Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Mark Elementary School

Private | K-8 | 398 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Buffalo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $84,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 30, 2012

As a new parent to the school i must say i not very happy with this school.The staff in the office are very rude and the way they talk to the students is unreal.Someone needs to do something about this matter.Very clicky school not welcoming at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2012

We LOVE St. Mark School! We now have two children enrolled and couldn't be happier. This is the principal's second year and the changes we have seen have all been positive. The teachers and staff are very kind and the overall sense of community within the school is wonderful. We feel our kids are getting an excellent education and we would highly recommend this school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2012

All of the reviews BEFORE the new principal were very positive, and the reviews for the school NOW are not good; there are very valid reasons for that. If the new principal does not change her style it is my belief she will be gone within a year or two.


Posted July 1, 2012

My daughter just finished first grade and we love it at St. Marks. The new principal is changing things yes but not for the worse. She knows what needs to be addressesd and she is doing it. She does not seem shy about her goals for the school. I believe my little girl is getting a great education. We are becomeing apart of the church com. as well and the families involved with the church and the school are so nice and welcomeing. However as we all know if you stand on the side of any activity people are not going to beg you to participate. My husband and I LOVE it there and I dred the thought of leaving. Also the parents have never been allowed in the building at the start of the school day as far as I know. I believe it is for space and independance reasons.. First week of kindergarden you may walk them in. Each room has opps. for parents to help out and become room parents. There are so may ways to become involved with St. Marks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2012

I would not recommend st. Marks school. It is not the same as it was in the past. The new principal rules the school in a very militant way. Parents are not welcome in the building. The teachers are no longer friendly and nurturing. The principal has changed the whole culture and focus of the school. She runs it like a public school. Religion is not being taught . The mission of catholic education is not felt here at all. The focus is on state test scores not the children. The curriculum is not being followed. They waste valuable time teaching to the test! It is such an unchristian environment with less than mediocre teaching. What a shame. This school went from exceptional to very poor in less than a year. It is so bad that I pulled my child out 3 months before the end of the year. We couldn't stand it any longer. St. Marks no longer is standing up to its reputation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2011

St. Mark's is a great school academically. My daughter has been there for six years and does exceptionally well. The past few years has been challenging because teaching staff has changed often, classroom size has become overwhelming and there has been some obvious mistreatment to some students by staff and other students. St. Mark's was once a school that believed all children were equal and should be treated fairly. I'm not so sure anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2010

My son is in the second grade and we are not pleased, so this will be his last year. They are too strict ,the kids are punished as a whole class for the bad behavior of just a few,and this is happening all too often. Now he doesn't even want to go to school. . Teacher has no patience and needs to not be a teacher anymore. Community as a whole is very clicky also. Whether or not you like this school depends on who you are here,not on your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2009

I went to this school as a kid. It put out 3 very successful people in my family so when I moved back to Bflo I knew where my daughter was going to school no ques. I LOVE this school even more now then when I was a kid. It's still the same pricipal there now as when I was a kid. so there's a real family tie and connection to this school. would recommend to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2007

St. Mark's is a good school, in fact rated #9 out of 207 middle schools. It has an amazing 7th and 8th grade literature and english teacher. A little bullying problem in the junior high, but teachers handle it well, and it went down every year i was there. An overall amazing school!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 1, 2007

I think that St mark is a great school for children of the ages about 4-14. it is a school with many different sports and activities from kindergarten to eighth grade. My daughter goes there and has a high average, has many friends,and I would encourage other parents to send thier kids thier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2006

I have three children. My oldest two are now in high school and my youngest is going into sixth grade. The school has been excellent for all three. They have great friends and are included in all events. Keep in mind when entering into a private school, the more you get involved the more people you will know and the wider the opportunities for your child. My three children are all B students and are very well rounded, play sports, in plays and know how to study! The Principal also has her doctorate in education and knows EVERY child by name.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 52%
Black 8% 21%
Hispanic 3% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Asian 1% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lydia Brenner
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Buffalo
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

399 Woodward Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14214
Phone: (716) 836-1191

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Nichols School
Buffalo, NY






Holy Spirit School
Buffalo, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT