Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
178 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St. Benedict's School 5

Posted May 03, 2014
- a parent
I went to St. Benedicts and so did my 3 children. We were so happy with their education and preparedness for high school. St. Bens is also a very nurturing, encouraging environment which served our children and us well! We miss it!

St. Benedict's School 1

Posted November 25, 2012
- a parent
I personally would not recommend this school to minority families . My family experienced racism on many levels . We as a family were singled out on several occasions. Several times staff spoke to my children inappropriatly as well as sent messages through them for myself , this continued after asking the staff not to. Once I informed the school that I planned to transfer my children my children's books were taken from them , they were questioned by the staff without contacting myself in regard to when their last day would be . Upon my arrival at dismissal my children were sent out with their nap mats , changes of clothes and art work. This happened only a quarter through the school year and none of the supplies that I had sent in were returned when they were pushed out . The only explanation for this poor behavior and treatment of my children that was extended to me was that it was not meant to be malicious . My children did not deserve to be treated in this manner and this last act of ill will toward them solidified my decision to remove my three children from the school.


St. Benedict's School 5

Posted February 12, 2010
- a student
Its a preety school and all the children here nice and teacher are good and sports and activities are wonderful GO ST. BENS

St. Benedict's School 5

Posted January 24, 2009
- a student
I am a student and the sports here are really good.

St. Benedict's School 5

Posted January 15, 2009
- a teacher
Hi, I am Mrs. Traver the new violin & piano teacher. I am very impressed St.Ben's. The teachers, staff, parents, & principal are all very kind and caring people. I would highly recomend this school to any family.


St. Benedict's School 5

Posted December 01, 2008
- a student
hello i'm in st.benedict school in the bronx im a 7th grader in this school and have a lot of friend please send your child hear since third grade please rate this school excellent because you can't find one of these schools anywhere.

St. Benedict's School 5

Posted September 28, 2008
- a parent
I have been a St. Benedict's parent for 9 years. My wife and I were so impressed with the school that we moved within the parish so our child would not have to change schools. Superior teachers and excellent education. Many high school scholarship winners.

St. Benedict's School 5

Posted February 26, 2008
- a student
I have been going to St. Bens since i was 5. I am now in 7th grade and i love it! You make great friends, which i know i will have forever. It is a great atmosphere to learn. The principal is also stellar, she will help you with any problem even if its not school realted. The teachers are so nice and always try to help you if you have trouble with anything. They offer afterschool help, before school help, and during study hall help. They have so many clubs to offer such as scienc club, book club, spanish club, computer club, choir, chours, and band. I would never think that my parents or i regret them chosing St. Benedicts as my school as well as my siblings.


St. Benedict's School 5

Posted May 29, 2007
- a parent
Our children love St. Benedict's because the teachers care and take a personal interest in each student. I love the school because of the close family environment. Having a solid moral center and a culture of respect was important to us. At St. Benedict's you don't have to trade a great moral education for educational opportunities. The children have Spanish, a great music teacher, a great art teacher, computers, Spanish, band, chorus, a great Science Club, every sport available conducted in such a way that any child who wants to participate has the chance to participate. Even the gym teacher is great, really teaching the kids all kinds of sports from cricket to Four Squares. The teachers work with the parents. Like all families, our children are all different and each has thrived at St. Benedict's. We definitely recommend St. Ben's.

St. Benedict's School 5

Posted January 22, 2007
- a parent
I have been a parent at St Benedict's for 14 years. I had one daughter atend St. Ben's, go on to Nardin High School and is now in college at an international university. A second child is curently in 7th grade. The acedemic programs are terrific, and include advanced classes in the middle school that allow children with different levels of achievement to get either the extra attention or the extra challenge that is needed. There are many extras, including band, chorus, science club, book club and all sports. The parent involvement is outstanding, especially in support of the after school activities. An after school program allows working parents to be assured that their child is safe and productive while waiting for mom or dad to get out of work. The Catholic values are not just taught, they are part of student life. I recommend St Benedict.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Benedict's School
3980 Main Street, Buffalo, NY  14226
(716) 835-2518
Last modified St. Benedict's School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Benedict's School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top