Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Elmwood-Franklin School

Private | PK-8 | 19 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Buffalo

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $110,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 13, 2013

My son transferred from a private Catholic school where he was bored, sad and frustrated. He changed 180 degrees at EFS. He now loves going to school and has become a very happy, independent and inquisitive learner. The teachers really care and provide a good quality education. EFS also supports students who participate in gifted programs (e.g., UB or CTY at JHU).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2013

EFS is not as good as I had hoped. I sent my kid from public to private and didn't see much of a difference. Class sizes are the same, teachers are nice but mediocre, and parents are very cliquish. Tuitiion is too high and I'm certainly not getting what I paid for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2012

I have 2 children(1 in upper school and 1 in lower school) that attend the Elmwood Franklin School and I could not be happier. My children are constantly engaged in their education, and love to go to school everyday. The school faculty is second to none. They care about the education of each child and foster independence as they progress, and once in middle school, the students take ownership of their schedule, learning and balancing workload. They have great faculty support, strong academics, (EFS students are consistently at the top and leaders of their chosen high school classes) responsibility and example setting for the lower school students, and time to gain the confidence and maturity they NEED to head to high school. There is no better place for a middle school student to be(such sensitive years), and I couldn't ask for a better school academically, socially and/or for personal growth of my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2012

The lower school is decent. However, the middle school does not deliver. The students leave EFS to write, quite frankly, like students two grades younger. In addition, certain teachers are rude towards students (although some teachers have redeeming qualities). Elmwood students, ultimately, do not "think beyond" the way the school promises, due to lackluster performance in all subjects


Posted February 2, 2012

The school is a model for every school. My son is a highly intelligent and sensitive child. He was frustrated and unmotivated in a public elementary school in Williamsville. He entered EFS in fifth grade, within a few months, he became so happy to go to school and motivated for every thing in life. He feels challenged and focused every day. The academic contents (things he learns from school is so much more than his previous school). The school also teaches time management and organization skills. They also emphasize character education- educate the whole person. I fully support this school and feel lucky we find the right school for our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2009

My son attended public school through 5th grade. He was bored, frustrated and sad. He transferred to EFS and has become an engaged, active, happy and successful young man. The teachers at EFS and the low pupil teacher ratio have made all the difference in his life. EFS was worth every dollar I have spent sending him to a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

This will me my 9th year attending EFS. This school is truly remarkable! When you wake up in the morning as a student you don't feel that school is a hassle. Instead you are excited to see all the friendly faces smiling at you! The teachers are wonderful and always helpful! Thanks Elmwood! I will be sad to leave...
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 31, 2004

So far my daughter is only finishing the prep program at Elmwood Franklin, but I couldn't be more pleased with the quality of the program, and my husband and I enrolled her with very high expectations. It is a rarity when you find a Kindergarten teacher who will actually state that 5 year old students ARE developed enough to handle real reading. The school really does push the students academically, but also provides an incredibly warm and nurturing environment. The headmaster is fantastic and well loved by all. Not enough can be said about him. Let it suffice to say that you have to meet him to really appreciate him. There is a surprising amount of diversity in the school as well which we really love. Children from nice (not necessarily wealthy) families of many ethnic and religious backgrounds are enrolled in the school. Parental involvement is incredibly high.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2004

My child is entering kindergarten and beginning her second year at this amazing institution. She is entering kindergarten a reader! A reader who corrects her 8 year old cousin's reading! I understand that among her classmates, this is not unusual. I can attribute this feat to her Prep I (preschool) teachers, their techniques, their skills, and their program which is designed not only to deliver educational achievement, but also to foster intellectual & personal growth. Headmaster Keith Weller Frome is a charismatic, intelligent, and visionary leader who must be credited with revitalizing the school and bringing it into a new age. Upon hearing him speak on several occasions, we entrusted Elmwood Franklin with the awesome responsiblity of educating our child. They took that responsibility seriously and exceeded all expectations. Do we recommend Elmwood Franklin? Highly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My 4th, 5th and 6th child of a total of six are presently in this school, while the others have finished. This is a spectacular school, under the visionary leadership of a brilliant headmaster, with dual doctorates from Harvard. Children are developed as whole people. There is a strong emphasis on the their role as contributing members of society by encouraging personal responsibility, kindness, manners, and volunteerism. Recent campaigns have increased teachers salaries to put them on par with public schools, and therefore an excellent and committed faculty has been recruited and maintined. They are extremely responsive and imminently available to discuss one's children and their progress or problems. The actual education is also excellent. The physical facility is intimate yet extrordinary for such a small school. This is the best investment one can make as a parent in your child's future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2004

This is a progressive independent school with outstanding quality education prek-8. I have been involved with the school for 6 years. Incredible parent teacher involvement and respects the needs of each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 52%
Asian 8% N/A
Black 8% 21%
Hispanic 2% 21%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Tony Featherston
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

104 New Amsterdam Avenue
Buffalo, NY 14216
Phone: (716) 877-5035

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Nichols School
Buffalo, NY


Holy Spirit School
Buffalo, NY






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT