Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Burnt Hills Ballston Lake Senior High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1148 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 2, 2014

Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake is a fabulous school district in a great family-centered community. Both of my children attended there and graduated from the BH-BL high school, and I was involved in many committees, attended school board meetings, PTA functions, you name it. Both parents and staff have high standards for their children's behavior and high academic expectations too. The high school gets exceptional sports results, and exceptional academic results too. I especially like the way that all types of kids are supported -- electives & activities for kids of all interests, not just for nerds & jocks. This has to be a reason why the school has such a low dropout rate. High school size is ideal too -- big enough to offer many electives but small enough that students are all known, not lost in the crowd.


Posted March 29, 2013

This school district is known for the athletics and the athletes are favored as a result. This district has a problem with bullying, and drugs, just like any other school district. The high school is full of cliques and snobs and yes, some of the faculty is just as guilty of it. It's been very disappointing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2012

This school is tops, tops, tops. Honestly, beats the pants off any private school I've ever seen. I honestly don't know where to start. Son goes to Pashley. The teachers are there for you and the kids. A kind, gifted staff that brings humanity to the classroom. Could not have handpicked a better team myself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2012

I am thrilled with this school district. We moved our 2 children from a blue ribbon school district on Long Island to this school district. Their attention to each student and to the whole student - not just one facet (ie: sports) is wonderful. Their attention to bullying and their MANY anti-bullying programs are out of this world. They are well above the state's recommended anti-bullying training and programs. So happy we are here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2009

They are very friendly and have great moral and excellent sports teams
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

Outstanding district. Greatest strength is size both in class and grade. Graduates around 300-350 kids and offers all the activities and sports of any big school. Our children have lived the big school (650-800 per grade) life in NC, Long Island, PA and Northern VA. Burnt Hills - Ballston Lake School District, with its three elementary schools really gives you a small town feel. The faculty and staff are highly trained, educated and seem happy. That's a plus. Next strength is school spirit. They are the Spartans and maroon and white is warn with much pride. Really makes for fun events. Possible weakness is lack of diversity. Overall, this is a superior institution and enjoys our highest confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2007

I do not agree that bullying is more of a problem in Burnt Hills than in other districts. I graduated from Burnt Hills in 2004, and although there are cliques, I would challenge anyone to find a High School without cliques. Burnt Hills is a great district that sets its graduates up to excel in college and outside of school, I have very fond memories of the educators there! I also found the administration to be very helpful and easy to work with, should any issues arise. Some very talented artists and musicians have come out of the district, and the athletic depts are high ranking in the state. I can't speak for parental involvement but I can't see why it would be a problem for parents that want to be involved to do so. Go BH!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 24, 2006

This school was the reason my entire family moved out of this school district. The way the school handled bullying was incomprehensible and irresponsible. I think, the Burnt Hills teachers and school are far overrated. If you want your children going to school with a lot of snobs and clique children and like minded teachers, send them here. Ostracization is a common practice with teachers, administrators and kids I purposely have my three children in another district and feel good about keeping them out of a district like this one.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 5, 2006

In academics placed 3rd in the state.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 9, 2005

Burnt Hills is wonderful. There are several advanced programs and the teachers are well educated.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 4, 2005

Excellent on all levels!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2004

The best 4 years of my life were at Burnt Hills High School. There are so many great teachers there. When I walked across the stage at spac I not only left my friends and peers behind, but the wonderful teachers that I'd grown to care about and shared so many memories with. Compared to stories that my friends in other area schools tell me, the teachers at Burnt Hills are definetly the most caring and hard working.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra II/Trigonometry

The state average for Algebra II/Trigonometry was 66% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
86%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 76% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%
Earth Science

The state average for Earth Science was 72% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
91%
English

The state average for English was 77% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%
French

The state average for French was 95% in 2011.

62 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 74% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
99%
Global History and Geography

The state average for Global History and Geography was 71% in 2013.

309 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%
Integrated Algebra

The state average for Integrated Algebra was 73% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%
Italian

The state average for Italian was 98% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a
Living Environment

The state average for Living Environment was 77% in 2013.

258 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
98%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%
Spanish

The state average for Spanish was 94% in 2011.

78 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
100%
U.S. History and Government

The state average for U.S. History and Government was 80% in 2013.

303 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
92%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

Source: New York State Education Department

Algebra II/Trigonometry

All Students78%
Female84%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant78%

Chemistry

All Students90%
Female91%
Male90%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant90%

Earth Science

All Students94%
Female95%
Male92%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities84%
General population95%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%

English

All Students97%
Female97%
Male99%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General population100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant97%

Geometry

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities80%
General population99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant98%

Global History and Geography

All Students87%
Female87%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities59%
General population92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant87%

Integrated Algebra

All Students94%
Female96%
Male93%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities72%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant94%

Living Environment

All Students95%
Female94%
Male95%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities78%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%

Physics

All Students90%
Female96%
Male84%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
General populationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Non-migrant90%

U.S. History and Government

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
African Americann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilities79%
General population98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Scale: % passing

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New York used the New York State Regents Examinations to test high school students in English, math, global history and geography, US history and government, living environment, chemistry, Earth science and physics. Students must take at least five Regents Exams in order to graduate. Scores of 65 and above are passing; scores of 55 and above earn credit toward a local diploma (with the approval of the local board of education). The goal is for all students to pass the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the New York Department of Education. If there are fewer than 5 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New York State Education Department

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 2 97% 48%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1 1% 9%
Black 1 1% 19%
Hispanic 2 1% 23%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 1%
Two or more races 1 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient 10%N/A8%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A43%
Source: 1 NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Fewer than 3 years experience 3%N/A5%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree and above 19%N/A39%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Teacher credentials

  This school District averageState average
Teachers with no valid teaching certificate 0%N/A0%
Source: NYSED, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • MS. MARYELLEN SYMER
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

88 Lakehill Rd
Burnt Hills, NY 12027
Phone: (518) 399-9141

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Shenendehowa High School
Clifton Park, NY



Niskayuna High School
Schenectady, NY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT