kids, expecially the older ones, to be responsible students and to give them the tools to become responsible future adults in OUR community! The have a very active student body in the community. It is a very tight knit school where they are very accepting to everyone! Come see for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

I am very dissappointed on how the principal reacts to very little things, and how mean she is to the upper grades. My kid is going to transfer and its the middle of the year. The only positive thing about the school is the teahers, they are so wonderful and loving towards there children, but when the school is ran by the principal, its not a wonderful thing in trinity's case. Again, i'm dissappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

I think this is a wonderful school. It is a merger school, it used to be called St. Teresa which I attended as a child myself. I love the sense of community there and although both my children have already graduated, I still visit frequently to support the school in any way that I am able.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Delores C. Oakes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16 Hayden St
Buffalo, NY 14210
Phone: (716) 822-4546

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St. Agatha School
Buffalo, NY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT