Advertisement
Advertisement

Bishop Timon-St. Jude High School

Private | 9-12 | 262 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Buffalo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $78,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2009

As a parent of three boys who have have had an opportunity to attend Timon 2004, 2006 and currently 2012). Each employed their learned study habits and support provided from the Timon staff and learning enviroment. Our older boys have continued on to higher education. One with academic honors from St. John Fisher College and another not only doing well academically but athletically at St. Leo University. Our youngest son is a freshman at Timon. He too is utiliziting the available resources at Timon and receiving academic Honors with Distinction. The student is just one third of the educational system. Educators are another third and most importantly, you the parent complete the system. At any instution of learning you as parents MUST be involved and supportive in the preperation of your childs education. As a graduate and parent I am completely satisfied with the opportunities and experiences provided at Timon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2009

My son attends Bishop Timon- St. Jude high school. It is a great school! The tradition and loyalty to this school is unbelievable. Also the academics are very good. Bishop Timon is staffed with great teachers who are all willing to stay after school and help any student. My son loves this school. I would strongly recmend it to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

Timon is a fantastic school and very under rated, I may add. According to Business First, Timon jumped 45 spots this year, making it the most improved school in Western New York. Consistently, Timon students score in the top percentile of the state in the Regents exams, and SATS. Finally, If your son is struggling in his school work, I can certainly attest to the fact that the teachers at this great school will give your son the attention he needs if he is struggling. Most importantly, Timon teaches the young men of the school in the Franciscan Spirit, the giving of ourselves for the benefit of others. I would not send my son any where else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

As a graduate I know first hand that Timon provides you with a solid foundation for college. The teachers are there for you no matter what your problem in their class or issues outside of class. In college I am currently attendin Buff State and hold a 3.0 GPA and am currently workin on becoming an elmentary school teacher.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2008

I grew up in south buffalo thinking that timon was the only private high school that i should send my son to. I found found out that the academics are terrible. The young men that gratuate from timon are not ready for college. My son is now struggling through a 2 year college. What a disappointment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

I absolutely love this school. The academics are fantastic, the faculty is great, the discipline is just what boys need in their teenage years. The sports are also a great factor, if your child isn't doing well in his academics; then he cannot participate-this gives your child incentive to do well because there are rewards. The scholarships available to the students for college are tremendous. Both of my nephews received 4 year scholarships and my son also, now my other son is attending and having great success and he actually LOVES school...I never thought he would say that!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 52%
Black 3% 21%
Hispanic 2% 21%
Two or more races 2% N/A
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Thomas J. Sullivan
Gender
  • All boys
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Buffalo
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

601 McKinley Pky
Buffalo, NY 14220
Phone: (716) 826-3610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Baker Academy
Lackawanna, NY


Lackawanna High School
Lackawanna, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT