Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christ The King Elementary School

Private | PK-8 | 235 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Buffalo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $123,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 11, 2010

As a parent who investigated several schools in the WNY area before choosing CTK, I am very pleased. We felt CTK offered such a significant advantage both culturally and academically, that we drive 20 minutes from our own district to take our child to this school. The atmosphere is both challenging and welcoming and allows kids to thrive in an environment that challenges students to excel academically and thrive spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2010

Not only am I an alumna, I am now a proud parent of Christ the King students. I loved it as a student, and I love it even more as a parent. It was amazing to me when I graduated and moved onto high school just how much more prepared I was academically than my fellow students. And I can tell already that my own children will have the same experience. The teachers and administrators go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure each and every student receives what he or she needs to succeed, not only at Christ the King, but in the community and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

The professionalism of the staff and the academics of Christ the King School cannot be beat. There are excellent services for all the children no matter what their strengths and/or weaknesses and the teachers and administration are very caring and understanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

School is okay, but not impressed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2008

This school is by far superior to any school that can be compared to in our region. Based on state test rankings, yes the school fairs better than most. The faculty and staff work hard to educate the students and to instill Christian values . Unfortunate for those who see differently about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2008

Not a friendly environment for student or parent. Would'nt recommend if my life depended on it. This school is wishy-washy they say one thing and do whatever they please. I dont need that when I'm for my childs education. I'll look elsewhere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2008

Being a 7th Grader here at CTK this year is starting out pretty exciting! Though some of my friends did poor(no homework and some got 45% on their test who didn't pay attention) we all had fun learning. I also think the teachers are fun because my science teacher offers math and science help if we are stuck or need extra help, they are very friendly and are willing to help you strive! I am also amazed that some parents get mad just because their child wasn't picked because they were 'too pushy'. It is a great thing that we have a bully box because everyone helps and does their best. Go Badgers! ~7th Grader.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2008

As a student, I think that some of the teachers at Christ the King are really good, but there are others who aren't great. I thought the basketball team was fun and my team won almost every game! I think that the art program needs some work!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 23, 2008

I am not impressed with CTK and actually I am removing my child from the school. Poor teachers, poor planning, terrible support and then with the bullying...I'm gone! I don't pay for my child to attend school and be subjected to this mediocracy , IT'S RIDICULOUS! This school is built on the reputation and rankings from the prior principle who retired, it is nothing like when she was there; dont be fooled take your time, money, and ideas elsewhere there are a plethora of other schools in WNY that are comparable/great just do your research...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2008

Brilliant minds are formed here. Administration is top notch and does so in the utmost professional manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2008

This school is awful and overrated! The #1 school, yeah right. The principal (mikulec) does not know who to handle problems and administration is very non - supportive. CTK is a very clickly environment; those that have money and can give their time are praised while those who cannot are unfortunely left behind. On the other hand, the kids 'seem' to get along socially and academically they are challeged. I definitely would not recommend this school, even though they claim to be #1. I hope your experience is better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2008

I love CTK! It is a great learning place that enriches our minds more and Helps us when we need it!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 52%
Hispanic 13% 21%
Asian 4% N/A
Black 3% 21%
Two or more races 2% N/A
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Samuel Zalacca
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Buffalo
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2 Lamarck Drive
Buffalo, NY 14226
Website: Click here
Phone: (716) 839-0473

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Park School
Snyder, NY



Forest Elementary School
Williamsville, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT