Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Riverhead Charter School 5

Posted March 14, 2016
- a community member
My daughter has had a wonderful experience at this school. We look forward to her continuing through 8th grade.

Riverhead Charter School
Grateful to: Student

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
Most of the students are sweet and genuine loving which is hard to come by these days


Riverhead Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
Very few good caring teachers left I think the gym teacher will be next at the rate they're going

Riverhead Charter School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted February 25, 2016
- a parent
My child often worries about her favorite teachers afraid they will be dismissed under the tyrant ankrum

Riverhead Charter School 1

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
The principal always has his face in his cell phone and is very unapproachable. He avoids dealing with issues, especially those that happen on the bus. His dean is useless. I pulled my child from this school and glad I did! I happened to read the articles about the principals twitter account and how bad he treats his staff! I was mortified! He has a potty mouth! What a joke!


Riverhead Charter School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 21, 2015
- a community member
Packets and worksheets and more worksheets! GOD! I don't know how I did it. This is one of the major reasons parents have take their children out of this school.

Riverhead Charter School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a community member
The teachers can motivate their students a lot. For example there was this one teacher who helped this child grow a lot in his academics. That child was me. LOL

Riverhead Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 21, 2015
- a community member
Well they are removing children just because of their behavior! I wasn't one of them but It lacks to show that they're supposedly leading in success. Their website includes the quote ''It take a village to raise a child'' but how is that so. If you have a bad student it is a teachers job and/or principle's to ensure reinforcement for bad behavior. This village needs to up their game with raising their children.


Riverhead Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 21, 2015
- a community member
I would like to say thanks to my two 6th grade teachers and the social worker. No names will be mentioned!

Riverhead Charter School 1

Posted October 29, 2014
- a community member
The principle Mr. Arkrum has worked very hard to filter out all staff members who chose to believe in a Union including the Union President. There are all new teachers with less than 2 years experience and are under Mr. Arkum rule!! There are no bad kids only bad behavior that need to be redirected. I like to know why bad kids don't deserve a place at that school? I know they are not special needs friendly. This school has a lot a things going on that are not very good including the principle!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Riverhead Charter School
3685 Middle Country Road, Calverton, NY  11933
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. (631) 369-5800
Last modified Riverhead Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top