Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Benedict's School

Private | PK-8 | 28 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Buffalo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2014

I went to St. Benedicts and so did my 3 children. We were so happy with their education and preparedness for high school. St. Bens is also a very nurturing, encouraging environment which served our children and us well! We miss it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2012

I personally would not recommend this school to minority families . My family experienced racism on many levels . We as a family were singled out on several occasions. Several times staff spoke to my children inappropriatly as well as sent messages through them for myself , this continued after asking the staff not to. Once I informed the school that I planned to transfer my children my children's books were taken from them , they were questioned by the staff without contacting myself in regard to when their last day would be . Upon my arrival at dismissal my children were sent out with their nap mats , changes of clothes and art work. This happened only a quarter through the school year and none of the supplies that I had sent in were returned when they were pushed out . The only explanation for this poor behavior and treatment of my children that was extended to me was that it was not meant to be malicious . My children did not deserve to be treated in this manner and this last act of ill will toward them solidified my decision to remove my three children from the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2010

Its a preety school and all the children here nice and teacher are good and sports and activities are wonderful GO ST. BENS
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2009

I am a student and the sports here are really good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 15, 2009

Hi, I am Mrs. Traver the new violin & piano teacher. I am very impressed St.Ben's. The teachers, staff, parents, & principal are all very kind and caring people. I would highly recomend this school to any family.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 1, 2008

hello i'm in st.benedict school in the bronx im a 7th grader in this school and have a lot of friend please send your child hear since third grade please rate this school excellent because you can't find one of these schools anywhere.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2008

I have been a St. Benedict's parent for 9 years. My wife and I were so impressed with the school that we moved within the parish so our child would not have to change schools. Superior teachers and excellent education. Many high school scholarship winners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

I have been going to St. Bens since i was 5. I am now in 7th grade and i love it! You make great friends, which i know i will have forever. It is a great atmosphere to learn. The principal is also stellar, she will help you with any problem even if its not school realted. The teachers are so nice and always try to help you if you have trouble with anything. They offer afterschool help, before school help, and during study hall help. They have so many clubs to offer such as scienc club, book club, spanish club, computer club, choir, chours, and band. I would never think that my parents or i regret them chosing St. Benedicts as my school as well as my siblings.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 29, 2007

Our children love St. Benedict's because the teachers care and take a personal interest in each student. I love the school because of the close family environment. Having a solid moral center and a culture of respect was important to us. At St. Benedict's you don't have to trade a great moral education for educational opportunities. The children have Spanish, a great music teacher, a great art teacher, computers, Spanish, band, chorus, a great Science Club, every sport available conducted in such a way that any child who wants to participate has the chance to participate. Even the gym teacher is great, really teaching the kids all kinds of sports from cricket to Four Squares. The teachers work with the parents. Like all families, our children are all different and each has thrived at St. Benedict's. We definitely recommend St. Ben's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2007

I have been a parent at St Benedict's for 14 years. I had one daughter atend St. Ben's, go on to Nardin High School and is now in college at an international university. A second child is curently in 7th grade. The acedemic programs are terrific, and include advanced classes in the middle school that allow children with different levels of achievement to get either the extra attention or the extra challenge that is needed. There are many extras, including band, chorus, science club, book club and all sports. The parent involvement is outstanding, especially in support of the after school activities. An after school program allows working parents to be assured that their child is safe and productive while waiting for mom or dad to get out of work. The Catholic values are not just taught, they are part of student life. I recommend St Benedict.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2005

St.Benedict Elementary is a superior school in the small town of Snyder, N.Y. I looked at four schools before choosing this one for my children. My daughter is currently in 4th grade and my twin boys are in 1st. I can not say more about the teachers and the principal. They are open to parental concerns and do an excellent job of teaching subject material as well as study skills. Their ability to assist students on their road to becoming independent learners is excellent. The faculty also encourages the use of good values during decision-making. The principal promotes civic-minded activities like community service in addition to calling for a quality academic program. Class sizes are small which means more teacher attention for each student. The tuition is reasonable and most parents are involved in the countless activites that are offered. St. Benedict school treats its students as part of a family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

St. Benedict is a FINE School. The biggest advantages I see at St. Benedict: Great Parent involvement, the children who are at this school belong to parents who care, the energy level of the Teachers is great, the Teachers really care here (our kids really loves his Teacher and we can tell they care back). The teacher retention is great, because of the warm, stable environment they are working in. My children are in 1st and 3rd and they could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 52%
Black 13% 21%
Asian 1% N/A
Hispanic 1% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:20 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Molly Halady
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Buffalo
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3980 Main Street
Buffalo, NY 14226
Website: Click here
Phone: (716) 835-2518

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Kadimah School
Amherst, NY




The Park School
Snyder, NY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT